POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

LIFE IS A BEACH – ALOHA! (GOODBYE) (PANTOUM)

July 31stAnd we end this month-long beach party the same way we started it, by saying “Aloha!”  Say goodbye this time: to the beach, summer or any friend you may have made on the sandy shore. Remember that there’s always another Aloha next year. Every ending is a new beginning, especially when it comes to Aloha!

***

KEEPING UP WITH THE WAVES

July 30 – Sunset

July 29 – Silhouette

July 28 – Driftwood

July 27 – Horizons

July 26 – Watersports

Single Post Navigation

191 thoughts on “LIFE IS A BEACH – ALOHA! (GOODBYE) (PANTOUM)

  1. William Preston on said:

    THE END OF THE AFFAIR

    I ache, these days, for summer’s gold
    when dreams, it seemed, could still come true;
    I had no fear of being bold;
    my only goal was loving you.

    When dreams, it seemed, could still come true,
    this beach was then a lighter place.
    My only goal was loving you:
    I longed for you, and your embrace.

    This beach was then a lighter place;
    the stars were bright, and all aligned;
    I longed for you, and your embrace,
    but you were of another mind.

    The stars were bright, and all aligned;
    I had no fear of being bold
    but you were of another mind.
    I ache, these days, for summer’s gold.

    copyright 2013, William Preston

  2. Marjory MT on said:

    Good things have an ending
    I lay watching for the moon
    as day to night is blending
    the stars will come soon

    I lay watching for the moon
    as it plays tag with a cloud
    the stars will come soon
    to make a silvery crowd.

    As it plays tag with a cloud
    the waves reflect the stars
    to make a silvery crowd
    along the wet sand bars.

    The waves reflect the stars
    as night critters creep
    along the wet sand bars
    spread out across the beach.

    As night critters creep,
    to find a safe repose
    spread out across the beach
    where no one else goes.

    To find a safe repose
    where they can lay at ease
    where no one else goes
    and feel the ocean breeze.

    Where they can lay at ease
    listening to the sound
    and feel the ocean breeze
    sweeps o’er the sandy mound.

    Listening to the sound
    when the night birds’ call
    sweeps o’er the sandy mound
    I can no longer stall.

    When the night birds’ call
    I raise up onto my feet
    I can no longer stall,
    a steady step I keep.

    I raise up onto my feet
    The moon is over head
    A steady step I keep
    I’m off to seek my bed.

    The moon is over head
    I leave my night post,
    I’m off to seek my bed ,
    rest sure o’ water host.

    I leave my night post,
    the moon light at my side
    rest sure o’ water host.
    the moon light is my guide.

    The moon light at my side
    as day to night is blending
    the moon light is my guide
    good things have an ending.

  3. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    I hate goodbyes… This has been an amazing month… Thank you Walt and Meg… And, of course, Thank you to everyone, you all made my days!!! 🙂 !!

  4. WE SAY GOODBYES

    We say our goodbyes
    assuming this may be the final end.
    And amidst our laughs and cries
    we walk away as better friends.

    Assuming this may be the final end,
    we reminisce about adventures shared.
    We walk away as better friends;
    we realize how much we’ve cared.

    We reminisce about adventures shared,
    and know our hearts are sweetly blessed,
    we realize how much we’ve cared
    now until the day we rest.

    Know our hearts are sweetly blessed
    and our souls have been as well,
    From now until life’s soft caress;
    until death’s fatal knell.

    Our souls have been as well
    connected, and conjoined in heart and mind
    until death’s fatal knell,
    these are the ties that bind.

    Connected and conjoined, in heart and mind
    and amidst our laughs and cries,
    These are the ties that bind,
    And we sadly say our goodbyes.

  5. AS DAYLIGHT FADES (dementia)

    As sun hangs low in summer’s sky,
    She ponders life, and wonders why
    Her neighbors seem a bit detached.
    Her heart’s perplexed; her socks, mismatched.

    She ponders life, and wonders why
    She can’t think up a sound reply.
    Her neighbors seem a bit detached.
    Her key’s misplaced; her door is latched.

    Her days and nights are poorly patched.
    Her key’s misplaced; her door is latched.
    She begs survival’s last goodbye,
    As sun hangs low in summer’s sky.

