POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #126 AND BYRON’S SONNET

Among the poets who grace this site are those who can poetically tap into and express a depth of emotion and vision to which I can only aspire.  This week, the works of Barbara Young, Salvatore Buttaci, Iain Douglas Kemp, Jerry Walraven, and Andra Negroiu leave me breathless with envy.  A blatant confession — but there you have it.

As for this week’s Bloom, it is William’s and my honor to call attention to the same poem:  SANCTUARY, by Andra Negroiu.

For me, the beauty and flow of the words make this poem sing as a composition of music.  The marriage of imagery and message leaves me shaking my head in wonder.

William says, “The first phrase that drew me to this poem was “shy churches hiding.” That led me to read it again, and again and again. It always seemed to have a new discovery waiting for me. Andra reminds us of the little things in big (and small) cities: the shy churches and the ragged alleyways and the dying light. And amidst all that, she invites the reader to be a sanctuary, which is what a church is supposed to be, for the wandering bird, or perhaps the people and other creatures that frequent the ragged alleyways. This struck me as sensitive yet powerful writing, and I’m going to read it again and again.”

Thank you for sharing this magnificent piece with us, Andra.  Do let us know if this finds its way into a book we can hold in our hands, and take in with our hearts.

SANCTUARY (by Andra Negroiu)

Girls, when you find yourselves
alone at night,
making the acquaintance
of a city of lineage
and dazzling shopping streets,
spare a thought for the ragged alleyways and
for the shy churches hiding
behind the dying light and the pouring rain
and put out your hand
and wait
for the flute-born Ave of a wanderer
to alight on your palm, rest its wings and
declare you its sanctuary.

~~~

 RJ’S IN-FORM CHOICE:

Holy Moly! Lord Byron (and I) don’t even know where to begin to choose for In-form Poet Bloom of the Week. There were so many brilliant, amazing poems – and each was a gem in and of itself. Just when I would think, ‘Yes, that is the one,” I would read another and say, “Hmmmmmm…what do I do now?”

(Pause.)

(Another pause.)

All right. Although there were many that made me say, “Gosh, I wish I’d written that!” my choice is Erin Kay’s ‘In the Orchard.’ Her line, “… heady scent of pears carried on the breeze…” just resonated with me, and I loved the way she set the blush scene of first love.

In The Orchard (by Erin Kay Hope)

Long grass swaying lazily in the breeze,
Leaves rustling, covering the hard ground
With a blanket of gold warmth all around
You and I: in the orchard at our ease;
Heady scent of pears carried by the breeze,
Sweetening breath, hanging thick in the air
As the fruit lies here, there, and everywhere,
And we share one big one beneath the trees.

You smile, and the whole world gets brighter,
I blush, and you steal a quick kiss from me,
You wink and my heart palpitates faster,
I smile timidly, you’ve captured me;
We linger here as the sky gets darker,
In the orchard together, you and me.

 Congratulations to Andra and Erin Kay!

P.S.  Thanks to all who participated in our National Poetry Day contest!  I’ll need a bit of time to get the voting page prepared.  I’ll post when ready, and then give you all a few days to vote for your favorite.  Should be fun!  http://poeticbloomings.com/2013/10/03/national-poetry-day-poetry-contest/

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #126 AND BYRON’S SONNET

  1. flashpoetguy on said:

    Congrats to Andra and Erin Kay!

  2. Wonderful poems and poets!!!! BIG congratulations to Andra and Erin!!

    Thank you, gracious hosts for all of your energies that go into making this such a hospitable garden plot and thank you to the poets who’ve rooted here. :)’s to all!

  3. elishevasmom on said:

    Andra and Erin Kay, In a week when I felt like I was playing hide and seek with the words, you both found routes right to the point, and beautifully so. Congratulations!

  4. Congratulations Andra and Erin Kay! Beautiful offerings.

  5. Congratulations Andra and Erin!

  6. Oh Andra, your Sanctuary is exquisite. This deserves to be the only bloom picked. Wonderful.

  7. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Oh, Lovely selections!! Congratulations, Andra and Erin Kay!!

  8. Congratulations! The two poems go together so well.

  9. Gorgeous choices. I shall return to this form, as it gives great cope/

  10. Loved in Sanctuary as well. Andra, it was a beautiful revelation of the depth of meaning and calling in small things around us.
    Erin, I had not made it back to the garden to read your Orchard sonnet but it was perfect in form, message and meaning.
    Congratulations to you both.

  11. Congratulations to Andra and Erin. Wonderful poems!

  12. Thank you, RJ, for choosing my poem and for your kind words. I feel really humbled and grateful being chosen two weeks in a row. Thank you!

    And congratulations, Andra! Your poem is beautiful.

  13. Andra Negroiu on said:

    Thank you for choosing my poem! I am really glad it touched your heart, as it is one of my fondest memories. Little things do count!
    Congratulations, Erin! Your poem is expressive in so many ways! I am honoured that my poem has been chosen alongside yours as this week’s “Bloom”. 🙂

  14. Andra and Erin–Both beautiful, beautiful poems! I loved them both–Congratulations!! 🙂

Plant your poem or comment here!

