POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

PROMPT #155 – “SAY IT WITH MUSIC”: GUEST HOST – CONNIE L. PETERS

POET CONNIE L. PETERS

POET CONNIE L. PETERS

The Guest Host responsibilities have been embraced and used to great effect by all who have carried that torch. This week it passes to another extreme talent and passionate poet. I’m happy to navigate through this leg of our voyage with Connie L. Peters!

***

Connie L. Peters began writing in 1983. She took two courses with The Institute of Children’s Literature and has attended various writers conferences across the nation. She started with fiction and resisted poetry until she began writing a poem a day in 2004 and met up with Poetic Asides in 2008, and then Creative Bloomings. Poetry has become a significant form of expression, particularly in her prayer life. She enjoys writing about almost everything from serious to funny. She posts poetry daily on enthusiasticsoul.blogspot.com.

Her poetry has been published in The SCWA Scribe, presidentialprayerteam.com, Wrinkling.com, The Christian Communicator, Alive Now!, Mature Years, Breakthrough Intercessor, Beyond the Dark Room, A Handful of Stones, Jellyfish Whispers, The Word Place, The Barefoot Review, Bible Advocate, Poetic Bloomings: The First Year, A Blackbird Sings, Prompted, The Power of Small, Celebrating Christmas, Evangel, Cross & Quill, Wounded by Words, The Cortez Journal and The Pagosa Sun. Her fiction, devotions and articles also have been published. For more information see southwestchristianwriters.org.

She lives in southwest Colorado with her husband and two adults with developmental disabilities. Her grown children reside in Phoenix, a great place to visit in the winter time. She enjoys traveling, hiking, kayaking, reading, and playing Scrabble (or Words with Friends) and Canasta. She has traveled to 49 states, with Hawaii to go.

***

PROMPT #155 – “SAY IT WITH MUSIC” Using your favorite singer, performer or musical group’s song titles, compose a poem. Identify the artist who inspires you!

WALT IMAGINES JOHN LENNON:

REMEMBER

Nobody told me.  I’m losing you,
oh my love. How do you sleep?
Grow old with me, your beautiful boy,
give me some truth. I feel crippled
inside , going cold turkey,
but on borrowed time. God,
I found out in a #9 dream, remember?
Imagine whatever gets you through the night.
Isolation can make one a jealous guy.
I’m just a working class hero,
watching the wheels go ‘round.
Give peace a chance… it’s just like starting over!

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

***

CONNIE SAYS IT WITH EDDIE RABBITT:

I’M THERE

Feel like a stranger
drivin’ my life away.
Gone too far,
great old American town,
Rocky Mountain music.

It’s me I’m running from,
runnin’ with the wind.
On second thought,
I love a rainy night.
I can’t help myself.

Hearts on fire.
Hurtin’ for you.
Hold on to me,
one and only one, amazing love.
You can’t run from love.

(C) Connie L. Peters – 2014

Single Post Navigation

216 thoughts on “PROMPT #155 – “SAY IT WITH MUSIC”: GUEST HOST – CONNIE L. PETERS

  1. Hey there, Connie. It’s so great to see you as Master for the Week. Such experience you have and talent. I’m pleased each week to see your offerings here.

    Hey, Walt, you’re groovin’ on Lennon there, while Connie Rabbitt’s her way to love.

    I always have fun doing this exercise, though I’ve done it for years with all sorts of categories for fictional stories. I’m going to enjoy this one as much, I think. Thanks for your great examples. See ya later.

  2. … yes, I will be singing to myself all morning at work, and create something to post later ❤ 🙂 !! Thank you Connie and Walt!

  3. Oh, both offerings are excellent, Walt & Connie! You’re raising the bar. Hope to be back later with something… or maybe just to read. Either way, this prompt looks to be interesting & entertaining. Have fun wearing the gardening gloves, Connie! 🙂

  4. Darlene Franklin on said:

    I met Connie in 1993 or so, when I was a newbie and she was already an expert. Her friendship and encouragement have always meant so much to me–and now I see just how much she’s published. And of course she’s the one who got me involved here.

    Oh, and the challenge. Oh, my. A couple of favorite musicians jump to mind but putting their titles into poetry? Challenge, here I come.

