POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

Perpetual Prompt to Prosper Peace through Poems

To the dear and tender poets who grace this site:

It saddens me that neither Walt nor I are able to consistently tend this exquisite poetic garden. But rather than lock the gate, I made the decision (and I hope this pleases our Master Gardener) to offer this one last “prompt.”  This will be a perpetual, final prompt.

And “finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable — if anything is excellent or praiseworthy — think about such things.”  (Philippians 4:8) 

And may I suggest: Write about such things. Right here, write here.  Come and go as you please.  Know you are precious to us, and your presence is always welcome.

Marie Elena

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “Perpetual Prompt to Prosper Peace through Poems

  1. BENEATH A COMMON MOON

    Could we respect our elderly,
    Our mentally
    Unwell and worn;

    Our foreign-born?

    Opinions that oppose our views?
    Please let’s not choose
    To denigrate.

    Let’s celebrate

    Divergences. Let’s love despite;
    And so ignite
    A shared esteem –

    A common dream.

    (C) Marie Elena Good, 2015

  2. Bless you both! Bless you all! Having this site to gather with fellow writers is such a gift. An untended garden is still lovely, it just develops as it wishes and sometimes the aestheic is just as pleasing. Thank you for all the tending you have done here and all the kindness you have shown us. You have fertilized my desire to write and to share as well as inspired me to grow and share roots with other writers. Hugs.

    • Thank you Linda! “An untended garden is still lovely, it just develops as it wishes and sometimes the aestheic is just as pleasing.” I believe so too. Bless your heart!

  3. It is bittersweet…all groomed gardens take time and tending but when they run free they develop a new beauty! Thank-you for all you and Walt did here. I ALWAYS planned to do the prompt but life blesses us with more insistent demands at times and so it goes! and I agree, an untended garden is still lovely!

  4. Changing

    Tend a heart and plant a seed
    Lend a hand to one in need
    Grow a garden and share its fruit
    No deed considered too minute

    Take a walk in another’s shoes
    Respectful of opposing views
    Changing the world is simplicity
    Changing the world begins with me

    A change of heart a change of mind
    Consider passing change in kind
    Kind to all we may meet and greet
    Prepared to serve and wash their feet

    Trust what is noble, true and right
    Walking by faith and not by sight

    Farewell – for now

    We have never met,
    but I know your hearts
    For they have all bled upon this page.
    I am honored, inspired, and deeply touched
    By the love that is shared, so very much
    And even though this season has come
    We too shall see the redeeming sun

    God Bless

  5. I do love this garden…and I do miss planting here. I’ve not written much of anything for quite a while, and it’s been even longer since I’ve had enough time to read the wonderful work shared here. In all ways this place is home…and will draw me back for walks through this garden. Thanks, Marie, for encouraging us to do so.

    Thank you Walt & Marie. For everything. ❤

  6. William Preston on said:

    I’ve been noticing the lack of activity here for a few weeks, so this is not a surprise. It hurts just the same, though. For me, this has been a nurturing place. I hope all will be well with you, Marie and Walt and Sara, and hope to “meet” you again.

    SACRED SPACE

    One garden
    in an unprepossessing plat;
    one garden
    offered succor, love, and pardon
    to all who came to think and chat.
    In memory I still walk that
    one garden.

  7. This garden will always be in my heart.

  8. This has been a nurturing garden of beauty where many have bloomed. Thank you for the peaceful garden that will remain as a safe haven. The meandering paths with the benches to rest and listen to the bird songs and smell the fragrances will remain. It has been well-watered and will continue to be a place to sit and rest in its shade, or sometimes tend and nurture.
    THANK YOU MARIE, WALT, SARAH, for your years of mulching, watering, and rewarding our blooms. I salute you plus PAULA, JANET, SAL, WILLIAM, AND ALL THE OTHER FRIENDS I HAVE MADE HERE. You have each meant so much as I read your illustrious poems and the encouraging words you commented on my attempts. I am better for having walked these paths.
    Forever grateful,
    Iris

  9. Making a comeback of sorts. The garden has been overrun by poetic gnomes and have staked their claim. POEMS OF GARDEN GNOMES is the new home where old friend can reassemble.

    https://poemsofgardengnomes.wordpress.com/

Plant your poem or comment here!