    © Copyright Marie Elena Good, 2013

  6. Life’s a Beach – Aloha 31 July

    “Aloha”

    And so, the old beach clock is chiming down.
    It’s time to say goodbye and leave this shore.
    He’s played the fool and knows he’s but a clown.
    But fantasies go deep and so he sighs.

    “Life’s granted me another twenty-four,”
    he tells bar tend, mid silence of the place.
    “A beautiful vacation this world needs;
    so, what do you think people ache most for?”

    “There’s power in more money, that’s for sure,”
    as barkeep nods at tourist tipping jar.

    “But dollar’s hapless in so grand a space.
    We’ve only moments on this beach of life.
    I’d give man mystery of Universe.
    So, for this time, a God we humans be!”

    That’s only well if there’s good memory!”
    says barkeep, shining up another glass.

    The old man falters as he starts to leave.
    He thinks he’s Bogie, in Key Largo, still.
    He’s lonely; haunts the bars for his Bacall.
    She’s blonde, resembles not his dear, dead wife.

    “Hey, better that you go before you fall!”

    Bartender opens creaking door to vent
    the scent of smoke and conversation stale.
    A pale and misty rain the morning’s sent.
    Now, napping clown; a cabby must be hailed.

    Then, blazing, morning light through open door,
    he squints a fond “Aloha” to this shore.

  7. William Preston on said:

    A PANTOUM FOR PATRICIA

    When last we said good-bye
    the birds had gone southwise,
    the haze in autumn’s sky
    brought pleasure to the eyes.

    The birds had gone southwise
    but remnants staying near
    brought pleasure to the eyes
    and music to the ear.

    But remnants staying near
    cannot console my rue
    and music to the ear
    does not compare to you;

    cannot console my rue.
    The sun’s last golden ray
    does not compare to you;
    I long for another day.

    The sun’s last golden ray;
    the haze in autumn’s sky,
    I long for another day
    when last we said good-bye

    copyright 2013, William Preston

  8. janeshlensky on said:

    Walt, this has been a heckuva good challenge. I’ve enjoyed reading everyone when I could and participating as well. I look forward to seeing some of these wonders put together so we can revisit summer in winter. Thanks.

    Adjustments

    We’ve packed our clothes and memories,
    another beach trip at an end.
    Let’s take our coffee, watch the seas
    of thought collide, like waves, and blend.

    Another beach trip at an end
    we’re getting used to in our heads,
    as thoughts collide, like waves, and blend
    like sunsets streaked with golds and reds.

    We’re getting used to in our heads
    trading the shore for traffic signs
    like sunsets streaked with golds and reds
    until our work and beach combines.

    Trading the shore for traffic signs,
    let’s savor one last walk on sand;
    until our work and beach combines,
    let’s pillage summer’s contraband.

    Let’s savor one last walk on sand.
    Let’s take our coffee, watch the seas.
    Let’s pillage summer’s contraband—
    we’ve packed our clothes and memories.

  9. DebiSwim on said:

    Back from the beautiful beach just in time for the last (sigh) challenge…

    The Hills and Sea and Me

    I love every shimmery, silver moment with you.
    Your liquescent siren’s song now lives in me
    as does the mountain’s gentle woo
    that calls me home to things deeper than the sea.

    Your liquescent Siren’s song now lives in me,
    You bid me come and still the mountains I adore
    call me home to things deeper than the sea,
    ground me, even as my heart and yours soar.

    You bid me come and still the mountains I adore
    enfold me, comfort me with a lover’s care,
    ground me, even as my heart and yours soar.
    Oh, hills and sea and me, menage a trois affair,

    Enfold me, comfort me with a lover’s care,
    as does the mountain’s gentle woo.
    Oh, hills and sea and me, ménage a trois affair –
    I love every shimmery, silver moment with you.

