POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

INFORM POETS – TRIQUINT

Triquint is a poetry form created by Sylvia A. Feeley, which consists of 3 verses of 5 lines each. Lines 3 and 4 of verse 1 (Refrain) repeat in verses 2 and 3. The declining syllable count for each stanza is 9, 7, 5, 3, 1 and has an aaAAb rhyme scheme.

WALT’S TRIQUINT:

IN THE CATHEDRAL OF NIGHT

In the shadows on a cold crisp night
she stands, Engulfed in moonlight,
she thought that she might
be alright.
Fine!

Beneath the cover of bright starlight,
she surely was not uptight.
She thought that she might
be alright.
Shine!

It truly was a beautiful sight,
my midnight bride dressed in white.
She thought that she might
be alright
mine!

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik – 2014

MICHELLE’S TRIQUINT:

SOUL STEPPING

Having a song singing in your soul,
will have you taking a stroll.
Queen of your own knoll,
you are whole!
Sing!

You will dance around the colored pole,
feet pounding, down to the sole.
Queen of your own knoll,
you are whole!
Swing!

You have checked your list and set your goal,
you are moving, on a roll.
Queen of your own knoll,
you are whole!
Ring!

© Copyright Michelle Hed – 2014

Single Post Navigation

161 thoughts on “INFORM POETS – TRIQUINT

  1. Nice work to get us started, you two! This is an interesting little form.

  2. Preparing for Spring

    As winter’s last onslaught is nearing,
    Earth gets ready for turning
    A vibrant new green
    For when spring
    Shows;

    While the snow and the ice are melting,
    She’s already preparing
    A vibrant new green
    For when spring
    Grows;

    And when cold once again starts falling,
    Under snow she’ll be hiding
    A vibrant new green
    For when spring
    Shows.

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2014

  3. Sweet form folks. Be back later to take a stab. Thanks Walt and Michelle. Triquint here we come!

  4. Flower Power

    After the winter’s long hard glower
    my garden shows her power
    as warm spring showers
    bring flowers.
    Sighes.

    Joyfully climbing on tall white bowers
    in rowdy red they tower
    as warm spring showers
    bring flowers.
    Rise.

    Why does it seem such a short hour
    that these blooms are empowered
    as warm spring showers
    bring flowers ?
    Dies.

  5. William Preston on said:

    BEMUSED AND BEGONE

    In this world of beauties and their glows
    that succor the eye and nose,
    you are the one rose
    that I chose.
    Why?

    You thought it your just due, I suppose,
    as I gave you gifts and clothes.
    You are the one rose
    that I chose;
    try.

    But you have the warmth of Arctic floes,
    for your love comes, then it goes.
    You are the one rose
    that I chose
    Bye!

    (c) copyright 2014, William Preston

  6. William Preston on said:

    SUNDOWN REVERIE

    Echoes of gladness utter a cry,
    bounding over golden rye,
    as the butterfly
    seeks the sky
    light.

    My heart feels overwhelmed, by and by,
    and, therefore, I must comply
    as the butterfly
    seeks the sky
    bright,

    to grasp for that dream, I know not why,
    and be, in spite of the lie,
    as he butterfly
    seeks the sky:
    sprite

    (c) copyright 2014, William Preston

  7. Darlene Hope Franklin on said:

    William, the poems just flow from your pen . . . lifts my spirit on a day I need it.

  8. Darlene Hope Franklin on said:

    Question: Is it permissible to count “Gabriel” as two syllables? As in, “Gabriel, sound your horn”

  9. Darlene Hope Franklin on said:

    got it

  10. Darlene Hope Franklin on said:

    TO JARAN
    On his 34th Birthday

    Eager, ignorant, me a greenhorn
    No harm, all good, to adorn
    Gabriel, blow your horn
    My first-born
    Thrill

    I say Lennon, he says Cobain—growth’s thorn
    Zenith passes childhood’s morn
    Gabriel, blow your horn
    My first-born
    Fill

    New-found love explodes, no longer lorn
    Apron strings returned, though torn
    Gabriel, blow your horn
    My first-born
    Still

    Darlene Franklin

  11. SUN SPOTS

    A summer sun in sparkling rays
    ignites a passionate blaze,
    a game to amaze
    as it stays
    near.