  5. William Preston on said:

    BITS FROM DER BINGLE

    Where the blue of the night meets the gold of the day.
    I saw the harbor lights;
    gee, but you’re wonderful
    the way you look tonight.

    You do the darndest things, baby,
    in the shade of the old apple tree;
    I should have known you were temptation
    but they can’t take that away from me.

    In the land of beginning again,
    aren’t you glad you’re you?
    It looks like rain in Cherry Blossom Lane,
    my Sioux City Sue.

    Stop! You’re breaking my heart,
    so wrap your troubles in dreams;
    there’s a gold mine in the sky
    down by the old mill stream.

    Call me up some rainy afternoon,
    girl in the bonnet of blue.
    There’s nothing I haven’t sung about;
    let me sing Sam’s song to you.

  6. I WON’T DANCE
    (based on song sung by Frank Sinatra)

    I know you’re telling me it’s easy.
    Just step out there and let your feet express
    The rhythm of the music, just dance to the beat,
    But guys with two left feet are never blessed.

    They look like spastic puppets on rubber strings.
    They make huge fools of themselves out there
    Because the melodies they hear no one is playing
    You dance well. I don’t. We’re not a pair.

    I won’t dance, so it’s useless to pretend
    Once on the floor something magical will happen.
    I’ve been down that road before and it ain’t pretty.
    I broke a girl’s two toes while my feet were tapping.

    Don’t ask me to take your hand and join the others
    Who move with grace like dancing TV stars.
    I’d rather have my drink and stand here at the wall.
    Allow me to admire dancers from afar,

    On the football field I’ve won my share of games
    And my GPA is 4.0. I can excel,
    But when it comes to dancing, count me out:
    I’d rather stay inside the comfort of my shell.

    Go ask Bob or Will or Fred who just twirled Marge.
    They know how to link their feet up to their brain,
    So falls and spills never happen in their arms.
    Dance with me you run the risk of going lame.

    I don’t dance. Don’t ask me. It’s not my way.
    I’d rather climb Mount Everest or swim the sea.
    Find yourself another guy to dance around with.
    I don’t dance. Do yourself a favor. Don’t ask me.

    #

  7. Darlene Franklin on said:

    What a lovely exercise for Sunday morning worship (I chose my favorite hymn writer). For what it’s worth. . .

    FANNY CROSBY’S BLIND FAITH

    Rescue the perishing for I am Thine, o Lord
    Pass me not, o gentle Savior
    Redeemed, how I love to proclaim it

    Near the cross, tell me the stories of Jesus
    He hideth my soul close to thee
    Blessed assurance, to God be the glory

    Take the world but give me Jesus
    Savior, more than life to me
    To God be the glory of unsearchable riches

    Jesus is tenderly calling me home
    All the way my Savior leads me
    To that bright forever

    C Darlene Franklin 2014

    P.S. I can’t figure out how to get the lines closer together. It’s single space in Word.

  8. My apologies…
    I think I misunderstood – but here it is anyway.
    Tried to give most of the sources – some I have forgotten, don’t know, or can’t spell.

    Soundtrack
    By David De Jong

    I Have Waited So Long (Foreigner)
    To tell my So Long So Wrong song (Alison Krause)

    Drove the Chevy out to the levy (Don McLean)
    Smokin’ on the Dark Side of the Moon (Boston, Pink Floyd)

    Smokin’ in the Boy’s Room, Smoke on the Water (Brownsville Station, Deep Purple)
    Tryin’ not to be caught with the Farmer’s Daughter (Sorry Forgot)

    Angie, Roxanne and Sweet Madam Blue (Stones, ??, Styx)
    Danced in the Rain with a Boy Named Sue (John Cash)

    We Wasted Days and wasted nights (?)
    Chasing our Afternoon Delights ( Captain and Teniele)

    Whiskey’s Gone, Suddenly I See, Through Your Eyes ( Zac Brown, KT Tunstal, Shahin)
    Frail Man at the Heart of the Sunrise (Jars of Clay, Enya, Yes)

    Bell Bottom Blues from Behind Blue Eyes (Eric Clapton, Who)
    Back to the Island of Green Grass and High Tides (Leon Russell, Outlaws)