  10. Pingback: Summer Excursion | Metaphors and Smiles

  11. Summer Excursion
    ~
    It’s only goodbye
    just for a while,
    a short sigh-
    a simple smile.
    ~
    Just for a while
    remember me,
    a simple smile-
    summer glee.
    ~
    Remember me,
    sunshine bathed-
    summer glee-
    sea-salt crazed-
    ~
    sunshine bathed-
    kissed of tides-
    sea-salt crazed-
    briny plied…
    ~
    Kissed of tides-
    adorned of mist-
    briny plied
    and mermaid wished.
    ~
    Adorned of mist
    we’ve left our limbs
    and mermaid wished
    we’ve gained her fins-
    ~
    they carry us many miles…
    a short sigh
    beach-dream-style,
    it’s only goodbye.
    ~
    Copyright © Hannah Gosselin 2013

  12. Pingback: One (If By Sea) | echoes from the silence

    • My apologies for not following the form today. This poem was what emerged instead. I’ve never been successful at writing a Pantoum, so I’ll have to give it a go another time.

      ~

      ONE (If By Sea)

      From her own little tide pool,
      she watched him on land;
      she knew nothing of dirt,
      just the feeling of sand.

      They were worlds apart,
      more than an ocean’s divide.
      She wondered what would happen
      if their worlds would collide.

      One morning he saw her
      swimming at high tide.
      He watched her intently;
      on his breath, a soft sigh:

      the sun’s rising radiance
      matched only by her hair;
      the crystal blue sky
      reflected her eyes, so fair.

      He knew he must meet her,
      into the water he dove.
      He swam to her side,
      through the depths of the cove.

      This man of her dreams
      she happily discovered,
      was all she had longed for –
      her best friend and her lover.

      Their bond grew deeper
      as time (too quickly) passed.
      They had needed each other –
      a soul mate, at last.

      As long as was possible
      he stayed by her side,
      treading the waters
      of low and high tide.

      Yet with worlds so different
      that neither could cross,
      he had to leave her,
      in spite of their loss.

      He returned to his world
      of dirt, grass and trees,
      and she remained alone,
      alone in the sea.

      2013-07-31
      P. Wanken

  13. connielpeters on said:

    It’s been a fun month. Thanks Walt and Marie. And thanks to all who commented on my poems. Sorry I haven’t commented much but I have read a lot of your great poems.

  14. connielpeters on said:

    Summer Goodbyes

    It’s been a great summer at the beach
    And now it’s time to say goodbye
    Finding moon and stars within reach
    So we say adieu with a sigh

    And now it’s time to say goodbye
    To every smiling, sunburned face
    So we say adieu with a sigh
    Even sea creatures have their place

    To every smiling, sunburned face
    To building castles in the sand
    Even sea creatures have their place
    And lighthouses no longer manned

    To building castles in the sand
    To driftwood washed in rolling wave
    And lighthouses no longer manned
    To tan lifeguards who watch and save

    To driftwood washed in rolling wave
    To picnics, sand toys and beach balls
    To tan lifeguards who watch and save
    To sea weed, sea shells and seagulls

    To picnics, sand toys and beach balls
    And romantic swims in the night
    To sea weed, sea shells and seagulls
    From quaint theme parks to paradise

    And romantic swims in the night
    It’s been a great summer at the beach
    From quaint theme parks to paradise
    Finding moon and stars within reach

  15. Parting With You

    And so
    The end has come;
    I can hold back my tears,
    But they still shine inside my eyes…
    Goodbye…

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2013

  16. On Holding Her Breath Until Morning
    (a Pantoum)

    Aloha to the sun,
    aloha to the tide.
    Spilled and saved and spun,
    wave’s lullaby.

    Aloha to the tide,
    farewell to the moon.
    Wave’s lullaby
    will be here soon.

    Farewell to the moon,
    mirrored on the sea.
    We’ll be here soon,
    just you and me.

    Mirrored on the sea,
    spilled and saved and spun:
    Just you and me.
                                    Aloha to the sun.

    .

  17. Pingback: On Holding Her Breath Until Morning | Whimsygizmo's Blog

  18. Goodbye Isn’t An End

    Goodbye isn’t an end,
    So dry those countless tears;
    It’s merely a new bend
    In the path of your years;

    So dry those countless tears,
    You’ve taken the next step
    In the path of your years,
    Goodbye is a good prep;

    You’ve taken the next step,
    Although it’s always rough,
    Goodbye is a good prep,
    It’ll stop soon enough;

    Although it’s always rough,
    Goodbye isn’t an end,
    It’ll stop soon enough:
    It’s merely a new bend.

