POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – THE LAKE: OTTAVA RIMA (Form)

July 16 – Bordering the south ridge of cabins in our complex, we find serenity in the guise of Lake Granada. That is your inspiration today. Write a lake poem, or around a lake, something “lake-like”. And of course being Wednesday (we got off easy last week) our form for our lake poems uses the Ottava Rima.

OTTAVA RIMA is a rhyming stanza form of Italian origin. Originally used for long poems on heroic themes, it later came to be popular in the writing of mock-heroic works.

The ottava rima stanza in English consists of eight iambic lines, usually iambic pentameters. Each stanza consists of three alternate rhymes and one double rhyme, following the a-b-a-b-a-b-c-c pattern. The form is similar to the older Sicilian octave, but evolved separately and is unrelated. 

 

STAYING ON THE TRAIL

July 15 – CAMP OLYMPICS

July 14 – IT’S RAINING (INSIDE)

July 13 – SENSORY OVERLOAD

July 12 – PICTURE PERFECT

July 11 – BOY CAMP / GIRL CAMP

Single Post Navigation

75 thoughts on “GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – THE LAKE: OTTAVA RIMA (Form)

  1. RJ Clarken on said:

    Circles

    “Perhaps the truth depends on a walk around the lake.” ~Wallace Stevens

    In early hours, I open up my eyes,
    get out of bed, toss on some clothes, and then
    change my surroundings for one of sunrise.
    I know later I will take up my pen
    and try to word-paint hues of daybreak skies.
    For now, I circle my lake, because when
    I see small damp rings of reflections cast,
    I find myself facing truth, at long last.

    ###

  2. LAKE IN LATE AFTERNOON

    A diamond luster sparkles on the lake
    Delighting campers congregating there.
    Beneath its surface fish avoid the bait
    Aware the hook and sinker bring despair
    To perch unschooled in swimming from their wake.
    How peaceful summer is late afternoon!
    On gentle waters sits the hint of moon.

    #

  3. Sunrise Sanctification

    Oh so early I wake up every day
    Well before the sun awakens the sky
    With blanket and Bible I slip away
    From my cabin down to the lake nearby
    It’s my quiet time to think, read and pray
    Just me and my Lord, my soul sanctify
    The sun rises on God’s beautiful lake
    Just another reminder; God is great

    © 2014 Earl Parsons

  4. Water Bound

    Sitting along a rocky shore, gazing
    at pure blue skies and fluffy cumulus
    clouds drifting over the forest, blazing
    across wind swept waters, the numerous
    thoughts wind me tightly and find me praising
    our connection to water, humorous
    belly flops, hoses, lakes, summer antics
    and the life giver – water semantics.

  5. connielpeters on said:

    Dust Devil Does its Deed

    I watched the wind whirl up the hill,
    then to the lake and friend’s kayak.
    And whoosh! It hit my friend until
    it turned and got me front to back.
    At first, afraid we’d take a spill,
    we laughed as I fished out my pack.
    But other folks were unaware
    of why we sat with mussed-up hair.

  6. William Preston on said:

    KEUKA

    The lake is shimmering from shore to shore,
    as though a dance of diamonds came to float,
    and here and there I see a score or more
    of mallards camped around an anchored boat,
    looking much like kids at a candy store.
    I gaze at this, and make a mental note:
    no other vision I have ever seen
    can match this sparkling blue amidst the green.

    This scene is in the Finger Lakes, a group
    of gouges in the glaciated land,
    where hills, though far away, still grace and loop
    the waters with a whispered wedding band,
    and I have come here on my daily troop
    to muted grandeur. Grateful, here I stand
    and watch the wavelets as the sun proceeds
    and diamonds wink at paltry human deeds.

    copyright 2014, William Preston

  7. RJ Clarken on said:

    Skimming Stones

    I found a smooth, round stone. I made it skim
    right across the vast expanse of a pond.
    I found another stone, and on a whim,
    I skimmed it farther, to send it beyond
    the horizon, or so it seemed. Pilgrim
    pebbles on a quest…how else to respond?
    Joy, watching the cool rippling in their wake.
    What a perfect moment, down by the lake.

    ###

  8. Priti on said:

    Meditate
    Cradled by the mountain dew
    Water floats in silver sounds
    Strolling ripples pull my shoe
    Send caresses through the ground
    A haunting veil of misty blue
    Just walks on wings, into the brown
    Silver blue, I concentrate
    I guess, that’s what is, ‘meditate’

  9. Darlene Franklin on said:

    I love the lakes of Maine (where grew up), which are natural, not man-made, and many of them with Indian names. This poem celebrates a joke about two of them.
    Also, I also learned the pure pleasure of sound through the strange-sounding but musical names that roll off my tongue.

