POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #115

Before the “Beautiful Blooms” are announced, I have some news to share.

You all know I put out a call for some help when Walt announced that he simply cannot continue at full capacity here for the foreseeable future. You also by now know RJ Clarken has agreed to be our In-Form Poet Wednesday guru.  She was Walt’s own #1 choice, and rightfully so.  RJ brings much poetry form experience and skill to the table, as recognized and honored by poetry propagators such as The Writer’s Digest’s Robert Lee Brewer.

Walt believes he can continue to help with the online chapbooks, such as the memoir project and beach project.  He will also make himself available for consultation.  I appreciate that not only because he is grand at it, but also because it keeps his foot inside this garden he and I have cultivated together.  He has a poetic green thumb, and I want to keep his hands dirty.  😉

Having said all this, Walt’s is a position that simply cannot be refilled by just one person.  Along with RJ, it is my great pleasure to announce that William (Bill) Preston will also be coming on board.  Bill will be providing our Sunday morning prompts, along with his own sample.  He will also choose the weekly Beautiful Blooms with me.

Ready, Bill?  Here we go…

 

MARIE ELENA’S BLOOM

Thanks to Sheryl Kay Oder for the “In this house” prompt idea.  It garnered well over 300 comments — a great success!  The poetry this week was outstanding, as always.  I’d like to highlight at least a handful of poems, but you know the rules.  I’ve never made it a secret how much I adore the work of De Miller JacksonGirl Next Door is a fine example of why.  De’s way with words always richly amazes and entertains – also no secret.  This week she has managed the idea of “show, don’t tell,” while leaving us wanting to know exactly what horrors took place in this house.  De, you may add yet another Bloom to your growing bouquet.

Girl Next Door (by De Miller Jackson, aka whimsygizmo)

In this house
(red brick, blue roof)
there was hope
and home
and apple pie
and one sneaky
tiny
little
lie.

In this house
there was fear
and dread
and doubt.

In this house
there were
17 windows
2 doors
and
no
way
out.

 

WILLIAM PRESTON’S FIRST HONORING OF A BLOOM

For my first Beautiful Bloom offering, I chose Walt Wojtanik‘s In This House. I chose this because, as I commented at the time I first saw it, it made me think of the phrase, “L’chaim,” owing to the words, “live well loved.” Although it speaks of doused fires, it also speaks of hopes that a return to normalcy will transpire. I read it therefore, as essentially a paean to life, despite the somber tome. It seemed to me to have more layers of meaning than what seemed obvious in its words. It invited me to read and re-read, and to think.

IN THIS HOUSE  (by Walt Wojtanik)

In this house, memories
nestled in every corner,
comforting mourners
of a live well loved.
Rooms, sealed and
secrets remain concealed
in hopes a return
to normalcy will transpire.
The home fires are doused,
and this house will be
devoid of any semblance
of thoughts in remembrance,
nestled in every corner.

Single Post Navigation

17 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #115

  1. Just wonderful news!!! Yay!! Four hearty cheers!! One for each of you who so graciously will keep the gates of this garden open, a truly wonderful intention indeed. Thank you ALL!!

    Congratulation to the beautiful blooms!!

    Big warm smiles for miles my friends!! 🙂

    • RJ Clarken on said:

      First, let me congratulate De and Walt for their Bloom awards. Both poems are perfect choices ‘in this house.’

      Second – Yay! I’m totally thrilled that William is gonna be planting new seeds in the garden. Awesome!

      Third – I’m really glad that Walt will at least be nearby. 😀

      And finally, I hope I can do Marie, Walt & the rest of you justice with my fun with forms challenges. ❤

  2. Wonderful news! I hope to be around more after Labor Day. This summer has been crazy.

  3. Congratulations to all! De, your poem is so striking – one that lodges in the brain long after the reading.

  4. Thank you so much, Marie and all. I’m honored, and thrilled to be alongside Walt.

    Walt’s poem is a perfect example of his continuing dance with internal rhyme. Just a beautiful piece.

    I feel so blessed to be here with all of you. Thank you for your continued commitment to this gorgeous growing garden of poets and poetry. And thank you to RJ and Bill for stepping up. 🙂

    RJ, there is no finer diva of form to step into those shoes. Your use of form astounds, astonishes, and when you use it alongside your sharp wit, brings forth uncontrollable laughter.

    Bill, I knew you for quite some time over at PA as PressOn, and marveled not only at your poetic talent, but your ability to comment with generosity, truth and a quiet eloquence. A fine, fine choice indeed. I look forward to reading more of your work.

  5. William Preston on said:

    Thank you, everybody, for your welcome. I agreed to submit some prompts because I love this site and would like to do something to help out at a time when Walt needs to step away for awhile. As Marie hinted, Walt is irreplaceable, and I regard my input as a kind of pinch-hitting. I hope it won’t be long till Walt can resume his former roles in full, but until then I will do my best. Marie and Walt will always have final approval of whatever I submit, and I think that’s how it should be. Although they developed this site as a way to encourage poets and thus probably do not think of it as “their baby,” I do think of it that way and will try to respect it accordingly.

  6. Bill, your comments–always so affirming and kind–and your own fine writing make you, RJ, and Marie a perfect triumvirate while Walt gets a rest. I’m looking forward to poeming with you all.

    And this week’s blooms, De and Walt, much deserved, both memorable pieces. I love this site and all that grows here.

  7. As seems my habit of late, I’m a bit tardy to the party…congrats to the well-earned blooms, bloomers De and Walt…I couldn’t agree more with both choices and for all of the reasons cited above.

    As Jane says, the triumvirate of Marie Elena, RJ, and William form the perfect team to undertake gardening duties while Walt rests and recuperates. RJ and William are great choices as their work,and work ethic, has shown consistently, here in the garden, and in other poetic paths on the net.

    Congrats to all of you and best of everything as you step into your new roles.

  8. Hi all.

    We’re poets. We’re supposed to be able to tap into and express our deepest selves; our fullest emotions. Right? Well, I’m struggling to even find my emotions, let alone own and express them. The mix of sadness for Walt’s need to step away for now; the utmost respect for his decision, the overwhelming support from all of you (ALL of you); the thrill and deep satisfaction of bringing RJ and Bill on board … so many strong emotions …

    This I do know: I’m thankful for every single one of you. I’m truly blessed.

    Marie Elena

  9. All my best to all of you …
    With love , peace and poetry …

  10. Lovely blooms!

  11. Congratulations to De and Walt! Both are wonderful poems. I saw De’s on her blog and had the same reaction Marie. Walt always has layers in his poetry that make you sit and sift 🙂

Plant your poem or comment here!

