POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BRILLIANT BLOOMS PROMPT #141 AND RISPETTO

Another outstanding bit of work by our Co-Host here at CREATIVE BLOOMINGS. Debi Swim continued to hold the bar set by Paula Wanken last week, with her poetic prowess and encouraging nature. Thank you Debi for a job well done!

We honor the people who have given us worded wisdom in the form of poems, books and music. Through them, we are inspired and motivated to recreate is some small way their efforts. The choices of writing heroes was as varied as the talented poets we have in our garden. Now today we honor some of them with our selections of our BRILLIANT BLOOMS!

WALT’S CHOICE:

One purpose of this exercise was to allow you to shine the light on someone who inspires you. An off shoot of that, is to introduce us all to that new source of enlightenment and inspiration as well as new expressions. In this case the language and word combinations do indeed sing as Claudette Young had stated in the comment on this poem. And this poet is also new to us and her initial offering has made an impression. Hopefully, she will continue to grow in our garden with her contributions of poetry. Cara Lopez Lee, we welcome  you and honor you with a BRILLIANT BLOOM.

A TRIBUTE TO LUIS ALBERTO URRREA

He spent 20 years unearthing her past,
A true family myth whom he had not met.
A wellspring of faith, of magic, of war.
A column of fire before Mexico’s poor.
The saint girl healed with curandera secrets.
History revived and laughing with life.
Tortillas and desert, coffee and cactus.
Thick salty pages where heroes still live.
Imagined rancheros and memories of mountains.
The author spreads his feast for the dead.
Not for fame or glory or name softly spoken.
Words of Mexican, Woman, and reason for pride,
In tales that light sparks once quiescent within.

(C) Copyright Cara Lopez Lee – 2014

*****

DEBI’S BLOOM SELECTION:

The tributes were wonderful and it was difficult to pick just one, but Ellen Evan’s jumped out at me from the first. I think what she said about Mary Oliver in particular can be said in general for each of our own personal favorite writer/s – The feeling of awe at a phrase, the way another sees the same world we do, the nudge they give us to write and be better… Ellen my thanks to you for your tribute.

A TRIBUTE TO MARY OLIVER

We live in the same world,
you and I.
Not the same universe
perhaps,
but the same world.

For even if I walked by
your side on
your morning
rounds to greet
the waking world,

the eyes through which
you see the wonders
that are there,
and the skills
by which you share them,

are talents I do not possess.
Such gifts exist
in this world
unreplicated,
to each of us our own.

But when I stretch
my creative self,
your path is there
to beckon me in its
quiet certainty.

(c) Copyright 2014 – Ellen Evans

****

INFORM POETS BLOOM

In our description of the RISPETTO form, we point out the “respect” aspect of such a verse. The respect many sources say, is usually directed toward a woman. But the “respect” in this poem is very powerful and pays homage to the enduring nature of love. There is beauty in the heart-pain that ripples throughout this piece. This BLOOM is presented to Marjory M Thompson for her untitled poem:

The light still shines within your eyes
reflecting what is in your heart
restating love of days gone by,
a time I thought we could not part.

We danced and sang with friends we shared.
On moon-lite nights we loved and cared.
Eternal troth we thought was ours,
but it was not set in the stars.

(C) Copyright Marjory M. Thompson – 2014

 

We honor you CARA, ELLEN and MARJORY. CONGRATULATIONS!

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “BRILLIANT BLOOMS PROMPT #141 AND RISPETTO

  1. Marie Elena on said:

    Fabulous poets. Wonderful choices! Loving seeing the talented new voices here, such as Cara.

  2. elishevasmom on said:

    Marjory, your poem kept with the respect for a woman with Love as the woman. Nicely done. Cara, it’s like you dropped in from an alternate reality, where you are clearly a gifted poet, and we have just never heard of you before. Welcome.
    As for myself, a nod and a curtsy in gratitude.

  3. Congratulations Cara, Ellen and Marjory! Outstanding work!!

  4. William Preston on said:

    These selections are superb, and so are the poets.

  5. I am new to your site–such a wonderful introduction–in particular, Ellen, your piece speaks to me today–

    Best–

    Audrey

    • Audrey, welcome to CREATIVE BLOOMINGS. We hope you continue to enjoy our poets, and have plans of becoming one yourself. We are a welcoming and (as you can see) very supportive group. Please check out our WELCOME! and acquaint yourself with our features. Then join in! Walt

  6. Wonderful words and work poets!! Congratulations to all three of you and a warm welcome!!

  7. Cara, Ellen, and Marjory, congrats on your wonderful words.

  8. Such grand choices from a week of grand poems and poets. How nice to see a new poet in the garden…welcome Cara! All three of you are to be roundly hailed and congratulated…nicely done Walt and Debi….P.S. a last special note to Marjory re her Rispotto…it’s wonderful and seeing it reminded me I didn’t get around to trying one, darn. I must make a note to get back over here mid-week.

  9. Congratulations to all of our Bloom-ing poets, Ellen, Marjory, and Cara.

    Welcome to our new members, Cara and Audrey. And Sharon, I’m with you on this Rispetto. I couldn’t take time to play with it either–an oversight I must remedy. 🙂

  10. Marjory MT on said:

    THANK YOU!
    What a nice way to end a super busy day – to find a special bloom from the garden.
    I so appreciate the honor as well as the kind comments that each of you have given to me.

    Also, let me add my congratulations and “Welcome to the Garden” to Cara and Audrey. Looking forward to reading more from you in the coming weeks.

  11. Yay! New members! Welcome to the club Cara and Audrey. I think you’ll like it here.

    As always, nice work this past week. Congratulations to Cara, Ellen and Marjory

  12. Congratulations Cara, Ellen and Marjory–Cara, a beautiful tribute–Ellen I love Mary Oliver, and you captured perfectly the sense that I have every time I read her poems. Marjory so sweet and poignant.

  13. If some one needs to be updated with latest technologies then he must
    be visit this web page and be up to date daily.

  14. Howdy! This post couldn’t be written any better! Reading through this post reminds
    me of my previous room mate! He always kept chatting
    about this. I will forward this write-up to him.
    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Many thanks for sharing!

  15. hey there and thank you for your info – I’ve definitely picked
    up something new from right here. I did however expertise some technical issues using this web site, since I experienced
    to reload the website many times previous to
    I could get it to load correctly. I had been wondering if your web host is OK?
    Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google
    and could damage your quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.

    Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for
    a lot more of your respective exciting content. Make sure you update this again soon.

  16. I’m not sure exactly why but this site is loading extremely slow for me.
    Is anyone else having this issue or is it a issue on my end?
    I’ll check back later on and see if the problem still exists.

  17. This website definitely has all the info I needed about this subject and
    didn’t know who to ask.

Plant your poem or comment here!