    WINTHROP’S JOKE
    The town of Winthrop, Maine boasts many things
    Activities for all the whole year through
    Of long, hot days at lakes upon a string
    Cobboseecontee, Carlton, naming two
    But most of all, their cooks compete to wring
    The last, sweet taste of fish fixed in a stew
    The lakes take part, but poor Maranacook
    Must always lose to Annabessacook.

  10. Darlene Franklin on said:

    I was baptized in Lake Maranacook in August as well. At the same time as my grandmother. A special memory. If I had the time, I would write about that lake event as well.

  11. (Poem w/image: http://lettheballoonssailmeaway.wordpress.com)

    Aides

    I cried with weeping willow tree. Beneath
    her teardrops, salty, we exchanged our “numb”
    -ers tenderly. Our toes in water’s sheath
    Protected gingerly, as we did plumb
    Our depths to see, if we could bring relief
    And learn to know how deep to go, Succumb
    To forces never known, Enlist their aid
    No questions asked. As such, our peace was made.

  12. A GOOD DAY

    Upon the lake we drop our lines,
    and in our boat we are afloat.
    A bad day fishing is just fine,
    I find I have no need to gloat.
    A creel of fish and we can dine,
    but not if we’ve an empty tote.
    Yet still I find me in the mood,
    the market has some nice seafood!

    (C) Walter J Wojtanik, 2014

  13. Romance on Lake Granada

    Our rowboat glides so silently across the lake,
    whose water mirrors trees and plants along the edge.
    We slowly drift and sip our drinks–a rowing break–
    in which we doze and wake to see the sundown’s ledge.
    An orange flame descends to pink, as icing on a cake.
    Reluctantly, we head for shore with our solemn pledge,
    to hold this day of perfect splendor in our hearts,
    a memory that we can share if ever far apart.

  14. Pingback: A Body like No Other and Lake-Speak | Metaphors and Smiles

  15. A Body like No Other

    The lake so deep it speaks secrets in blue
    calming, the water gently laps the shore
    it soothes the soul and with its song it woos
    and when you’ve left you’ll find that you want more.
    It’s left a lake-shaped hole inside of you,
    a space for all the treasured thoughts you store.
    Sapphire and tinged tears taste like pure desire –
    a heart that’s been forever set afire.

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2014

    There’s a free verse poem living at the post with this…it wouldn’t be quiet when I was trying to focus on the form so I let her go. 🙂

  16. I’m late: writing this was, like drawing teeth, slow and painful!

    Writing this was like drawing teeth: slow and painful.

    Ottava Rima

    A hatch of midges hovers in a cloud
    above the Kielder Water at eventide.
    Hungry for human blood they are avowed,
    not to disperse until it is supplied.
    Despite this hazard, hardy walkers crowd,
    for the beauty of the lake can’t be denied.
    As complex eco-systems demonstrate,
    it’s nature’s way ever to compensate.

    • Wm Preston on said:

      This made me smile, much. “Nature’s way to compemsate,” indeed!

      • RJ Clarken on said:

        See – this is the thing: it might’ve been like drawing teeth and all (for you) but reading your work, full of brilliant rhyme, is a sublime (no pun intended) pleasure (for me.)

  17. I’m late: writing this was, like drawing teeth, slow and painful!

    Ottava Rima

    A hatch of midges hovers in a cloud
    above the Kielder Water at eventide.
    Hungry for human blood they are avowed,
    not to disperse until it is supplied.
    Despite this hazard, hardy walkers crowd,
    for the beauty of the lake can’t be denied.
    As complex eco-systems demonstrate,
    it’s nature’s way ever to compensate.

  18. Pingback: Ottava Rima – at Kielder | Vivinfrance's Blog

  19. Pingback: GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – SURVIVOR | CREATIVE BLOOMINGS

  20. Pingback: GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – THIS AND THAT | CREATIVE BLOOMINGS

  21. I’m having trouble catching up but here’s my poem for this prompt. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2014/07/18/campcide-tales-day-16-lakecide/

  22. Pingback: GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – AMPHIBIANS, ARACHNIDS AND REPTILIANS | CREATIVE BLOOMINGS

  23. Pingback: GRANADA CAQMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – RENAISSANCE CAMP | CREATIVE BLOOMINGS

  24. Pingback: GRANADA CAMP FOR WAYWARD POETS – SCAVENGER HUNT | CREATIVE BLOOMINGS

Plant your poem or comment here!

