POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

INFORM POETS – GREETING CARD VERSE

Schmaltz reigns supreme when it comes to greeting card verses. When you care enough to send the VERY best, write it yourself! Pick any occasion, for any person, place or thing and write the verse that will land in your card to celebrate this event! Serious or ridiculous, sweet or sarcastic, show Hallmark how it’s done!

WALT’S CARD:

GET WELL SOON!

Your surgery has gone as well
as anyone expected,
the organ was a perfect fit
and hasn’t been rejected.

I’m sad I couldn’t be there,
I’m sure it didn’t matter,
your heart transplant was a success,
but you needed a Gall Bladder!

Get Well Soon!

(C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

Single Post Navigation

57 thoughts on “INFORM POETS – GREETING CARD VERSE

  1. William Preston on said:

    GREETINGS

    I missed you when you left these shores
    without a word of warning;
    you left me holding one large bag
    and one small child aborning,

    and though you travelled `round the world
    from Spain to Argentina,
    now you’re home and here’s my card,
    it’s really a subpoena.

    copyright 2014, William Preston

  2. I smiled at both of these, Walt and Will! 🙂

  3. RJ Clarken on said:

    Encouragement

    “Always remember that you are unique. Just like everybody else.” ~Unknown

    You are so singular, unique.
    You always stand apart.
    You are defined by strange mystique.
    In that, you can take heart.

    So when some people call you odd
    it’s not an aberration.
    Just tell them that you are not flawed
    since ‘weird’ is your vocation.

    Then watch, because they can’t respond.
    There’s nothing more to say.
    You’ve waved your little ‘special’ wand.
    That’s it. Now go away.

    ###

    • WmPreston on said:

      I love this one even more than usual for your work, RJ, partly because I can identify and partly because I feel a serious edge in it.

  4. Valentine’s Day is here at last!
    Let’s give our love a start.
    I’m making me a monster
    And I need to have your heart.
    It’s got a brain I stole last week
    From someone in the dark,
    But right now in this greeting
    I’m asking for your heart.
    I’ll keep it warm and beating
    Inside my monster’s chest.
    Let’s wish it all the best.

  5. WmPreston on said:

    Walt, your chortler of a poem took me to, of all people, Lee Hayes, of the Weavers folk-singing group. It has the “gotcha” quality of his stories. At the Weaves’ final concert in Carnegie Hall, in 1980, Hayes was telling of some recent bad news and said, “We’re here to tell you, be of good cheer; this too will pass.” Then, after a well-timed pause, he said. “I’ve had kidney stones, and I know.”

  6. My Valentine

    My valentine, my love, my life
    My soul mate, my heartbeat, my wife.
    My desire, my reason to live.
    My dear, it’s my all that I give.

    I thank God that He led me to you.
    I thank God for the words, “I do.”
    I thank God for the gift of romance.
    I thank you for giving me a chance.

    You complete me, you fill my soul.
    You please me, and make me whole.
    You have me, forever I will be true
    You love me, forever I will love you.

    We’ve got something that’s rarer than gold.
    We’ve got true love, to have and to hold.
    We’ve got happiness, and that’s just the start.
    We’ve got each other, two loves, one heart.

    Especially for you on Valentine’s Day.

    © 2003 Earl Parsons

  7. connielpeters on said:

    Love the poems thus far.

    This Easter, as rains falls
    the sun comes out and flowers bloom,
    recall, when troubles rise,
    the Son’s death, love and empty tomb.

  8. RJ Clarken on said:

    William – you inspired me too!

    Roses are red.
    Ice cream is cold.
    Comin’ to getcha now…
    Just been paroled.

  9. RJ Clarken on said:

    Wedding Card

    Roses are red,
    candy is tasty.
    On the occasion of your nuptials…
    don’t be so hasty.

    ###

  10. Welcome Home!

    Things haven’t been the same
    since you went away,
    I cleaned the house
    and sold your stuff today.

    Did you know that signed guitar,
    brought in more than your old car?

    Here’s the bill
    and the photographs too
    from the detective
    I hired to follow you.

