POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

INFORM POETS – CINQKU

The CINQKU was invented by Denis Garrison as a closer analogue to haiku than the American Cinquain (Adelaide Crapsey), minimizing the utility of the line break technique. Cinqku follows a strict 17-syllable count arranged in five successive lines of 2-3-4-6-2 syllables. No title is used for single verse cinqku poems which are written in haiku- style free diction and syntax with no metrical requirement; a turn is used that may be similar to kireji in haiku or cinquain. Sequence, crown, and mirror, cinqku may be titled.

WALT’S CINQKU:

poems
from the heart
expressed in love
touch and caress the soul
sweetly

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

****

JANE’S CINQKU OFFERINGS:

thirteen
turkeys graze
plowed fields, free range
vulnerable as ducks
sitting

(C) Copyright Jane Shlensky – 2014

****

Jane’s Crown Cinqku

Forecast

trees cast
shadow veins
across snow—like
nature’s nerves fingering
out, tense

pretense
casts shadows
hiding icy
glint behind sunny sheen
white lies

warmth lies
wind-slanted
thawing cold light,
wintry blasts contrite; truth
recasts

(C) Copyright Jane Shlensky – 2014

Single Post Navigation

253 thoughts on “INFORM POETS – CINQKU

  1. Wonderful form. A new one for me. Exciting. Terrific examples, as always. I”ll return with some of my own. You two are hard to follow.

  2. I like the two examples here, but am not sure it’s my kind of form. As always, I’ll have a go.

  3. Marjory MT on said:

    Numbers
    are dancing
    before my eyes
    in mathematical
    delight

    Band plays,
    some fox trot,
    eight square dancing
    while “Hokey, Pokey” line
    rims room.

    Evening
    event set
    a Numbers Prom
    celebrating work’s done,
    now fun.

  4. I wish I were there – I loved to dance when I could, and still love to watch.

  5. William Preston on said:

    EXISTENCE IS NOT ENOUGH

    When whales
    do not sing,
    all the oceans
    are utterly devoid
    of soul,

    and when
    the oceans are silent,
    only the clouds
    understand
    their pain.

    copyright 2014, William Preston

  6. William Preston on said:

    This form is another of those little buggers that are harder than they look. Thanks for the great examples. Jane has provided an example of the crown cinqku, and I think I can guess what a mirror cinqku is, but what is a cinqku sequence? One after another?

  7. WmPreston on said:

    COTTONWOODS

    Each day
    I travelled
    I felt unsure
    I would ever get back,
    until

    one day
    in Kansas
    I felt at home
    under trees where the West
    begins.

    copyright 2014, William Preston

  8. Walt and Jane, your cinqku examples are wonderful.

    Songs Sung Blue

    Blue Jay,
    melting the
    morning with a
    stream of fancy swearing.
    Madness.

    Mocking
    bird teasing,
    mimicking, hush
    little baby don’t you
    cry. Hush…

    Mourning
    dove coo. Why
    are you so sad?
    Melancholic, gloomy
    lament.

  9. flashpoetguy on said:

    COMPASSION

    Kindness
    a small thing
    can move mountains
    or mend a broken heart
    Sometimes
    we are blind
    to what souls see
    too wrapped up in the world
    to care

  10. flowers
    hiding low
    beneath old snow
    waiting for the warmth of
    sunshine

  11. my soul
    seeks peace and
    harmony while
    my mind dances from place
    to place

  12. WAKE-UP CALL

    Showers
    in April
    tap on the door
    where flowers lie in beds
    asleep.

    Blossoms
    slowly stir
    from the safety
    of their garden chambers
    to rise.

    © Susan Schoeffield

  13. Pingback: Wake-Up Call | Words With Sooze

  14. connielpeters on said:

    enough
    pack a bag
    put in some snacks
    don’t forget medicine
    walk out

  15. Jesus
    Messiah
    The Son of God
    Crucified to save us
    Jesus

    © 2014 Earl Parsons

  16. ejparsons on said:

    Stand Up

    Children
    Innocent
    Vulnerable
    They need our protection
    Stand up

    Elders
    Defenseless
    Susceptible
    They need our protection
    Stand up

    Workers
    Unemployed
    Impoverished
    They need our protection
    Stand up

    People
    Citizens
    Americans
    They need our protection
    Stand up

    Honor
    Honesty
    Integrity
    They need our protection
    Stand up

    Freedom
    Liberty
    Independence
    They need our protection
    Stand up

    We all
    Need to stand
    For what is right
    Or America falls
    Stand up

    © 2014 Earl Parsons

  17. Setting
    sail, with oar
    in water, moves
    me…alas, only in
    circles.

  18. flashpoetguy on said:

    SWEET MUSIC

    Romance
    celebrates
    the spring season
    when love’s seeds sprout anew
    life’s dance
    True love
    unending
    brings sweet music
    to fill all seasonal
    silence

    #

  19. (posted w/image: http://lettheballoonssailmeaway.wordpress.com)

    Distant Harmony

    The rain
    thrums quiet
    with birds’ sweet tweet
    Unruffled feathers, so
    to speak.

