POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

PROMPT #153 – “A WORLD WITHOUT” AND WRAPPED REFRAIN

First, I knew this little piece of our world wouldn’t have moved as smoothly if it was without Earl Parsons. Thanks Earl for adding your dynamic flair!

Our worlds share similarities but also contains things we figured we could do without. We were able to come to grips with these “distractions” in some small way. These are the poems that stood up to earn BRILLIANT BLOOMS:

WALT’S SELECTIONS:

I will be posting my choices. I’ll choose two more if I don’t hear from our Co-host.Perhaps Earl is demonstrating “A World Without Four Blooms.”

One device we seem to not be able to be without can also be one of the most annoying and distracting. Cell phone can be a boon in an emergency. But attaching a camera to it to capture “mug”shots in ridiculous poses are certainly something I could do without. And apparently De Jackson shares this disdain. Her “A World Without Selfies” earns my BLOOM:

A WORLD WITHOUT SELFIES by De Jackson

Seriously, who
decided we were supposed to turn
the camera inward, snap
some duck
-faced nonsense to click
out to the world? Or stare
off into outer space like some
ennui flavored stone?

Ready, set?
Pose pretty
(or not)
for the camera
(phone).

Me, my
-selfie and i?
We’d rather smile
to the sky.

(C) Copyright De Jackson – 2014

WALT’S INFORM SELECTION:

The Wrapped Refrain uses four syllables (or one-syllable words) at the beginning and ending of each stanza to tie the verse in a tidy knot. Still a form that requires some concentration and thought! One that caught my eyes was a twist on the “Looking Glass” Adventure of Alice in Wonderland, written superbly by Sara McNulty.

INTO A TALE

I stepped inside the pages inked
in vibrant shades that seemed to wink.
A caterpillar sat and smoked;
he blew out words, but did not choke.
The March Hare asked me to decide,
did I want tea? I stepped inside.

Such strange creatures I ran into,
a cat that vanished right on cue.
A rabbit who was always late,
a queen whom you could not debate.
Back at hoe, I told my teacher
of those I’d met, such strange creatures.

(C) Copyright Sara McNulty – 2014

 

CONGRATULATIONS TO DE JACKSON and SARA McNULTY

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “PROMPT #153 – “A WORLD WITHOUT” AND WRAPPED REFRAIN

  1. Good choices which I was happy to read. I had a go at both those prompts, but nothing worked.

  2. flashpoetguy on said:

    Congrats to De and Sara!

  3. De and Sara, worthy blooms for the week. Congrats to both of you brilliant gals. 🙂

  4. Congrats De and Sara. Both poems had a light-hearted aspect that were fun to read.

  5. Congratulations poets!! ♥

  6. Good job, as always! 🙂

  7. Congratulations, De and Sara, I loved them both!!

  8. connielpeters on said:

    I enjoyed both poems. Congrats De and Sara.

  9. Thanks so much, Walt, and to the lovely comments from everyone else.
    Congrats to De for a real winner!

  10. William Preston on said:

    Sorry to be commenting so late, but congratulations, Sara and De. Great work,

  11. Thank you so much, Walt! 🙂
    And congratulations, Sara! I LOVE all things Alice, and LOVED this poem!

  12. Linda E.H. on said:

    Yay, De! Always glad to see your work here.
    Sara, I absolutely love this piece.
    Congrats to both of you.

  13. Congratulations ladies!

Plant your poem or comment here!

