POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

RE-BOOT OR NOT RE-BOOT?

We’re easing into changes here at POETIC BLOOMINGS and that includes everyone who contributes or has a hand in poetic pursuits throughout the poetic world. (A whole lot of “poetics” going on here).

During my hiatus from this site a while back, we had considered ceasing operation here “in the garden”. But the main consideration (the only one, as far as I was concerned) was the stable of incredible poets who week-in and week-out contributed their muse and support and constructive suggestions to making POETIC BLOOMINGS the place they wanted to be. So we did not allow the “soil” to become fallow. Marie carried on valiantly, with the help of RJ CLarken and WIlliam Preston.

As originally offered, POETIC BLOOMINGS was a site for poets to claim as their own… a place they could consider a home for their work. That hasn’t changed. But in an effort to make this blog more about you and to give you a hand in its new direction, we will feature a “Guest Host” every week to offer your examples for the prompt and IN-FORM POET, to highlight your personal blog (a little self-promotion never hurts) and to select a BEAUTIFUL BLOOM for the week.

The IN-FORM POET will resume next week.

I am toying with the idea of audio clips of your poems where we can have you (or someone else, if you’re too shy) read your piece and have this be a regular feature. The details on that will be forthcoming.

Another idea is one that comes from my background. We are a creative lot; talented in many facets. Along with poetry, many of us write flash fiction. We write music. Some of us are artists where our medium (paints and charcoal and ink and pencil) is more traditional than the words we proffer weekly. There are those with discerning eyes who can capture the most incredible moments through a lenses of a camera. Did I say we were a creative lot?

Serious thought is being given to allowing these skills to find a place here. And thus, a name change is being considered. We will remain mainly a poetic blog and the focus will continue in that regard. But, I suggest we branch out to all forms of creative pursuits. My preference retains the aspect of the “garden” and the continued “blooming of our souls”. CREATIVE BLOOMINGS is an idea. I will post a poll with suggestions for you to consider. After all, it is really you who drive this vehicle. This will be an on-going process to inject new breath into what it is we do here. We have the chance to make a great site even better. With your help, we can accomplish this.

With much respect, Walt.

Single Post Navigation

27 thoughts on “RE-BOOT OR NOT RE-BOOT?

  1. I think branching out is a great idea, and the more the responsibilities are shared the less likely it will be for anyone to burn out.

  2. I’m in. Let the ideas run free.

  3. Sounds interesting.

  4. Expanding the creative outlets sounds like a great idea! AND sharing the workload? Probably long overdue. You’ve got a beautiful garden going here, but I honestly don’t know how you (hosts) have managed to tend it for so long. Shouldering most of the work (no matter how much you love it), is an exhausting task, and takes its toll over time — both emotionally & physically. Pass those rakes and shovels around — and good luck with the community garden! πŸ˜‰

  5. It sounds good to me, Walt. I like “Creative Bloomings” and offer my own title suggestion, “Create Bloomings” to make it an ongoingly active.

  6. Thanks all. Appreciate the feedback. Hope to hear more from you out there. Yes, the work-share is long overdue, Pamela and Connie, and has taken its toll on both Marie and me. II have work spread all over the web and am having a time managing it, so the consolidation also serves to alleviate that. And Sal I love the though of promoting the continuity of this project. I will include your (and any title suggestions) in the poll for consideration. Walt.

  7. elishevasmom on said:

    Being very prone to the burning out tendency myself, I think sharing the work load is a wonderful idea. And while we’re parsing out the jobs, it will give us each a chance to grow in being challenged in venues unfamiliar.

  8. I just love your creative thinking and admire your efforts to always include everyone and to improve the site. Thanks again for all of your hard work and for giving us this wonderful garden.

  9. I just came up with a name for my random thoughts book and I really like it though it might be too far from “Bloomings” for search purposes. My book has a tree on it so I call it my (Th)inking Tree… thinking/inking kinda fun…anyway whatever it ends up being in name, shape and content it will be beautiful because of the peeps that frequent this site. πŸ™‚

  10. Marie Elena on said:

    So, um … Walt?

    Have I told you lately how brilliant you are?

  11. “Creative Bloomings” is a great idea & title. Many of us do have other creative “Outlets” besides poetry & would welcome the idea of sharing each other’s creations,

  12. I love these ideas. Having the ability to hear poetic voices, music, see art, images very fun! I vote yes πŸ™‚

  13. Another idea I am certainly going to implement will be the “appointment” of trustees for lack of a better term. Two will be chosen and will act in the stead of a second permanent administrator. I envision a six month term (or shorter if they wish to resign the post). They will we given the password for the site and will work with me to police and handle extraordinary functions. After their terms, the passwords will change and new trustees will be put in place. And as Ellen has stated, it will give others who have trepidations of taking on such tasks on their own to learn the process of a blog as extensive as “POETIC BLOOMINGS” has become. Yes, this is all of our blog and no better way to take “ownership” than to all serve as stewards for the creative process and each other.

    P.S. – And no Marie, You haven’t mentioned how brilliant I am in a while. And you know I’d debate you on that anyway!

    Walt

  14. Marjory MT on said:

    Go for it Walt, Change helps us grow and the Garden can only become more beautiful. It has helped me to poetically grow, meet others and has been so encouraging. Thanks to each of you who have been a part of the gardening. On Tuesday, before I read your comments, Walt, I wrote the following which seems to fit into the scheme of things.

    GARDEN

    Seeking to sow in the garden,
    you and I go into the garden

    and there, from offered seeds and prompts,
    thoughts we stow in the garden.

    Weekly, sharing the load,
    we watch hopes grow in the garden.

    Then, over time, along the way,
    we add a row in the garden,

    thus embrace bits of each of us
    to emit more glow in the garden.

  15. elishevasmom on said:

    That gets a “wow” all its own!

  16. Ditto that wow to Marjory, and yay Walt…Creative Bloomings sounds like an idea whose time has come…count me in as well!

  17. Great ideas, Walt. Bring it on!

  18. Sounds good to me.

  19. These changes all sound like excellent ideas. Our happy group will continue but you, Walt, won’t be overloaded with work (we love and appreciate all the work you put in but also want you to remain healthy). I know an editor who ran blog hops using your “trustee” method and that was always cool to have a new persons input for a while and to see the different styles and idea the person brought to it.

  20. The idea of rotating co- administrators/curators sounds like a good plan. Continuity, without burnout. So funny, that this all reminds me of when this time of year I’d be busy planning my garden.

  21. Wonderful idea, Walt! Got to admit, all this change is a little saddening, but I’m glad you won’t have to be bearing it all, friend. πŸ™‚

  22. William Preston on said:

    CODA

    Ideas come and ideas flow
    and all remind me, at length,
    of a hoary phrase I used to know:
    β€œIn union there is strength.”

  23. I’ve been reading (and re-reading) all of the great suggestions for moving Poetic Bloomings into its next phase. The idea of appointing trustees is superb. There is so much talent in this garden that fresh, new perspectives will benefit all of us, particularly you, Walt, as some of your burden for maintaining this incredible garden will be eased. Expanding the site’s scope to include creative endeavors other than written poetry is exciting and your proposed title of β€œCreative” Bloomings covers everything very neatly. I’m looking forward to reading this new story as it evolves, chapter by chapter!

Plant your poem or comment here!