  20. Pingback: Voyage | echoes from the silence

  21. Darlene Franklin on said:

    Hmm, don’t know if this makes sense. . . but here is my first attempt

    Wednesday
    Clients call
    Eye-catching fashion
    Mysteries mined ‘til clear
    Hump day

  22. These are 3 poems which are inspired by what I see from my chair in front of my computer, next to a wide window which looks out upon our winter devastated yard.

    Revival

    There lies
    A rose bush
    Black stalks broken
    New growth hides, waiting
    Spring rain.

    Window

    Sun pours
    Through the glass
    Houseplants leaning
    Into the promise
    Of spring.

    Holidays

    Christmas
    Poinsetta
    Opens tiny
    Green leaves for Easter
    Celebration!

  23. WmPreston on said:

    MIGRATION

    We fly
    across lands
    and broad oceans
    to reach the ports of home
    at last

    but find
    it all temporary,
    fuelling the urge
    to do it
    again.

    Copyright 2014, William Preston

  24. I’m not sure why this thought trail came about this morning, but it did, for both of my poems. This is my first. We’ll see if I’ve understood the lesson and examples.

    One day’s
    Wonderment
    Carries future
    Possibilities of
    God’s joys.

  25. For my next feat ( 🙂 ) I’ll try to do the longer version. Be sure and tell me if I’ve figured it out right.

    Memory’s Purpose

    Lest we
    Forget one
    Blessing’s joyful
    Existence in the world,
    We pray.

    We pray
    Remembrance,
    To keep heart strong
    And our eyes on future
    Day’s joys.

    For joys
    Take us home
    Where others wait
    With bright, welcome glory
    And love.

    A love
    Known only
    Through reflection
    And faith’s constant promise
    For us.

  26. I’ll be back later to do my own commenting. See y’all then.

  27. WmPreston on said:

    This is a fascinating little form. Here are four attempts at untitled pieces:

    Squirrels
    at feeders
    leave chickadees
    chattering and chiding
    sharply.

    The end
    of the day
    amazes me:
    it looks exactly like
    the start.

    Roses
    are redder
    when viewed inside
    a curtain of swaddling
    clear ice.

    Children
    understand
    pure happiness
    each time they say, “Do it
    again.”

    all poems copyright 2014, William Preston

  28. flashpoetguy on said:

    CHEERS

    Olé,
    Matador!
    But El Toro,
    Thinking cheers are for him,
    Kicks dust.
    What bull!
    What ego!
    Then the red cape
    Flashes against his horns.
    Oh oh…

    #

  29. Pingback: Back To Square One (prompt) | echoes from the silence

  30. Pingback: A Cinqku | Metaphors and Smiles

  31. Chanting
    Whip-poor-will
    sings in folk song
    nightly on forest floor
    calling.

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2014

    I’m quite sure I saw one of these on my woods/brook-side walk today…
    Or it could have been a Ruffled Grouse…but I wanted it to be a Whip-poor-will,
    that is one of my mother’s favorites-
    she used to look for them often when we lived in the woods together.

    • Wm Preston on said:

      I don’t hear well enough to hear those birds, but once, in California, I saw a poor-will on the ground in deep dusk. If you hear this “nightly,” it likely is what you want it to be. Not so likely in daytime, though I guess, in the right woodsy setting, it’d be hard to tell apart from a ruffed grouse.

      Anyway, I think the poem is wonderful, no matter what it was.

    • Rest assured, Hannah. If the bird was the size of a small chicken, it was a grouse. Otherwise, it could well have been one of the whips. 🙂 Love this. Reminds me of home.

    • janeshlensky on said:

      Hannah, you’re a girl after my own heart. I loved these birds growing up, always hearing them name-calling about dusk from a sycamore near the barn. This little poem took me back.

    • I Love the Whip-poor-will ❤ !!

