POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BRILLIANT BLOOMS – PROMPT #168 AND VILLONNET

First, thank you to all your kind and concerned comments on my Villonnet. I’m doing alright and am under doctor’s care. I appreciate it all. But, for the blooms:

PROMPT #168 – “Mix and Match Muse”

I chose this poem for the wonderful imagery it put forth. It was a very visual poem. J. Lynn Sheridan’s

 

“Smoking Autumn in the city”

“Because of the smell of burning leaves,” he tells me
when I ask why he left the farm for a two-flat in the city.
“Smells like tar.”

We lean against his pomegranate red hot-rod Lincoln,
he slides a harmonica from his pocket and begins playing
“The Hokey Pokey.”

I put my right hand in. I am shaking it all about when a
tangerine mustang pulls aside. “Play some jazz, cowboy,”
the driver says spitting his chew into the sewer grate.

I take my right hand out. The three of us stare at each
other. My buddy starts playing, “Who’ll Chop Your Suey
When I’m Gone.”

There’s a moment of panic, one scrawny yellow elm leaf
dangles from his antennae, then falls. He shows us his
toothless smile, then speeds away, cutting donuts in the
intersection, leaving us in a cloud of blue/black exhaust.

(C) J. Lynn Sheridan, 2014

 

VILLONNET

With more space used for your well wishes, I am awarding a Bloom to each of the few poetic work offered in this form.

 

CONGRATULATIONS TO JANICE, AND MARIAN, CONNIE, SALVATORE, SUSAN, DARLENE, SARA AND WILLIAM

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “BRILLIANT BLOOMS – PROMPT #168 AND VILLONNET

  1. Aww… wonderful, Walt, Congratulations all!!

  2. I’m glad to hear you’re doing okay and taking care, Walt…thank you for letting us know as well. 🙂

    Congratulations to All!!

    Happy first weekend in October to everyone. 🙂

  3. Congrats to all winners!

  4. What a wonderful Autumn surprise. Thank you, Walt. Please take care.

  5. Pingback: Mix and Match Muse | Writing On The Sun

  6. What a sweet thing to do. Thank you and congrats to all! You’re in our thoughts, Walt.

  7. Aw, this was an extremely nice post. Fineing
    the time and actual effort tto generate a really good article… bbut what
    can I say… I put things ooff a lot and never seem to gget anything done.

  8. Fantastic beat ! I would like to apprentice whilst you amend
    your site, how can i subscribe for a blog website?
    The account aided me a applicable deal. I had been a little bit familiar of this your broadcast provided vibrant transparent concept

Plant your poem or comment here!