    I’m not looking for Tea and Sympathy (Jars of Clay)
    Not much of a Portrait of Apology (Jars of Clay)

    Just Tales from the Vienna Woods (??Classical)
    Waitin’ on a Woman in Leatherwood (Brad Paisley, Ozark Mountain Devils

    Getting in Tune with Ghost Riders in the Sky (Who, Outlaws)
    To Say Goodbye A Man Don’t Have to Die (Hootie, Brad Paisley)

    Let it Go, Let it Grow (Zac Brown, Eric Clapton)
    Let’s Face the Music and Dance (Diana Krall)

  9. Fun prompt…gonna have to try this. I have lots of favorite singers and a few bluegrass folks I enjoy but my musical memory is weak as far as Titles…love your offerings Connie and Walt.

  10. This was so much fun, I may have to do another…love what’s come out so far…might just have to try David’s method; misread or not, it was charming. Love what you came up with also Walt and Connie…Lennon lends himself to some fanciful “imaginings” Walt and you did not disappoint (not that you ever do!) and Connie…”I Love a Rainy Night” is one of my all time favourite driving songs, so I knew anything you did with Rabbit’s work was going to be alright with me, and I was right. Glad to see you in the co-host shed this week; you’re a natural.

    I took all my titles from a double CD epic “The Essential Leonard Cohen” – (it was like writing a poem almost as his titles are often poetry themselves…lots of fun)

    YOUR WILL, YOUR MAN, YOUR BLUES

    If it be your will, I’m your man
    in the famous blue raincoat
    singing the stranger song
    Who by fire, everybody knows
    Said, so long Marianne
    at the Chelsea Hotel

    Then the Sisters of Mercy
    led Suzanne, the bird on the wire
    From the tower of song where
    she’s waiting for the miracle
    Love itself but there
    Ain’t no cure for love

    So, first we take Manhattan
    Then, take this waltz…
    Before the future;
    After democracy, then
    Take this longing, and,
    Dance me to the end of love.

    No longer the Partisan
    I’ll write you an Anthem
    Before night comes on
    Before closing time
    Buried a thousand kisses deep
    We’ll find Alexandra leaving
    Hey, that’s no way to say good-bye.

  11. Linda E.H. on said:

    yay, Connie! Great to see you helping out this week, and I love this prompt.

  12. Okay… So, Coldplay is on now, and then the 2014 Music Awards from 8pm-11pm… Needless to say… 😀 , I shall return tomorrow… ❤ !!

  13. Patti Smith

    Gloria and Kimberly met at Redondo
    Beach, decided to visit Birdland,
    because the night was filled
    with ravens, and they were dancing
    barefoot. Horses rode in with glitter
    in their eyes, and fireflies did cartwheels.
    Girls asked the angels for free money
    to follow their dream of life,
    but the angels were busy–
    it was Easter. Black Peter told them
    to break it up, while he was pissing
    in a river. Radio Ethiopia was pumping,
    and the girls turned into space monkeys.

  14. WELCOME COOONNNNIIIEEE!!!!!!

  15. Richard Rodgers: the sound of music

    Shhhhhhhh……….
    It’s the sound of music;
    rustling in the wind,
    finagling through limb,
    leaves, passing on
    a whim.

    Check out the bonus:
    http://voice.adobe.com/v/2TQvVg-KyRW

    Benjamin Thomas

  16. Thank you for the Music

    The very thought of you
    brings foolish things
    to mind for you made me love you
    under the bridges of Paris
    and I have no regrets.

    Cole and Irving,
    Mercer and Cahn;
    Lloyd Webber and Bjorn
    Hal and Burt
    Lennon and Paul
    (Anka and McCartney)
    Charles Trenet and Yves Montand
    Brassens and Chevalier – I could go on and on…

    Thank you for the Music

  17. (Patsy Cline)
    “Have You Ever Been Lonely”

    I’ve gone out “Walking After Midnight”
    these past “Seven Lonely Days”
    under a “Blue Moon of Kentucky”
    “I Fall to Pieces”, feeling “Crazy”, hoping
    “Someday You’ll Want Me to Want You”
    cause “You Made Me Love You”,
    gave me “Sweet Dreams” and I’m longing
    to be “Back in Baby’s Arms” but
    “Your Cheatin’ Heart”
    has given me
    “Lovesick Blues’
    and I can only hope
    you’ll “Pick Me Up on Your Way Down.”
    Oh, it’s “So Wrong” that you had
    “Leaving on Your Mind.”
    “Now She’s Got You”
    and “I’m Walking the Dog”
    Under a Blue Moon.
    Oh, “Stupid Cupid”
    for making me love you.
    “Bill Bailey,
    Won’t you Pease Come Home?”

