POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

IN-FORM POET WEDNESDAY – KYRIELLE SONNET

A Kyrielle Sonnet consists of 14 lines (three rhyming quatrain stanzas and  a non-rhyming couplet). Just like the traditional Kyrielle poem, the Kyrielle Sonnet also has a repeating line or phrase as a refrain (usually appearing  as the last line of each stanza). Each line within the Kyrielle Sonnet consists of only eight syllables. French poetry forms have a tendency to link back to the beginning of the poem, so common practice is to use the first and last line of the first quatrain as the ending couplet. This would also re-enforce the refrain within the poem. Therefore, a good rhyming scheme for a Kyrielle Sonnet would be:

AabB, ccbB, ddbB, AB -or- AbaB, cbcB, dbdB, AB.

(Thanks to Shadow Poetry:  http://www.shadowpoetry.com/resources/wip/kyriellesonnet.html)

MARIE ELENA’S ATTEMPT:

MY LORD AND SAVIOR, JESUS CHRIST  (A Kyrielle Sonnet)

Creator, Father, Lord of all,
Your Son submitted to Your call,
Abandoning His throne above,
How can I best express my love?
 
His sacred hands nailed to a tree,
He bore my punishment for me –
An act I am unworthy of,
How can I best express my love?
 
He conquered death, that I might live –
A gift that only He could give.
God’s Son again enthroned above,
How can I best express my love?
 
Creator, Father, Lord of all,
How can I best express my love?

© Copyright Marie Elena Good – 2013

WALT’S KYRIELLE SONNET:

A GAME OF SHINNY

The snow folk come from miles around,
they come to share the sights and sounds,
to fill the bleachers; see the show,
here on the northern ice and snow.

 Elves on ice with their hockey sticks,
the “Frozen Caribou” are quick,
fast up the wing to score, you know
here on the northern ice and snow.

 This fast-paced game I do enjoy;
a happy break from making toys,
I’m Santa Claus, I watch them go,
here on the northern ice and snow.

 The snow folk come from miles around
here on the northern ice and snow.

© Copyright Walter J Wojtanik 2013

 

Robert Lee Brewer’s Wednesday prompt is up.  While you’re out-&-about, walk on over there and write him a walking poem:  http://www.writersdigest.com/whats-new/wednesday-poetry-prompts-215#comment-3384673

 

Single Post Navigation

72 thoughts on “IN-FORM POET WEDNESDAY – KYRIELLE SONNET

  1. First time I’ve written a sonnet of any kind, so bear with me here. Please?

    Lost in His Eyes

    I’m a romantic, hopelessly
    Imagining soft moon-starlight,
    Walking hand in hand, blissfully,
    Lost in his eyes, dark as midnight.

    I’m a romantic, dreaming of
    His arms around me as twilight
    Surrounds us, wishing for his love,
    Lost in his eyes, dark as midnight;

    Hearing him whisper in my ear
    That he loves me, under starlight,
    Seeing just us two, alone here,
    Lost in his eyes, dark as midnight.

    I’m a romantic, hopelessly
    Lost in his eyes, dark as midnight

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2013

  2. That’s a wonderful first sonnet! I love the romance of it and the rhythm you have achieved: astonishing in a syllable-counting poem.

    Here’s mine, revised from an earlier Kyrielle to make it octosyllabic and with a final couplet to make it into a quasi sonnet

    Kyrielle Sonnet

    Wind of morning, rain of the night
    clouded skies bring grey all day
    Are we really midway through May?
    Climate change is so impolite.

    Pull on those sweaters packed away
    for summer warmth that does not come.
    To find some heat go to Bombay.
    Climate change, why d’you make us glum?

    Where have the summer flowers gone?
    Killed by frost or snow, hail or drought,
    missing sunlight that never shone.
    Climate change, please go walkabout.

    Wind of morning, rain of the night;
    climate change: please go walkabout.

  3. I love Kyrielles and Kyrielle Sonnets! I’ll be back later to pen & post. But right now, gotta get ready for school, gotta get the kidlets ready for school – and gotta give the kidlets some bigtime birthday cheer. (My son and daughter are 13 years old today!) ♥

  4. Please, Mr. Sun

    Spring celebrates her opening day
    Warm weather seems so far away
    The sunshine bright, a sky of blue
    Please, Mr. Sun, we depend on you

    The earth lies bare, awaits your touch
    Of warmth – oh, you could do so much
    To make our warm weather dreams come true
    Please, Mr. Sun, we depend on you.

    We want to see the flowers bloom
    We want to decorate each room
    And celebrate this season, new
    Please Mr. Sun, we depend on you.

