POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

PROMPT #206 – THE JOY OF CHRISTMAS: PART TWO

We’ve touched on the giving aspect of Christmas and the special kind of joy that is associated with that process. This week we’ll reverse the act. They say it is better to give than to receive. But we still find favor in accepting a gift that was given from the heart and in turn gave us joy. So I ask, what was the best Christmas gift you remember receiving? It could have been last year; it could have been from your childhood. Give your poem for us to receive the joy of which you’ve written.

***

We have run through many different poetic forms over the years which we’ve offered on Wednesdays. We have returned to some forms several times. But for the sake of redundancy, I will be suspending the Inform Poets feature. Thanks to all who have made it an enjoyable labor.

SARA’S SILVER SLIVER:

Silver Slivers

Small, local silver shop opened
near my husband’s place of employment.
Hanukkah (me) and Christmas (he)
were just up ahead. Knowing
my fondness for silver earrings,
my husband had the jeweler design
a pair of dangling silver earrings
that tapered to a leaf-like point.
Centered in each was an opal.
I love them as much now as I did
thirty plus years ago. I believe
I have tarnished faster than they have.

##

WALT’S GIFT:

LAST PACKAGE

It is just about finished,
the day for which I work all year,
and the end is near.
Tired and sore,
and what’s more, I have one
last package to deliver.
I shiver at the thought,
and I probably ought to have
given it sooner. My eyes burn
and I yearn to give them rest.
But, the best sight for these sore eyes,
is the surprise on her face
when I place this final package
in her hands. It only stands to reason,
every year during this season,
she waits; the patience of a saint
is hers. This gift is always the last one given.
As long as I’m living, she’ll be giving it.
She wraps her arms around me
and she see the smile it brings.
And my heart sings when Mrs. “C”
gives her gift to me. I am Santa Claus.
My journey is complete. “Honey, Rub my feet?”

##

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “PROMPT #206 – THE JOY OF CHRISTMAS: PART TWO

  1. MY CHRISTMAS GIFT OF 1948

    I often wonder how my Godparents
    Uncle Dominick and Aunt Rosie knew.
    At seven years old I carried in my veins
    the Rio Grande, the Colorado,
    Snake River, on which meandered my dreams,
    a cowboy sailing towards towns of the Old West.

    Under the tree their Christmas gift lay.
    A shirt? Trousers? Just what was in the package?
    Tearing away the wrapping paper,
    I saw my heroes drawing Colts, riding horses,
    cowboys like Johnny Mack Brown, and Gene Autry.
    A holster with two guns! I wrapped it around my waist.

    For the next few days I bowlegged it
    room to room, hands at the ready for a draw,
    my white cowboy hat shading my eyes
    from the bright Christmas tree lights winking at me.
    The new sheriff? No, the marshal from Laredo!
    I reckon this town needs some cleaning up, Pardner.

    #

  2. Unforgettable

    Before I was 3
    my teddy bear
    was taken
    from me
    and giving to my
    infant brother

    Many Christmas’s
    have passed…
    15 years later
    my brother
    gave me
    a Christmas
    that I’ll never forget

    My brother
    gave me this
    HUGE box

    As I’m opening it,
    I find
    paper towels
    toilet paper
    Kleenex
    and more of the
    same stuff

    At the bottom
    very bottom of
    the box

    A TEDDY BEAR
    with a red ribbon
    around its neck
    to replace
    what was taken
    so many years
    ago

    Copyright © TMC 2016

  3. Silver Slivers

    Small, local silver shop opened
    near my husband’s place of employment.
    Hanukkah (me) and Christmas (he)
    were just up ahead. Knowing
    my fondness for silver earrings,
    my husband had the jeweler design
    a pair of dangling silver earrings
    that tapered to a leaf-like point.
    Centered in each was an opal.
    I love them as much now as I did
    thirty plus years ago. I believe
    I have tarnished faster than they have.

  4.  
     
    PUTTING THE BAND TOGETHER

    1964

    I was eight.
    It was a great Christmas.
    Dad had musical roots
    and he gave me the bug.
    There on the rug, under the tree
    packages for my three brothers
    and me. Instruments beckoned us,
    plastic replicas, but to us a grand charade.
    Ken was four, the Hoener Accordion was his.
    Tim was six, and got the banjo – a fine show piece.
    Paul, all of ten had the saxophone (although he had
    shown some aptitude on the drums – Mom wouldn’t have it)
    In the corner a piano. A tinky toy piano, but I was Van Cliburn
    when it was my turn to solo. Ken had no interest, Tim at best
    was barely on board. Paul had gotten his drums at 15.
    And I still play to this day, a piano hack
    from way back then. But then again,
    I was only eight.

  5. William Preston on said:

    LIONEL

    The train,
    chugging around
    the tinselled Christmas tree,
    looked pleased with itself, it left me
    tingling.

    NB: this is my earliest memory, which may account for its brilliance. Sorry to be absent from this site; I have been away but expect to get back soon, and resume.

    • I have dad’s Lionel from 1955. Needs new track , but last time I did, it ran great NYC F3 ABA engines, a B&O switcher engine and various cars. I need to set this up again! Thanks, William! A great memory.

  6. William Preston on said:

    I love your piece, Walt, and the last line is a beaut!

Plant your poem or comment here!

