POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

INFORM POETS – NAANI

We’re having another go with the poetic form NAANI.

The NAANI is one of India’s most popular Telugu forms introduced by poet Dr. N. Gopi,  and the last time I checked, Naani still means “expression of one and all.”  It consists of 4 lines, totalling 20 to 25 syllables. It is generally untitled, although the subject may be inferred in the first line. The poem is not bound to a particular subject, but is often about human relations. 

SAARA’S NAANI:

Many people walk on tiptoe, skirting
around words they long to say,
missing opportunities

 

WAALT’S NAANI:

We offer love
expressing our hearts
to each other. We offer our hearts
expressing the love they bear!

© Walter J. Wojtanik – 2016

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “INFORM POETS – NAANI

  1. William Preston on said:

    Sara, your little piece immediately brought to mind a favorite old Rodgers and Hammerstein song, If I Loved You.

  2. William Preston on said:

    Walt, your piece reads like bookends with a lifetime in between. Wonderful.

  3. William Preston on said:

    Resisting the urge to title this…

    If you think that love
    lasts forever,
    it’s good to remember:
    one never says never.

  4. William Preston on said:

    Let’s try another….

    If love runs in circles,
    a merry-go-round,
    divorce can do likewise:
    a marry-go-round.

  5. William Preston on said:

    Sara and Walt. this little form can be addictive, I suspect, but it also has me wondering if some forms are merely variants of other forms. For example, my first offering here sprang from another form I am trying, a two-line form called a landay, which Robert Brewer introduced on his Poetic Asides site recently. The naani, apparently, is strictly limited to one four-line stanza, whereas the landay can be one couplet or a series of them. Be that as it may, I was able to develop a naani poem from a two-line landay. This has me wondering, therefore, how a poet might decide what form(s) to use for a given subject. For me, it generally comes down to how a form fits the emotional content of what I’d like to express, but sometimes two or more forms can do equally as well. What say you?

    • I love trying out forms, seeing where they will best fit. Sometimes I am surprised to find that a form which I generally consider for humor, actually works for other emotions as well.

    • Look at all the variant sonnets. Technically the “same” form. The subtle nuances gives these their flair. So I suppose you could come up with a set of forms that become derivatives of another. I had written a “sestinacci” – a sestina written in fibonacci verse. Our creativity goes well beyond our words. My sestinas seem to be more of a serious bent maybe because it takes a lot of work to achieve it. In my mind, every form can be a love poem. Every form can be humorous. Every form can be anything.

  6. Life requires patience.
    No joys worthwhile come in haste.
    Hold your horses.
    Feed them alfalfa, not hay.

  7. connielpeters on said:

    Color me orange
    Poke me awake
    Let autumn cadence
    Breathe in me a million giggles and grins

  8. connielpeters on said:

    Not in a rush to love,
    taking one tentative step at a time,
    until light shines through shadows,
    swimming in joy.

  9. Here’s my little Naani. Fun form, by the way. I like it.

    I’m content to cook,
    to fill platters and gather
    up friends and family —
    time is lost on us.

  10. where do you go
    are you hiding nearby
    or do you crawl away when
    my eyes close

  11. Earl Parsons on said:

    Love marches by
    So many fail to recognize it
    Their eyes are focusing elsewhere
    Their loss

  12. Earl Parsons on said:

    Daily we march on
    Closer to finality
    What about eternity
    Does it even exist

  13. Drought left us dry
    the rain leaves us wet
    whatever the weather
    whiners have to vent

Plant your poem or comment here!

