POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #107

This week we played the Name Game. We weeded through the different words and phrases found in our names to construct our poems. It was a bit more labor intensive, but whatever doesn’t give you writer’s block, only makes you stronger. Now, let’s give names to our beautiful blooms:

MARIE ELENA’S PICK:

This was tough.  Tougher for some of us than others.  😉  I’m amazed at how many managed coherent, engaging, flowing poetry with limited letters with which to work.  A high five to ALL of you for putting your work out here!

My Bloom this week goes to Earl James Parsons for “Rest.”  Even though Earl had only nine letters with which to work, he managed to pen a poem that is relevant to recent events, tells a complete story, speaks of an issue that is important to him, incorporates a creative title, and flows flawlessly.  Amazing job, Earl.

Rest (by Earl James Parsons)

Terror spears Easterners
Narrators report plots
Reasoners pose reasons
Press repeats treasons
Appeasers report errors
Errors entrap appeasers
Snares snarl serpents
Easterners rest

WALT’S BLOOM:

The trick to this exercise is to make the words as seamless as possible. This gave us many variations of words and the phrases as many had admitted, were useless for the most part. This piece stood out for me because of the content and the poet. The poem reads like a prayer. And knowing Earl Parsons had written it says the poem was truly his style. He earned this BLOOM for its cohesion  and heart.

Amen (by Earl James Parsons)

Reason ransoms reason
Pen pens poems
Personal responses leap
Prose presses psalms
Lessons
Sermons
Pleas
Solemn reason
Open ears
Realness
No more remorse
No more alarm
No more snares
No more alone
Amen

 

Well, well, well.  Once again we chose the same poet.  But this time, we chose different poems.  Well done, Earl.   Well done. 

Single Post Navigation

12 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #107

  1. Awesome work Earl…doubly so…congratulations!!

  2. Now that takes talent! Congrats!

  3. “No more remorse…no more alone” – Amen, indeed. Congratulations, Earl.

  4. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    How wonderful, both poems, Congratulations, Earl!!

  5. Congratulations on your double whammy, Earl! Both are wonderful poems.

  6. As one who found this not only Herculean, but impossible, I bow to your well-deserved double blooms Earl…these are both amazing. Congrats!

  7. claudsy on said:

    Ah, Earl, you’ve managed to do what many of us struggled with. You pulled short poems that smacked of major impact, from few words or lines; each lovely, each poignant.

    Congratulations, Earl. Well deserved blooms for you.

  8. Marie and Walt – Thanks for the honor of being fought over. haha. No, Seriously, it is an honor to be selected once, let alone twice.

    And thanks to everyone else for their kind words.

  9. William Preston on said:

    I’d like to add my congratulations too. This was a tough exercise, at least to me, and I admire what you did. In fact, I’m a bit flabbergasted. Your achievement reminds me of a physicist friend of mine, who, faced with a successful product such as a tiny terabyte drive, used to say, “I don’t think they can do it!”

  10. sheryl kay oder on said:

    Congratulations, Earl. I especially liked Amen.

  11. Earl, great job. My name was impossible to get anything good… here is my offering for Really. Bad. Poetry. So bad, in fact, that I cannot bring myself to post it on my blog!! Amy

    Me, Bad

    I’m a cup of coffee
    I’m a glass of milk
    Staring out the window
    at the passing ilk

    I’m the bowl and pitcher
    on the table stand
    I will crack if dropped real hard and
    break at your command

    I am sad as the navel
    on a preg-stretched tummy
    and as full of noisy crap
    as a seashore rummy

    All this is to say that I
    think about me a lot
    So take the best and leave the rest
    because the rest is rot

    © 2013 Amy Barlow Liberatore/Sharp Little Pencil

  12. Earl, congratulations! Those are two beautiful poems. It’s quite a talent to create two lovely poems from that word jumble. I did the jumble and realized nothing good would come from those words:-)

Plant your poem or comment here!

