POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

INFORM POETS – MONOTETRA

The monotetra is a newer poetic form developed by Michael Walker. It is comprised of stanzas that contain four lines in monorhyme. Each line is in tetrameter (four metrical feet) for a total of eight syllables. The last line contains two metrical feet, repeated. It can have as few as one or two stanzas, or as many as desired.

Stanza Structure:

Line 1: 8 syllables; A1
Line 2: 8 syllables; A2
Line 3: 8 syllables; A3
Line 4: 4 syllables, repeated; A4, A4

SARA’S MONOTETRA:

FED UP

The tube has reached an all-time low
A slew of stupid sit-com shows,
and inept dramas without flow.
We need mojo, we need mojo.

Where did all the good writers go?
Did they get offers of more dough?
Someone give me a blow-by-blow,
or I’ll forego, or I’ll forego

WALTER’S MONOTETRA:

 COMPRESSED EXPRESSION

I’ve always had a way with words
from thoughts profound, to quite absurd,
my parody is for the birds,
a poet nerd, a poet nerd.

I’ve written love songs for my spouse,
I’ll sing them all throughout the house,
the neighbors think that I’m a louse
when I get soused, when I get soused!

Expression is the thing I do,
these poems, prose, I do that too!
The things I write are mostly true,
the lies are few, the lies are few.

(C) Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Single Post Navigation

26 thoughts on “INFORM POETS – MONOTETRA

  1. BEYOND IT ALL

    Beyond fireworks and parades,
    Remember soldiers unafraid
    Who with their lives too often paid
    So we’d be saved, so we’d be saved.

    Beyond cookouts, cold pop, and beer,
    Consider those who are not here,
    The soldiers who forego the cheer
    And volunteer, and volunteer.

    Beyond the flags and marching bands,
    Give thanks to those in foreign lands,
    men and women who took a stand
    And know firsthand, and know firsthand

    Beyond the hoopla of Four July,
    Protecting freedoms they may die
    So we may live and flags may fly:
    You and I, you and I.

    #

  2. Earl Parsons on said:

    Sorry I haven’t been contributing much lately. I have major surgery coming up on the 24th and my mind just hasn’t been in poetry world. I should be back to normal (or at least normal for me) in November (hopefully). Meanwhile, thanks to those putting in the effort to keep this site going and to those that contribute. Y’all are great.

  3. connielpeters on said:

    I’d Like to be a Snow Bird

    The golden aspens in a row
    Do chatter as the cold winds blow
    Soon winter’s coming this I know
    Let’s skip the snow, let’s skip the snow.

    The rain descends, the sky is gray
    And it grows colder day by day.
    The baring trees, they swing and sway.
    Snow, stay away! Snow stay away!

    Yes, Colorado’s a mile high
    The snow comes early. Hear me sigh.
    So here we sit. I don’t know why.
    Down south, let’s fly! Down south, let’s fly!

    • William Preston on said:

      I love this piece, but inasmuch as I like the cold, I thought a little bit of rebuttal might be in order:

      HARBINGER

      As autumn sets the leaves aglow,
      I know that snow squalls soon will blow.
      I might be nuts, but here I go,
      defending snow, defending snow.

      Snowfall is such a precious thing:
      I think of it as nature’s bling
      that laughs with bluebirds on the wing,
      foretelling spring, foretelling spring.

    • Earl Parsons on said:

      I want to get in on this!!

      My growing years were spent in Maine
      So cold, the winter’s froze my brain
      Now in the South where I’ll remain
      With thawed out brain. With thawed out brain

      So long I’ve been down in the warm
      Where temps are high and love bugs swarm
      Weathering occasional storms
      Warm now the norm. Warm now the norm.

      I visit my Maine family
      When snow is gone and leaves wave free
      In winter they will not see me
      Down South I’ll be. Down South I’ll be.

  4. William Preston on said:

    ODD DECORATION

    I saw a horseshoe on a fence
    between some tenements, from whence
    the horses long were gone, and hence
    it made no sense. It made no sense

    except to those who once lived here
    when horse cars clattered past the weir.
    But now, without them nickering near,
    it seems so drear. It seems so drear.

  5. William Preston on said:

    Walt, the ending of your poem brought to mind the old song, Sweet Georgia Brown. Truth or lies, I love your stuff.

  6. William Preston on said:

    Sara, your piece fits my mood exactly. I look to old movies to get good dialogue.

  7. Earl Parsons on said:

    Funky Night

    I’m feeling’funky here tonight
    Somethin’ I ate ain’t settin’ right
    I hope the Pepto wins the fight
    Pink to the fight, Pink to the fight

    I think the tummy’s settled down
    I think I’ll head out on the town
    And see which friends are hangin’ round
    Will friends be found, will friends be found

    There’s Jim and Bill and Bobby Joe
    Shootin’ pool with their dates, ya know
    The odd man out, I gotta’ go
    I gotta go. I gotta go.

    I think the movie’s where I’ll head
    Or take a country drive instead
    Or maybe home and go to bed
    I like the bed, I like the bed

Plant your poem or comment here!