    Hi Connie, Glad to have you at the helm this week.

  18. connielpeters on said:

    Hi all. Thank you for your encouraging comments. I drove all day yesterday, just got home from writers conference in Estes Park. My cat is sitting on my hands and I’m trying to see around her head. Anyway, doing the usual regrouping after the trip: who am i and what am I supposed to be doing? Comments later.

  19. BUFFETTING THE BEACH with Jimmy Buffett

    Come Monday,
    Take the Weather with You
    Back to the Island
    When the Coast is Clear.
    If It All Falls Down,
    It’s All About the Water.
    Stranded on a Sandbar,
    There’s Nothin’ Soft About Hard Times.
    Nautical Wheelers
    Kick It In Second Wind,
    Livin’ It Up.
    Tryin’ to Reason with Hurricane Season?
    Turn Up the Heat and Chill the Rose.
    Nothin’ But A Breeze …
    Oysters and Pearls …
    Cheeseburger in Paradise …
    Fruitcakes.
    It’s Five O’Clock Somewhere.
    Wonder Why We Ever Go Home?

    © Susan Schoeffield

  20. (i don’t really have a favorite band so I adopted my husband’s. With thanks and apologies to Ian Anderson and the Jethro Tull band.)

    “Crossfire”

    Life Is A Long Song For A Thousand Mothers
    Wond’ring Aloud.
    We Used To Know White Innocence—Singing All Day
    A Passion Play.

    To Be Sad Is A Mad Way To Be—
    Nothing To Say
    No Lullaby.

    Nothing Is Easy.

    Ladies, Look Into The Sun.
    Down At The End Of Your Road
    Cross-Eyed Mary Kissing Willie (Bad-Eyed and Loveless Beastie.)
    And Further On
    Rosa On The Factory Floor Said She Was A Dancer—Black Satin Dancer

    This Is Not Love.

    So Much Trouble
    It’s Breaking Me Up Inside,
    Too Many, Too User-Friendly.
    (Mayhem, Maybe)

    By Kind Permission Of Dr. Bogenbroom
    (Thick As A Brick Fat Man Doctor To My Disease)—
    Look At The Animals
    Protect and Survive
    Move On Alone
    Walk Into Light Songs From The Wood.

    (For Later.

    Black Sunday Grace—
    Something’s On The Move
    —Fire At Midnight.
    Left Right)

  21. Okay, gang. Here’s my offering for this one. I’m late to the show, but still having a good time.

    My Confession (Songs by Josh Groban)

    Changing colors in her eyes
    Let me fall to where you are;
    Awake, falling slowly,
    Happy in my heartache.

    Never let go, now or never.
    Home to stay, hidden away.

    Remember when it rained,
    she moved through the fair;
    so she dances straight to you.
    Lullaby smile,
    love only knows pearls.

    Remember, you are loved,
    you raise me up,
    to where you are;
    believe for always
    when you say you love me,
    you’re still you.

  22. Pingback: Blackbird Singing | Metaphors and Smiles

  23. Blackbird Singing

    Needing only of his own body and voice,
    this tree of life reverberates from roots to reaching limbs.
    Rhythm trembles in his bones,
    feathers vibrate with harmony released;
    the tune that he must sing is uncaged,
    set free from home and hollow of strong downy chest.
    Each trilling note is utterly unique,
    every melody is a creation echoing poignantly –
    there’s a bold beat born in his chest,
    there’s a song spilling from his throat,
    noteworthy and brilliant;
    his refrain will resound through eternity.

