POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #114

The only thing certain is nothing is certain.  We most certainly did not anticipate that our return from the beach would be followed by Walt’s need to step away from his garden post.  I am not entirely certain he will be able to read and choose a Bloom this week.  Peek through the garden gates from time-to-time today to see if a second Bloom is displayed.  One thing is certain: If he can, he certainly will.

 MARIE ELENA’S BEAUTIFUL BLOOM OF CHOICE

Confession:  I almost overlooked the one that ended up being my Bloom of choice – Something from Nothing, by Ellen Knight.  Ellen, this little poem of yours is jam-packed with wisdom, expressed so subtly that it is nearly missed.  Your form intrigues me, including the interaction and order of the final words of each stanza: “nothing,” “anything,” “something,” and “everything.”  In fact, a title change to Everything from Nothing would hold the same meaning, while keeping with the direction your poem follows.  Just a thought.   I’d love to see this in a publication for children.  Sheer excellence, Ellen.

Something From Nothing (by Ellen Knight, aka elishevasmom )

From the start I am small,
really nothing at all
But am also unique,
one-of-a kind, so to speak.
For without me (I am told)
the little space that I hold
would simply just fold
up to nothing.
 
There are people who find
that I’m not of their kind
And that I’ll “have to pay”
if I continue this way
And for those who don’t know,
there is no way I can show
them anything.
 
I have joy deep inside
I don’t purposely hide,
and for those who can see,
know it’s a big part of me.
But there are others who look
at the outside of the book
and don’t know that the pages
hold something.
 
Night and day do I yearn
that from all I should learn.
And the course of events
builds up lots of suspense.
And the more that I grow,
the less that I know.
For you see, I am small,
really nothing at all.
And that’s everything.
 

WALT’S FINAL BLOOM

Simply and succinctly, this poem by one of my favorite poets and people, states what this life is all about. A Lifetime of Improv by Paula Wanken,

A LIFETIME OF IMPROV by Paula Wanken

Why do we
bother to make plans?
Things change, or
obstacles
appear from out of nowhere…
we just improvise.

Congratulations to Ellen Knight and Paula Wanken

Single Post Navigation

22 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #114

  1. I love the rhythm and rhyme in this and the message as well. My favorite lines are;
    But there are others who look
    at the outside of the book
    and don’t know that the pages
    hold something.

    Congratulations, Ellen!

  2. I agree. Ellen your poem is a gem in both form and content. A real treasure.

  3. I love the hidden-ness within this poem…the first stanza reminds me of a cosmic event. Beautiful poem, Ellen!

  4. DebiSwim on said:

    Beautiful words to live by. Beautifully penned. Congratulations, Ellen!

  5. What a great poem! It matched Sinatra’s voice almost instantly and so perfectly, he was “singing it to me” as I was reading. I love the profoundness of simple words. Thank you, Ellen, and congratulations

  6. elishevasmom on said:

    Thank you all for your words of encouragement. They point out specific things, to help me learn what works, and what doesn’t. 🙂

  7. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Congratulations, Ellen, I just Loved your poem!!

  8. Congratulations, Paula!
    …But the line “Walt’s final bloom” sounds so sad.

  9. sheryl kay oder on said:

    I do hope Marie is right; once in a while Walt will peek in again with another beautiful bloom sometime. Final sounds too, well, final.

  10. Oh, my….so honored, Walt, to have my little shadorma selected. Thank you. (BTW, you’re one of my favorite poets and people, too! Thank you for all the encouragement and support.) 🙂 Be well…and don’t be a stranger. (Well, no stranger than we all already are!) 😉

  11. Congrats to Paula and Ellen, both wonderful poems.

  12. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Absolutely, Paula, Congratulations!!

  13. Iris D on said:

    Both poems are outstanding! Some weeks I am not able to read all the posts but read the blooms. Wow. Congratulations to Ellen and Paula.

  14. I nearly missed this, but I’m glad to catch up now. Two very deserving and talented poets. Beautiful work.

Plant your poem or comment here!