    A probing sun takes time to appraise
    what causes lovers’ delays,
    a game to amaze
    as it stays
    clear.

    In spite of the sun’s engaging ways,
    it blinds with a piercing haze,
    a game to amaze
    as it stays
    here.

    © Susan Schoeffield

  12. Lenten Prayer

    Drink water plain; watch bright songbirds feed
    No sugar sweeter than seed
    Follow: God will lead
    See all need
    Heed

    We bird-bathe as sacred floods recede
    Our song’s flight soars; psalms read
    Follow: let God lead
    See all need
    Bleed

    I’ll lighten flight, forgive, shed greed’s deeds
    Feather me for use, I plead,
    Follow, let God lead,
    See our need,
    Feed

  13. janeshlensky on said:

    Take two! Sorry about this.

    Lenten Prayer

    Drink water plain; watch bright songbirds feed
    No sugar sweeter than seed
    Follow: God will lead
    See all need
    Bear

    We bird-bathe as sacred floods recede
    Our song’s flight soars; psalms read
    Follow: let God lead
    See all need
    Share

    I’ll lighten flight, forgive, shed greed’s deeds
    Feather me for use, I plead
    Follow: God will lead
    See our need
    Care

  14. Pingback: Sun Spots | Words With Sooze

  15. Walt and Michelle, I applaud your examples. Would that I could do as well. When I began this, I didn’t expect it to turn as it did. But here’s my first attempt at this form. It’s isn’t easy. Rhyme isn’t my forte.

    Evolution
    Evolution

    Amid time’s stones in celestial space,
    Each spun in its own star race,
    Awaiting birthplace,
    Life’s embrace,
    Fire.

    Sprinkled from God’s hands filled with love’s grace,
    Onto shores that act as base,
    Awaiting birthplace,
    Life’s embrace,
    Sire.

    Man’s rise, from depths to heights face-to-face,
    Sought more than life to erase,
    Awaiting birthplace,
    Life’s embrace,
    Dire.

  16. Darlene Hope Franklin on said:

    Interesting idea – a lot to consider I love the chorus

  17. I gave you that scarf years ago,
    right after you divorced Joe.
    We really must be getting old,
    right?

    Well, never mind, I can’t find that pen
    you gave me back who knows when.
    We really must be getting old,
    what?

    Seems like yesterday, we were so young
    blasting music, chewing gum.
    We really must be getting old-
    er?

  18. connielpeters on said:

    Vigil

    Wounded, broken in her bed, she lay
    Her pain bluntly on display
    A pain here to stay
    Come let’s pray
    Keep

    An agonizing, soul-wrenching day
    We watch and wait in dismay
    A pain here to stay
    Come let’s pray
    Weep

    She dwells in another world today
    Death carried the greatest sway
    A pain here to stay
    Come let’s pray
    Sleep

  19. One more than then I have to leave.

    The Whiner

    May I have some more gummy bears, please?
    I’ll pass up crackers and cheese.
    I won’t cough or sneeze;
    I won’t wheeze;
    Now.

    Will you make me some soup with split peas?
    I won’t spread my spot disease;
    I won’t cough or sneeze;
    I won’t wheeze;
    Vow.

    If I’m better later, get Chinese.;
    Can you block that breeze?
    I won’t cough or sneeze;
    I won’t wheeze;
    Pow.

  20. Priti on said:

    You Waited!!
    !
    All through the battering pounding rain
    You hung in there braving pain
    You folded a bit
    waited, lit
    Great!

    As thunder rattled blows on your veins
    You limped but stood, holding reins
    You folded a bit
    waited, lit
    Mate!

