POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – BACK TO NORMAL

July 31 – And so we return to our daily lives, refreshed and ready to resume where June had left us. What is the first thing you will do now that camp is over? Do you need a vacation from your vacation? What actually is normal? What is your normal? Write it.

We will be going back to our normal routine at Creative Bloomings as well. The Sunday Seed will be planted on August 2nd. The Inform Poets Wednesday feature will resume on August 6th. The Blooms will be chosen on Saturday. If anyone has not served as Guest Host and would like to take their turn (if you gratefully declined because you had plans when you were asked, please let me know) Otherwise, I’ll be flying solo from here on out until I figure the course to follow.

STAYING ON THE TRAIL

July 30 – “GOODBYE, FAREWELL AND AMEN”

July 29 – I DON’T WANT TO GO HOME

July 28 – IT’S A DAY

July 27 – BARREL OF MONKEYS

July 26 – THREE-LEGGED RACE

THANK YOU TO HANNAH GOSSELIN FOR HER CREATIVE BADGE FOR THE

CREATIVE BLOOMINGS CAMP GRANADA JULY P.A.D.

Evening Primrose 33

Single Post Navigation

88 thoughts on “GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – BACK TO NORMAL

  1. William Preston on said:

    THE LESSON OF THE TREES

    In the wood,
    all is informal
    and its good
    understood;
    hence I learned a new normal
    to love, as I should.

    copyright 2014, William Preston

  2. LAUNDRY UP THE WAZZOU!

    Surely someone is mistaken,
    I’ve brought back more than I have taken.
    T-shirts stained and smell like hell,
    sort of musty if I can tell.
    Loads of socks, without mates,
    soiled undies, hope I’m not late.
    Shorts and pants, a crumpled heap,
    a daunting task, I take the leap.
    I didn’t think I took all that,
    I’m headed for the laundromat!

  3. Pingback: Open the Front Door | Metaphors and Smiles

  4. Open the Front Door

    Every waking day is a walking day
    it’s a fresh breath and smile day
    it’s a chance to breathe in wild
    find your inner-grinning-child –
    pick a flower, find a stone
    (turn off that phone
    and inner groan),
    listen instead…
    one foot
    following
    another.
    Nature
    whispers.

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2014

  5. STORY TIME

    When camp ended that year
    fifth-grade friend George Newman and I
    resumed collaborating again
    on our illustrated stories
    that kind Sister Rita Damian
    let me read at lunchtime
    on rainy afternoons.

    With so much going on in camp
    I had no time to write.
    All ideas for sci-fi and horror tales
    I kept locked in my head,
    ready to be jotted down
    in my notebook as early as
    the bus ride home from camp.

    That April I’d written “The Dagger”
    and after I read the crime story,
    George walked up and down
    the classroom aisles showing his art.
    Next I wrote a war story; George drew
    a battlefield about a future war
    In Iraq (nearly 50 years before 911)

    “Any story ideas about camp?”
    George asked. “Nothing special,”
    I was about to say, then I thought about
    the day the tip of Freddie’s nose
    was stung by a bumblebee
    and we called him Cyrano De Bergerac
    until the swelling went down.

    #

  6. flashpoetguy on said:

    I’m happy to say I managed to post a poem a day for all of July, despite computer problems and limited time to write. It’s a good feeling.

  7. Hello all of you Bloomin’ campers!!! I put together a special badge for you as a small token of appreciation for all that each of you have contributed! I hope you’ll feel free to come and collect it.

    Walt, if you wish to make it visible here you may do what you wish! Thank you again for being such an inspiring host!

    http://wordrustling.wordpress.com/2014/07/31/a-badge-for-creative-bloomin-campers/

    or the direct URL

  8. connielpeters on said:

    Back Home from Vacation

    Week One: Exhausted. Unpack. What was I doing before I left and why?
    Week Two: Ah yes, I remember. It has caught up to me with a vengeance.
    Week Three: Up to my ears in to-dos.
    Week Four: Catching up a bit
    Week Five: Start looking at travel brochures.
    Week Six: Major project accomplished
    Week Seven: Itching to go somewhere
    Week Eight: Time for a vacation.