    Spring celebrates her opening day
    Please Mr. Sun, why won’t you stay?

    I used the title of an old Johnnie Ray song which had been quickly forgotten. But it is the way I feel today. First day of Spring and it is below freezing in Ohio.
    I also changed the last line a bit so it would rhyme. It seems more sonnet-like that way, even if it is breaking the rules.

  5. Kyrielle Sonnet, 14 lines, rhyme: AabB;ccbB;ddbB;AB

    “Remembrance”

    I keep you in my warm embrace
    though you are gone another place.
    Above, where only birdies sing
    with song of love’s remembering.

    I see your face in all that’s true:
    the sunlight reminisces you;
    the feathered edge of raindrop’s ping
    with song of love’s remembering.

    I hear your voice in turtle doves
    that whimper when they sing of love
    An old, old story I still ring
    with song of love’s remembering.

    I keep you in my warm embrace
    with song of love’s remembering.

  6. Waiting for Green Grace (also for Sunday’s prompt)

    Fresh white grace covers cold dullness
    Of winter’s frayed and faded fling
    We dream of emerald fullness
    As eagerly we wait for spring

    White as snow, that is the promise
    Of God’s pure grace-gift offering
    Yet, we long for verdant gladness
    As eagerly we wait for spring

    Now the landscape is a river
    Argent above the whispering
    Of green seas she will deliver
    As eagerly we wait for spring

    Fresh white grace covers cold dullness
    As eagerly we wait for spring

    © Janet Martin

    We are definitely on a ‘theme’ today;) Kicked off with the glorious hope in Marie’s beaut.then, Walt, I heard, felt every syllable of that game of shinny! Sonnet is my all-time fav. form

  7. A KYRIELLE OF LOST LOVE

    I was not home to take the call.
    Her voice said “Hi” and that was all.
    I was out working at the mall!
    She phoned but never left her name.

    Her voice was sweet, a kind of drawl.
    She sounded pretty, somewhat tall.
    I drew her picture on my wall.
    She phoned but never left her name.

    My brother thinks I took the fall,
    That love has hooked me chain and ball.
    Perhaps he’s right, but he’s got gall!
    She phoned but never left her name.

    I was not home to take the call.
    She phoned but never left her name.

    #

  8. claudsy on said:

    You all know how deficient I am with meter, but I’ll take another crack at it. Walt and Marie, you always set us a challenge and then you rise well above it to show us how it’s done so effortlessly. I’d like to whine about fairness, but honesty prevents that show of petty envy.Here’s my attempt for the day’s challenge.

    Star Shine

    They come upon a midnight clear
    Stars in Heaven I hold dear,
    A dark night’s final back-up clause,
    Of sparkled light that gives me pause.

    On moonless nights of dark declared
    I stand naked beneath–soul bared;
    The night now comes alive because
    Of sparkled light that gives me pause.

    My soul song lifts above land‘s scroll,
    To swoop and soar, to be made whole
    In night’s forests hear my applause
    Of sparkled light that gives me pause.

    They come upon a midnight clear,
    Sparkles of light to give me pause.

  9. Pingback: Poetry Wednesday–Three for the Price of One | Two Voices, One Song

  10. Gone

    I didn’t cry when he left home.
    He had to learn to live alone
    without the help of womankind—
    no one to blame, no fault to find.

    Her only son had grown into
    a hateful pampered point of view.
    Far better to escape the grind,
    no one to blame, no fault to find.

    “I raised him to treat women well,”
    she said, seeing my life was hell.
    His condescension, she designed:
    no one to blame, no fault to find.

    I didn’t cry when he left home;
    No one to blame, no fault to find.

  11. DebiSwim on said:

    Blue Willow Blues

    Wind in the willow sweetly sighs
    wispy whispers, sibilant, shy
    under a placid sky of blue
    for love requited, tried but true

    Koong Shee to another was sworn
    and cruelly from Chang’s arms was torn
    by father’s rash pride gone askew
    for love requited, tried but true

    There didn’t seem to be much hope
    except run away and elope
    death took pity and changed them to doves
    for love requited, tried but true

    Wind in the willow sweetly sighs
    for love requited, tried but true

  12. Such lovely Kyrielle Sonnets! You all are such a delight!

    Marie Elena

  13. At The Beach With Dad

    Those summer days spent at Riis Park
    beach, happy as a meadowlark,
    swinging metal shovel and pail.
    You, Dad, at my side without fail

    Collecting shells along the shore,
    waves rolling in with mighty roar,
    lotion-swathed face, my skin still pale.
    You, Dad, at my side without fail

    Scooping mud into castles, grand
    Our hard boiled eggs had bits of sand
    Sat on towels, your cigar in hand
    You, Dad, at my side without fail

    Those summer days spent at Riis Park
    You, Dad, at my side without fail

  14. Red is Deep Love

    Roses each have tales of their own:
    Pink is for sweetness, pain unknown,
    Fresh and graceful, innocence fleet;
    But red is deep love, strong and sweet.

