POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

SPAM, SPAM, SPAM, SPAM, SPAM,…

We’re getting inundated with a massive amount of spam on our site. They are getting held up for approval at a rate of 83 to 100 at a time. I’m clearing it 4 or 5 times daily. These seem to be attaching themselves to the comments on the MEMOIR PROJECT CHAPBOOKS already published. Most specifically, YOLO (my book) I am closing the comments section on the older books, and keeping the newest open to monitor the situation. Thank you for your patience and understanding in this matter. Walt.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “SPAM, SPAM, SPAM, SPAM, SPAM,…

  1. Eewww…how infuriating!! That was with the Marvin the Martian accent….really though, bummer, Walt…and I hope that it’s remedied soon. :)’s

  2. This is so annoying! I had the same problem not long ago (not on the same scale, but still, my normally quite modest traffic sky rocketed because of the comments from Anonymous, and they all were on the same post, too.) I had to deactivate the ‘anonymous’ option, and that took care of the spam. Good luck!

  3. Walt, we’re getting more than either you or I realized then, as I’ve been clearing them out a few times per day as well. I was going to say something to you, but hadn’t gotten around to it yet.

    Thanks for taking this action. Good call.

    Marie Elena

  4. I understand your frustration !! I am an administrator at poeticdueling.com and I had to give up on trying to eliminate spam because I can only delete 20 at a time and have approximately 193,000 spam comments pending !!

  5. I act on the assumption that everything in the comment section is spam, since everyone who normally posts/comments are “registered” to do so. I your comments go unposted, e-mail me with your screen name/email address and I’ll flag them for approval. Thanks for co-operating. Walt

    • sheryl kay oder on said:

      Not everyone who comments is registered, however. Barbara, a friend of mine, commented on my memoir. Considering I had answered her, you should know it was not SPAM, however.

      Sorry you have to deal with this. 😦

  6. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Thank you, Walt, for taking care of this situation!!

  7. How terrible! All I can say is, some people sure have a lot of time on their hands; and an interesting idea of how to spend it. Thanks for letting us know, Walt.

  8. These “attacks” seem to focus on older submissions. As I get a spam, I close the comments on that posting. Since I closed off theses comments, The number dropped to one or two a day (as opposed to the few hundred Marie and I are deleting.

Plant your poem or comment here!