  9. Back in Line

    Been gone for a while
    Different surroundings
    Different people
    Different daily routine
    Different mindset altogether

    I’d like to say it’s good to be back
    But I’d be lying to myself
    This is where I’m supposed to be
    Or at least that’s what I’ve been told
    Thanks for holding my place in line
    Time go get back to the grind

    © 2014 Earl Parsons

  10. Darlene Franklin on said:

    I didn’t make all 31 days. . .I’ve had to focus on contracted stuff, much as I enjoyed the challenge–can I have the badge although I haven’t written every day?
    BTW, Sunday is August THIRD, my birthday, so I ought to know.

    And I consider myself too much of a newbie to be a Guest Host, but I’ll leave the decision up to you, Walt. I will write a poem today.

  11. RJ Clarken on said:

    Walt – let’s just say that you inspired this one! 😀

    Aftermath – A Filthy Poem

    “Normal is nothing more than a cycle on a washing machine.” ~Whoopi Goldberg

    I’ve been away, so my clothing? P.U.!
    I need the ‘Extra-Clean’ for all my stuff…
    ,,,in fact, ‘Extra-Clean’ is just not enough!

    I feel like I’ve been in a dirt fondue,
    and ‘though I really scrubbed, grime did not slough.
    I’ve been away, so my clothing? P.U.!
    I need the ‘Extra-Clean’ for all my stuff…

    It’s amazing how much crud can accrue.
    I am a mud magnet. I don’t rebuff
    muck, sludge and yuck. I’m a grotty creampuff.
    I’ve been away, so my clothing? P.U.!
    I need the ‘Extra-Clean’ for all my stuff…
    ,,,in fact, ‘Extra-Clean’ is just not enough!

    ###

  12. Darlene Franklin on said:

    WHAT IS NORMAL?

    Loving
    Grieving
    Healing
    Growing
    Summer to fall, loving, grieving wheel
    Change is normal, healing, growing life

  13. Farewell Campers
    The party’s over,
    this camper’s on her way home
    all poemed out
    but happy to have spent a month
    at the Granada Camp for Wayward Poets.
    Now for real life.

    A big thank you to the host at the Granada Camp for Wayward Poets but I shall be glad to be home and writing something different.

  14. Priti on said:

    Reality
    After drifting
    outside the box
    and breathing
    in rich languages of air
    I circle back
    to my square world
    floating a rooted
    lightness in my shadow
    glitterings in my nails
    a new red in my heart
    and a haunting in my smile
    Reality has grown a beautiful tint
    in my absence
    Hope its presence lasts–

  15. Priti on said:

    A hearty thank you to all the counselors and campers –

  16. Old Habits

    A day,
    a week,
    won’t be long
    camp will be a dream.
    My routine,
    my new song.

    A day,
    a week,
    will be too long
    until I see you again.
    Your face
    a refrain in my song.

    A day,
    a week,
    they all will fly
    and then it will be July.
    Back to camp
    my favorite song.

  17. REBOOT

    I’m back and I lack, I admit.
    I type lots of tripe. Might quit.
    I slog through a bog, perplexed.
    What’s next?

    Long days in a haze. I’m scared.
    Can’t think. On the brink. Impaired.
    I’m fogged in the smog. I’m vexed.
    What’s next?

    It’s time for a rhyme or two.
    I’m fine. Write a line. It’s due.
    I jog, clear the clog, wipe specs.
    That’s next!

    © Susan Schoeffield

  18. Pingback: Reboot | Words With Sooze

  19. Oh, I’ve made a confusing mess of things! :O! I copy/pasted the link to my site where I posted the badge and thank you note but this is actually the correct URL:

    OR Walt has placed it at the top of the post, (thank you, Walt!!).

    Sorry you guys for making the last day of camp so confusing! 🙂 My intentions were good. 😉

  20. (Poem w/image: http://lettheballoonssailmeaway.wordpress.com)

    (Every day is different, yet I try to “keep the Drama on the page”)

    Unpredictable

    I took my shadow for a run
    Early in the morning sun
    She ran ahead along the way
    But when we turned around, she stayed.

  21. Summer Skips Off

    I prefer to think
    of summer as the “norm”
    but it falls in the context
    of a long hot dream.

    Now the stores are filled.
    Notebooks, lined
    backpacks, shelved.
    School supply sales have begun.
    Nature starts to fade.

  22. It has been a blast rooming with all you other campers out there!
    Thanks for a wonderful month, Walt.

Plant your poem or comment here!