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2014

    The artist I chose is one that I learned of as a young teen for his hit Don’t Worry, Be Happy…it’s Bobby Mc Ferrin…but the song featured is Blackbird Singing in the Dead of Night – which is actually a Beatles original. I have a whole bunch of links if anyone’s interested in falling down the Bobby “rabbit hole.” That’s where I’ve been! 🙂

  24. Wonderful to learn more about you, Connie…I’m a fellow ICLer too! Thank you both for hosting!

  25. Priti on said:

    This poem consists of title songs of ABBA

    Dancing Queen

    Honey,honey
    I’m just a girl
    I have a Dream
    I do,I do, I do!
    I let the music speak
    Pick a bale of cotton
    Put on your white sombrero
    Take a chance on me
    Voulez-vous
    When all is said and done
    The winner takes it all——–

  26. (Poem w/image: http://lettheballoonssailmeaway.wordpress.com)

    Surely, A Product of My Childhood

    Just let the sun shine in, if you’re
    going to San Francisco. You’re
    gonna meet some gentle people
    there, with flowers everywhere. Would
    you like to ride in my beauti
    -ful balloon? Be sure to wear some
    flowers in your hair then. Peace will
    guide the planet, and Love will steer
    the stars.

    “Let the Sun Shine”, 5th Dimension
    “If You’re Going to San Francisco”, Scott Mckenzie
    “Up, Up and Away”, 5th Dimension
    “The Rain, the Park and Other Things”, The Cowsills
    “Dawning… Age of Acquarius”, 5th Dimension

  27. Wow! These take me back. I had all of these records. A great trip down memory lane. Nice job, Henrietta!

    • Oh, that makes me so Happy, Susan!! Yes, I am sitting here and I keep jumping back and forth to the YouTube versions of these wonderful songs… ❤ 😀 !! Thank you, so much for singing along… 🙂 !!

  28. (Gonna try to copy…camping and limited to phone apps. Enjoying these but comments will have to come later when I can get wifi…)

    Mourning Coffee
    My dreams were sure,
    My barrista confidence impressing a girl,
    Through visions clouded with a spoon-stirred swirl.

    I smelled pleasure
    At a small corner table with a sleepy-eyed look,
    In dim morning light, in an intimate nook.

    Warm dreams don’t endure.
    My cup turns up, as the last drip,
    Last drop, slides out of emptiness to a lonely trembling lip.
    “You’re so vain,” I said.
    But I drink this morning’s dreams away, with cream
    That softens an old bitterness, it seems.
    I’m so vain.
    (for Poetic Bloomings prompt #155, inspired by artist Carly Simon, “You’re So Vain”)

  29. I Love

    watermelon wine, faster horses,
    dear ole George, and the little green flower with the yellow on top.

    I spent a week in a county jail
    after ravishing Ruby, Pamela Brown,
    and the monkey that became president
    down at the Harper Valley PTA.

    Country is
    that song driving me crazy
    on the old side of town,
    that got me to Memphis
    with a picture of your mother.

    May the force be with you always –
    I like beer.

    (A poetic compilation of song titles, either sung or written by Tom T. Hall.)

  30. Hi Connie. I loved reading about you. You and Walt started us off brilliantly.

  31. LIFE IS MUSICAL

    There is sumptuous music, composed in the sand, as fine grained notes, slip, trickle through my hand.

    There is classical music; amidst the soul of the bird, witness of symphony, perfection seen and heard.

    There is hearty music, in every passing tree, whistling mystical tunes, and delivering song to me.

    Life is a sweet musical; played by natures band, the wisdom of the composer, is his sovereign hand.

  32. This song gave me chills
    “In The Year 2525” written by Richard Lee Evans, 1969

    Dystopian is all the rage
    we say we got big brother
    ushering in a new age
    test tube babies, designer kids
    clone your lover or a pig
    humanity is on the skids.

    disappearing trees and flowers
    birds and bees
    leaves a dour
    sad depiction,
    vanishing species
    a benediction
    of greed
    soon it may be
    9595 – if man doesn’t intercede.

  33. Oh, so many, many wonderful poems/songs… I want to really take my time rereading all of them… when I can get a few quiet moments… Thank you, friends!!