  32. Forgiveness

    anguish
    cuts deeply
    iniquity
    erodes a hallowed heart
    bleeding

    mercy
    fountains from
    absolution
    love pools in hollows at
    my feet

  33. Priti on said:

    Mood Of The Day

    Today
    grey raw skies
    with heavy breath
    get under my sore skin’s
    deep blue

  34. Priti on said:

    Waves
    Frothy
    open mouths
    crash white on rocks
    with everything they got
    once more

  35. The Review

    Bravo!
    Actor bows
    Audience cheers
    He believes they applaud
    For him

    Hooray!
    Standing O
    Once more for show
    He takes the stage but no
    One cheers

    Kung Fu!
    He blew it
    Such rave reviews
    Tributes to his co-star
    And crew

  36. some things
    are gone for-
    ever, the new
    year holds promise and hopes
    and dreams

    2014-04-02
    P. Wanken

    Written for Creative Bloomings Prompt #148: Back To Square One. I chose three lines from a poem I wrote on New Year’s Eve 2010, just a couple weeks after I started writing poetry, to write this cinqku.

    My source poem can be found at: http://whenwordsescape.wordpress.com/2010/12/31/saying-goodbye/

  37. Dawn brings
    a sighting–
    morning glories
    trumpeting start of Spring,
    pink throats

  38. Goodbye
    Leaves a pang;
    Remembering,
    Though, is sometimes so much
    Harder…

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2014

  39. Some stabs at CINQKU (3 different ones)

    two loons
    circle wide
    the ice-free lake
    make murderous calls, then
    a nest

    my wolf
    by the fire
    barely looks live
    he’s howling in his dreams
    I bet

    winter
    has been too
    long here this year
    unwelcome as a death
    or plague

    • janeshlensky on said:

      Wowser, these are good. Those loons’ wide circling just grabbed me, the murderous pitted against a nest adds a bit of tension and humor too. The wolf too pulled me into his dreams. The third one is so true this year, death becomes synonymous with plague. Very good.

    • William Preston on said:

      I love these, especially the first. Never thought of the calls as “murderous,” but then, I’m deaf.

      • They have several distinctive calls William (I grew up on lake that was home to a couple of pairs) – There’s one that’s particularly blood-curdling and in the middle of the night, we used to wonder if someone wasn’t being killed…fanciful I know, but I can still hear it.

  40. Thank you, all, a very busy month, but so much fun reading, writing, and sharing… And, today… an outdoor run in the rain, because I have not been out of my apt. in a couple of days… 🙂 !!

  41. William Preston on said:

    Even
    Atmospheric
    Renderings make
    This planet call us all
    Homeward.

    • Ooh, there are lots of “renderings” to choose from here, and (you’re right) each of them makes us want to be home, safe, and watching. Were I more religious, I might say there’s nothing like a power outage during an ice storm to make me consider the temperature of hereafters 😉

  42. Darlene Franklin on said:

    Breezes
    brush winter’s
    cobwebs into
    skeins of spun memories
    new thread

    • janeshlensky on said:

      Darlene, this is a keeper. Beautiful image you spin… or embroider, or needlepoint or…. here.

      • Darlene Franklin on said:

        Jane,
        I rarely go outside, and the fresh air on my face is my favorite feeling (I live in a nursing home)
        Thanks

  43. Marjory MT on said:

    NEGELECTED

    Time to
    stop the poems,
    and do something
    that’s more constructive in
    my house
    (that’s a mess),
    Can’t blame winter,
    I just do not like to
    clean house
    but, then clean
    would make it more
    comfortable for all
    in it.

    • janeshlensky on said:

      I realized today that I should have finished taxes and cleaned thoroughly before the PAD challenge at Poetic Asides and the great prompts here. Now I have to wait until May…to clean 😉 We can’t neglect the important stuff, can we? Nice one, Marjory.

  44. Darlene Franklin on said:

    Oh, Marjorie, you sound just like me.

  45. Megan McDonald on said:

    River
    Flowing out
    Of thought into
    Verse, poet flood frees word
    river

  46. Marjory MT on said:

    MAIL-CALL

    Mail-call…
    rings out clear
    troops race to stand,
    anxious for words from home.
    Mail-call…
    I’m longing
    to hear my name
    written out by your hand.
    Mail-call…
    standing here
    in the hot sun,
    chilled to bone, unknowing.
    Mail-call…
    when was it
    I last got news
    and your sweet words of love?
    Mail-call…
    names shouted,
    names of those with
    updates, touches from home.
    Mail-call…
    silent men,
    still standing with
    hearts craving words of love.
    Mail-call…
    day of joy
    day of sorrow
    forgotten and alone.
    Mail-call…
    There are no
    more envelopes,
    troops fall out, waiting next
    Mail-call…

Plant your poem or comment here!