    So while you’re sipping Mai-tai’s
    with your secretary on your lap,
    I’ll being moving away
    to somewhere else on this map.

    Oh, and one last thing…
    these divorce papers need signing –
    Please send them to my attorney,
    he knows where I’m residing.

  11. Congratulations on your Wedding!

    The key to happiness…
    roses are good,
    groveling too
    your wife’s always right,
    and you’ll make it through.

  12. Darlene Franklin on said:

    Two big birthdays are coming up in my family this fall. I might rethink the second one, since everyone is rhyming. . .

    ISAIAH VERSION 4.0

    There was a small boy named Isaiah
    For almost four years he surprised ya
    But then he turned four
    And let out a roar
    I’ll run my trains with coca cola

  13. Darlene Franklin on said:

    And with my daughter-in-law in mind:

    THE BIG 4-0

    They say life begins at forty
    Then hang black banners over your desk
    They laugh and you cry, wondering why
    Your feelings today are grotesque

    Your children will leave—for school and more
    Your parents grow old and some may die
    No one needs your I.D. anymore
    When gray hair appears, you dye

    Other things spring to life
    Your hopes enjoy a second chance
    And mature enough to avoid strife
    With money and time, your dreams can advance

    Your days tiptoe on the blade on a knife
    Don’t worry–the scales tip in favor of life

  14. Earth Day

    Befriend a tree
    Find the wild in flowers
    Talk back to the wind
    And linger in stars
    Go grow some wings
    And soar in green dirt
    Sink, blink in blue ink
    And breathe deep, in this earth.
    Celebrate gilds and greys
    This ‘your – mine’ bouquet
    Happy Happy Earth Day

  15. Oops the last line should read
    Happy Earth Everydays–

  16. I hope this card has found you well,
    a cause for celebration,
    I’m happy that we’ve finally made
    this relative connection.
    I see the shock there in your eyes
    on this your special day,
    the lab results have just come in
    you match my DNA!

    HAPPY FATHER’S DAY!

  17. Pingback: We Miss You! | Metaphors and Smiles

  18. We Miss You!

    We’re wishing you all the best
    but we must keep our distance,
    your persistent habit is harmful.
    Didn’t you get the news?
    Secondhand smoke kills.
    Hope you’ll see the light.
    Perhaps you’ll change your mind?

    We Miss You!

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2014

    • WmPreston on said:

      A bit of friendly persuasion, perhaps? “Hope you sew the light” strikes me as funny, in this context.

      • I can see why it would, William! Thank you for reading. 🙂

        • W. Preston on said:

          You’re welcome. Please let me know when you sew that light. Sheesh, this two-finfger typing…

          • Yes…imagine that!! Sewing with light….sigh that could make a really neat painting…a being…threading a strand of light through a needle or in the action of piercing the fabric of the universe with a strand that is concentrated at the needle and fine but the expands and leads to the sun…well I’m happy for the typo otherwise I wouldn’t have seen this! Thank you! 🙂

  19. Now That You Are Divorced

    So sorry to hear
    about your divorce.
    He drank too much beer,
    we all knew that, of course.

    Or maybe those women
    he was with when he cheated.
    Why, he was inhuman,
    do not feel defeated.

    Now that you’re back
    in circulation,
    let’s jump in the sack
    for a real celebration.

  20. (Poem w/image: http://lettheballoonssailmeaway.wordpress.com)

    Another Autumn

    Fall,
    In crimson warmth,
    Thinking of you.

  21. Sorry I’m late to the party. I actually do write thank you poems to friends and family for gifts they’ve given me–material or otherwise. One of my mother’s best friends made and embroidered pillow cases for me as a wedding present. This one was for her, a sweetheart of a lady

    Thanks

    When you began with cloth and thread
    to sew a bouquet for my bed,
    you stitched a little love, I know,
    into that flower bed just so.

    I am not poet enough today
    to tell you all I mean to say
    but, Carrie, the beauty of your art,
    reflects the beauty of your heart.

  22. There is so much wit in all these poems that I wish the Bloomers could all be hired to write real greeting card verses!

Plant your poem or comment here!