  34. Whew! Well that took longer than expected, but I made it! Here’s my offering — inspired by (and including song titles of) Dan Fogelberg (8/13/1951 – 12/16/2007). Back later, I hope, to read and comment. 🙂

    Hearts and Crafts

    Like Icarus ascending,
    the higher you climb
    the more you are lost in the sun.
    You’re wishing on the moon and stars, but
    it’s too soon to be on your way,
    there’s no reason to run.

    Someone’s been telling you stories
    of stolen moments in heart hotels,
    ghosts and exiles in empty cages –
    all just souvenirs of hearts in decline.

    This need not be our last farewell.
    Trust in the morning sky. Down the road
    wisteria whispers in the wind
    and promises made
    in the innocent age
    are still within the reach
    of this heart.

    PSC / 2014

  35. connielpeters on said:

    Beautiful job, PSC. I love it.

  36. One of my muses, Janis Ian, has no less than 20 albums and the most intriguing song titles…It was great fun putting them together for my own poem. The titles are in caps to distinguish them from words I’ve added…

    GETTING OVER YOU

    I NEED TO LIVE ALONE AGAIN
    LAY LOW with PHOTOGRAPHS
    MEMORIES, THIS NIGHT
    WHEN SILENCE FALLS, in this
    HOUSE WITHOUT A HEART
    ON THE OTHER SIDE of
    THE GREAT DIVIDE – admit that
    LIFE IS NEVER WRONG

    SHADOWS ON THE WIND and a
    BLACK CROW FLYING
    HERE IN THE CITY remind me
    YOU’RE TOO LATE; my
    CHILDHOOD HERO…
    made ALL THOSE PROMISES
    WHEN I LAY DOWN
    I HEAR YOU SING AGAIN
    see PARIS IN YOUR EYES

    THROUGH THE YEARS,
    THIS HOUSE witnessed your
    BRIGHT LIGHTS AND PROMISES
    our SLOW DANCE ROMANCE
    I WANT TO MAKE YOU LOVE ME
    but I’ve read BETWEEN THE LINES
    While LOVE IS BLIND and
    INSANITY COMES QUIETLY TO
    THE STRUCTURED MIND,
    WITHOUT YOU – I’LL CRY TONIGHT
    but LET ME BE LONELY

    And WHEN THE PARTY’S OVER
    Here IN MY MAMA’S HOUSE
    I’ll be EMPTY, GETTING OVER YOU
    WHEN YOU LOVE SOMEONE
    AS FAR AS LONELY GOES
    I’ll miss your ARMS AROUND
    MY LIFE but,
    YOU DON’T KNOW MY HEART

    DAYS LIKE THESE when I HUNGER
    for TENDERNESS, want you to
    RIDE ME LIKE A WAVE
    I come close to BREAKING SILENCE,
    wonder WHY CAN’T YOU AND I
    TRIGGER HAPPY LOVE before I
    recall you are a SNIPER OF THE HEART
    and I should HIT YOU WITH THE GUILT
    and TAKE NO PRISONERS

    STANDING IN THE SHADOWS OF LOVE
    ALL ROADS TO THE RIVER
    TAKE ME WALKING IN THE RAIN.
    I REMEMBER YESTERDAY, like
    a PASSION PLAY, BIGGER THAN REAL.
    I BELIEVE I’M MYSELF AGAIN
    but HERE COMES THE NIGHT and look
    There’s THE BRIDGE..it feels like
    TONIGHT WILL LAST FOREVER

    FROM ME TO YOU, LIGHT A LIGHT
    DON’T CRY OLD MAN – here’s a
    LOVER’S LULLABY…GOOD-BYE TO MORNING
    I want to TAKE TO THE SKY…do I hear
    a HYMN? No, THIS MUST BE WRONG
    I am DOWN AND AWAY and hear sweet
    voices rise…WHEN ANGELS CRY…

  37. Pingback: I Hold On | echoes from the silence

  38. I HOLD ON

    What was I thinking,
    trying to stop your leaving.
    Not through loving you.
    (come a little closer)
    You hold me together,
    (say you do)
    I can only think of one.

    2014-05-22
    P. Wanken

    * Each line is a title of a song sung by Dierks Bentley.

  39. Pingback: Buffetting The Beach (with Jimmy Buffett) | Words With Sooze

Plant your poem or comment here!