    Yellow is joy: crisp, bright sunshine,
    Yellow is happy: bliss divine,
    Laughing and talking, life’s a treat;
    But red is deep love, strong and sweet.

    White is sorrow, pain and hardship,
    Pale as death, the bitter cup’s sip,
    To place on graves at loved one’s feet;
    But red is deep love, strong and sweet.

    Roses each have tales of their own,
    But red is deep love, strong and sweet.

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2013

  15. Little Things

    Place little things in God’s large hands
    He knows all things and understands
    Don’t wait until the problem’s tall
    He’s big enough to care for small

    Spend hours in His Holy Word
    Each hair is known, each prayer is heard.
    The Lord has love for one and all
    He’s big enough to care for small

    Love Jesus in Your thoughts and prayer
    He never leaves. He’s always there.
    He’ll pick you up each time you fall
    He’s big enough to care for small

    Place little things in God’s large hands
    He’s big enough to care for small

  16. Roaring Lion

    By David De Jong

    The lion stalks the path at night
    Taste my soul would be his delight
    Darkness hides his silent demise
    All I hear are his ceaseless lies

    In my weakness he gains my trust
    It pleases him to watch me rust
    As a thief the latches he pries
    All I hear are his ceaseless lies

    He waits his most opportune time
    Weaving a shiftless paradigm
    Self doubt, depression, all his spies
    All I hear are his ceaseless lies

    The lion stalks the path at night
    All I hear are his ceaseless lies

  17. Twenty Third

    By David De Jong

    In pastures green near waters still
    Surrounded in peace of His will
    Secure in Christ my hope I place
    My Shepherd leads to saving grace

    Valley of shadows, death beware
    Carried in righteousness I dare
    His rod His staff provides my base
    My Shepherd leads to saving grace

    His goodness, his love, overflows
    Held eternal, unending rows
    He takes me to His Holy place
    My Shepherd leads to saving grace

    In pastures green near waters still
    My Shepherd leads to saving grace

  18. For some reason, this one was difficult. Of course, the fact that I’ve been working day and night lately didn’t help. I know; excuses are for wimps.

    For Love of Country

    America, the Beautiful
    A land with freedoms plentiful
    A shining beacon on a hill
    Where hopes mature and dreams fulfill

    I love this land where I live free
    The land of opportunity
    Where all men can pursue their will
    Where hopes mature and dreams fulfill

    America will never die
    As long as freedom’s colors fly
    No tyranny can break our will
    Where hopes mature and dreams fulfill

    I’d give my life for freedom’s fight
    Liberty’s light must shine on bright
    My love for country well instilled
    Where hopes mature and dreams fulfill

    America, the Beautiful
    Where hopes mature and dreams fulfill

  19. ejparsons on said:

    Another Road

    Had I traveled another road
    Oh the stories I might have told
    What adventures I might have seen
    What, oh what could I have been

    If I could see what I would be
    Had I lived life differently
    Would I do things over again
    What, oh what could I have been

    Would I have been a millionaire
    A spy that travels everywhere
    Perhaps the coolest on the scene
    What, oh what could I have been

    A millionaire, a spy, or cool
    Who is it I’m trying to fool
    What’s done is done, know what I mean
    What, oh what could I have been

    Had I traveled another road
    What, oh what could I have been

  20. A New Song Never Remains the Same

    “The only thing better than singing is more singing.” ~Ella Fitzgerald

    A melody is waiting…hum…
    I sing a note. I softly strum
    my six-string, which accompanies
    my voice, my song. It somehow frees

    my soul. And I’m…overtaken
    by the music I’ve been makin’.
    All background noise must now appease
    my voice, my song. It somehow frees

    my spirit, and it resonates
    with each sound. Singing? It creates
    a memory. The song’s reprise?
    my voice, my song. It somehow frees…

    A melody is waiting…hum…
    my voice, my song. It somehow frees.

    ###

  21. My poem is at
    http://invacuoreticent@blogspot.com
    I know I am very late…enjoyed writing to the Kyrielle sonnet form.

  22. I know this web page offers quality dependent articles or reviews and other information, is there
    any other website which offers these kinds of data
    in quality?

Plant your poem or comment here!