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2013

  19. William Preston on said:

    I just wanted to add my tanks to you, Walt and Marie, for this challenge. Supposedly this is a break from the usual routine you follow, but it seems to me that it takes more work than usually for both of you. Some vacation.

    However, for me this has been fun and a true challenge.

  20. July 31st Life’s a Beach – Aloha

    I cast my flower in Aloha sea.
    I want to leave the soul of me behind;
    Upon that beach, where, left in memory,
    beloved glances from your eyes divine.

    I want to leave the soul of me behind;
    forever run along that sandy stretch,
    beloved glances from your eyes divine
    as bright, as shining harbor waters fetch.

    Forever run along that sandy stretch;
    the two of us remaining, free and wild
    as bright, as shining harbor waters fetch.
    So did we play as children for awhile.

    The two of us remaining, free and wild;
    perhaps we’ll ‘ner be forced to say goodbye.
    So did we play as children for awhile
    where, ‘ner lets go infinity of sighs.

    Perhaps we’ll ‘ner be forced to say goodbye
    upon that beach, where, left in memory;
    where, ‘ner lets go infinity of sighs;
    I cast my flower in Aloha sea.

    (a new form for me, the Pantoum. Thanks, ME and Walt. You cause me to push myself which, I’m sure, is a good thing…)

  21. Getting rid of that ‘ner (lol). Better: “Perhaps we’re never forced to say goodbye.” Sometimes, the Victorians call me too much, lol, as I am sure William would agree.

  22. PARTING PANTOUM

    I walked up to the waters edge
    one more time to bend
    and pick up shells from sandy ledge
    before vacation’s end.

    I strolled again along the shore
    with sand between my toes.
    I couldn’t love the ocean more,
    the salt air in my nose.

    I waved goodbye to gull and tern
    and watched the setting sun
    that yesterday gave me a burn
    and ruined all my fun.

    Then at night I headed home
    and left the sea behind
    no matter, now, how far I roam,
    no better place I’ll find.

  23. At Summer’s End

    Watch the orange setting sun
    Say good-bye to the beach
    Our summer has been lots of fun
    Say so long to the seagull’s screech

    We say good-bye to the beach
    Shake out the last grains of sand
    Say so long to the seagull’s screech
    Farewell to the ocean’s roar

    Shake out the last grains of sand
    Recap your tube of lotion
    Farewell to the ocean’s roar
    Remember the tidal wave’s motion

    Recap your tube of lotion
    Our summer has been lots of fun
    Remember the tidal wave’s motion
    Watch the orange setting sun

  24. Pingback: WE SAY GOODBYES | THROUGH THE EYES OF A POET'S HEART

  25. Aloha!

    The time has come to say goodbye
    moving on to whatever may come next,
    I’ll miss your breathy, evening sigh
    but not your mosquito subjects.

    Moving on to whatever may come next,
    I’ll dream of the calling loons
    but not your mosquito subjects.
    I wish to see them only in cartoons.

    I’ll dream of the calling loons
    long after winter has set in,
    I wish to see them only in cartoons
    until summer can begin.

    Long after winter has set in
    I’ll miss your breathy, evening sigh
    until summer can begin…
    the time has come to say goodbye.

  26. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Life

    Hello…..goodbye…..hello….hello…..goodbye, goodbye. Hello….hello, goodbye……hello, hello,goodbye,hellogoodbye……
    Aloha…(?)

  27. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    The Long Goodbye

    It seems we always say goodbye
    You at the airport, me at home.
    Can’t wait to hear your breathless “hi”,
    as you pick up the telephone.

    You at the airport, me at home
    I twirl the cord, imagine us
    as you pick up the telephone
    Instead, you’re there, in such a rush

    I twirl the cord, imagine us
    Preparing dinner, side by side
    Instead you’re there, in such a rush
    …it seems…we always…say…goodbye.

    • Henrietta Choplin on said:

      I forgot to credit my inspirational song: “…And try to believe/That the sweetest hello/Always comes after/The hardest goodbye”, “Two-way Waltz”, Kate Wolf

Plant your poem or comment here!

