POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #124 AND TETRACTYS

Sheryl Oder captured what is, in my opinion, the perfect poetry prompt.  Perhaps it is because reflection promotes rumination.  Thank you, Sheryl, for giving us food for expression.  The results are outstanding.

MARIE ELENA’S CHOICE

Reverberation by Benjamin Thomas unearthed emotions I have not felt in many years.  This simply written piece speaks to an element of life that few escape.  I like best the way Damon describes it:  “…. beautiful longing from the sigh to the unsung ache.”   Absolutely.  Benjamin, I humbly offer you my Bloom for this week.

Reverberation (by Benjamin Thomas [poetryshack])

Smitten by your smile
I sigh… as you walk by
Knowing I cannot
Make you feel or spy… this heartbeat-
For you.

Perceiving it’s magnitude
It’s every thrust.
Perhaps my chest would
Rupture, bust wide open-
For you.

And you could finally
Appreciate it’s rhythmic melody.
The sweet strum of heart strings
Playing in sync with your stride
The air particles displaced between us.
But I only wished for an echo.
A return of like feeling.
A reverberation.

But I guess some things are best unseen.
Some songs seem to go unwritten.

WILLIAM’S PICK

I selected Ellen Knight’s poem and response to the photo prompt because it offers an insight into a condition I know nothing about (for which I’m thankful), and fits the photo so well. I thought many other poems fit the photo well also (it permitted all kinds of interpretations), but Ellen’s, in my opinion, related something grounded in (painful) reality to the shifting, fluid, broken, near-and-far perspectives of the photo prompt. In addition, Ellen’s use of similar sounds to begin her stanzas lends a pounding quality to the lines, much like a bad headache, I would think. The absence of punctuation (till the end) and capitalization lend a streaming feeling to the poem, consistent, I think, with the sensations she reports and the image she used as a prompt. Finally, the last stanza offers a question that goes beyond migraines or surrealist photography: what is really distorted? Like the photo, one can read her poem in lots of ways. All in all, I thought this was a superior poem and a slice of life that I think would interest physicians; I can envision it in a neurology journal.

THROUGH MIGRAINE’S EYES (by Ellen Knight)

reflection curved—wrapped around my mind
perception altered—nothing straight or square

searching for sea legs to still the
lurching—steady the

tipping and
slipping the

bending of images
sending my thoughts to

contortion beyond all reasonable
proportion leads me to wonder if the
distortion is

genuine or is it
mine?

~~~

RJ’s CHOICE

Although it was really hard to choose this week because we had SO MANY great Tetractyses (Tetractysi’?) I finally came up with one that really just resonated with me. It is a Double Tetractys, written by Jerry Walraven. His ‘We are our Stories’ is amazing, and his final two lines just blew me away. I definitely had one of those ‘I wish I’d written that!’ moments, and so, this is my pick for In-form Poet Bloom of the Week.

We are our Stories (by Jerry Walraven)

Tales,
passing
between you
and another,
these marks made against others memories
building connections to the memories,
past and present,
of others.
Create
you.

Single Post Navigation

19 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #124 AND TETRACTYS

  1. Wonderful choices!!! Congratulations, Benjamin, Ellen and Jerry!!

  2. Well done, William, and congratulations to this week’s stars!

    >

  3. Congratulations to the winners this week–Benjamin, Ellen, and Jerry!

  4. Quite humbly honored here guys. Fun prompts! Thanks RJ, Sheryl and PB company. I simply enjoyed writing and responding to others creations. Sometimes I don’t anything for months on end. And that ol’ engine gets pretty rusty. Great community here in the garden (Le Jardin in French). Beginning to understand poetry now. Didn’t know why people, them or myself, needed to write. Or for that matter what did it all mean? Fifth-teen years ago I never imagined writing poetry in my wildest of dreams. Now here I am getting bloomed!
    But that said, truly humbled. I’m still quite a novice. Could use a class by some you who happen to be teachers. Lol! Jerry and Ellen you both have excellent writes here. Hadn’t read them til now. Like I’ve said before, every poet collectively, is like a stunning multifaceted diamond. The diamond is beautiful of course, but if you don’t look closely to glean you’ve missed something. Her attraction is brilliantly faceted. The way that she can receive/reflect her light back to the beholder. Every turn, contour, and even grains must be found. Quite humbly honored here guys. Fun prompts! Thanks RJ, Sheryl and PB company. I simply enjoyed writing and responding to others creations. Sometimes I don’t anything for months on end. And that ol’ engine gets pretty rusty. Great community here in the garden (Le Jardin in French). Beginning to understand poetry now. Didn’t know why people, them or myself, needed to write. Or for that matter what did it all mean? Fifth-teen years ago I never imagined writing poetry in my wildest of dreams. Now here I am getting bloomed!
    But that said, truly humbled. I’m still quite a novice. Could use a class by some you who happen to be teachers. Lol! Jerry and Ellen you both have excellent writes here. Hadn’t read them til now. Like I’ve said before, every poet collectively speaking, is like a stunning multifaceted diamond. The diamond is beautiful of course, but if you don’t look closely to glean her facets you’ve definitely missed something. Her ability to bend the light in ways that might bring joy or sorrow to the beholder is magnificent. Every contour, cut or grain must not be missed. Her brilliance is unmistakable. How a diamond is cut determines it how it shines. But when it does, its multifarious. Just take a better look.

  5. Sorry for the double prompt! You got a double dose.

  6. connielpeters on said:

    Great picks! Congrats Benjamin, Ellen and Jerry 🙂

  7. This poem is dedicated to all of you!

    Appreciation for Poetry

    I have an appetite
    For the diamond
    Splashing grandeur of it’s facets.

    The light she lent
    In rhythmic waves
    Ne’er shall I forget.

    The misery in cuts
    Sustained
    Were to all exposed.

    Suffering
    To bear a light
    Now upon my eye reposed.

  8. elishevasmom on said:

    Benjamen, what a lovely tribute to the blood coursing through all our veins. Congratulations to you and Jerry. The three of us make a good ice cream sandwich (Ben and Jerry’s). Groan. 😀

  9. Congratulations to you guys–Benjamin, Ellen, and Jerry!

  10. sheryl kay oder on said:

    Congratulations, Benjamin, Ellen, and Jerry for those well-crafted and imaginative poems.

  11. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Congratulations, Benjamin, Ellen, and Jerry!! Love the work here!! :)!!

  12. Wow. Thanks RJ. Normally forms scare me so it’s extra sweet to be chosen for this one. Congratulations to Benjamin and Ellen. Very nice work. Thanks for the kind words everyone.

  13. Good choices all…congrats Jerry, Benjamin and Ellen…well done RJ, William and Marie Elena. As always, the garden is flourishing and it is a thing of beauty to see.

  14. Perfect choices from so many varied views. I love picture prompts. I especially enjoyed this week’s form RJ. Congrats to fine writers Jerry, Ellen and Benjamin.

  15. Off the Charts!! Beautiful, emotional, lovely poems all three–Congratulations Jerry, Ellen and Benjamin. Well deserved Blooms! 🙂

Plant your poem or comment here!