    When lightening poked needles in your mane
    You winced a tad, stayed in lane
    You folded a bit
    waited, lit
    Faith!

  21. Springtime Path

    A heady, primrose fragrance to stay
    Crystals slowly melt away
    A heart is released
    Sweet song sung
    blue

    In sunshine green with no ice this day
    To block sunny, warming rays
    A heart is released
    Sweet song sung
    true

    Despite the forecast of yesterday
    Seeming end, no more delay
    A heart is released
    Sweet song sung,
    Cue.

  22. Sweet like Candy Cane

    (A Triquint form)

    She smiled sweet, her name was Candy cane.
    My sweet tooth sprang–unrestrained.
    She was sweet unfeigned
    Sugar cane.
    Yum.

    She posed red and white, neck curled and craned.
    Tasted plump heart, prized her gain.
    She was sweet unfeigned
    Sugar cane.
    Yum.

    Nothing could break my fetters in chain
    Hooked for life, its unexplained.
    She was sweet unfeigned
    Sugar cane.
    Yum!

  23. Pingback: Mary’s Debut | Metaphors and Smiles

  24. Mary’s Debut

    The piano is her stage-her tune
    entranced by red lips they’d swoon,
    under gin-tinged moon
    she’d sing soon.
    Paused…

    her dress gains every eye in the room,
    it is a brilliant costume;
    under gin tinged moon
    she’d sing soon…
    posed.

    Hypnotized by her elegant plumes,
    audience consumed-
    under gin tinged moon
    she’d sing soon…
    poised.

    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin

    This poem is about my father’s mother, she was a true beauty with a defined jawline and a classic look. I would have loved to have seen her singing the music of the 20’s like this.

  25. Y’all know I can’t resist a short form. But gosh this was hard! Here’s my attempt:

    RUNAWAY

    A little girl came across our lawn
    and knocked on our door. A pawn
    no more. She was gone.
    Past the dawn.
    Flew.

    Just a baby, innocence foregone,
    she lay on my couch and yawned,
    “No more.” She was gone
    past the dawn
    to

    late the next morning. She yelled, “Come on!”
    when she woke. A little fawn
    no more. She was gone.
    Past the dawn.
    New.

  26. flashpoetguy on said:

    PEACE

    Bring on the sunshine of this new day.
    Let the world know what you pray:
    Peace to those who say
    It’s God’s way ––
    Light!

    Respect the night of star-studded gray.
    From our God’s Word never stray.
    Peace to those who say
    It’s God’s way ––
    Bright!

    Shun the devil. Keep him far at bay,
    All God’s children made from clay.
    Peace to those who say
    It’s God’s way ––
    Fight!

    #

  27. Amen Sal, nice poem.

  28. The Light

    Hark, in the distance, a light I see
    Lighting the dark around me
    I fell to my knees
    I could see
    Clear

    So long the darkness encircled me
    Trapped and lost, I could not flee
    Would I soon be free
    Could that be
    Fear

    Fear that this light would go out on me
    Closer it came; I could see
    He’s coming for me
    Glory be!
    Tear

    © 2014 Earl Parsons

  29. ejparsons on said:

    Ring the Bell

    Smiling a smile of arrogant pride
    Words that confuse while truth hides
    Intent to divide
    Lies applied
    Well!

    Will we just let America slide
    All for political pride
    Intent to divide
    Lies applied
    Tell!

    No longer can we, the people, hide
    Speak up, speak out, stop the slide
    Intent to divide
    Lies applied
    Yell!

    © 2014 Earl Parsons

  30. William Preston on said:

    AS PURPLE DECLINES,

    I wonder as I scan the skyline
    and night rises, cold and fine:
    with time in decline,
    will stars shine?
    Ten

    spots begin to glow, hints that the mine
    of space is full. Yet, I pine:
    with time in decline,
    will stars shine
    when

    reasons fade for music and fine wine;
    when wish is reduced to whine
    with time in decline?
    Will stars shine
    then?

    © 2014, William Preston

Plant your poem or comment here!

