POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

IN-FORM POET WEDNESDAY – EPULAERYU

The “Epulaeryu” poem is about delicious food. It consists of seven lines with thirty-three (33) syllables. The first line has seven syllables, the second line five, the third line seven, the fourth line five, the fifth line five, the sixth line three, and the seventh line has only one syllable which ends with an exclamation mark. Each line has one thought relating to the main course. Therefore, this new poetic form, the Epulaeryu, which has corresponding lines built around the main course, and ending with an exclamation point, concludes with the ending line expressing the writer’s excitement and feelings about the poem.

MARIE ELENA’S TREAT:

MOLTEN CHOCOLATE CAKE (Epulaeryu)

Chocolate volcano cake
Rich and decadent
Pudding-like dark chocolate
Oozing from center
Allergies dictate
I must say
No!
 
© Copyright Marie Elena Good – 2013

WALT’S DIVERSION:

FISH FRY (Epulaeryu)

Broiled or breaded, it said
with fries on the side.
Cole slaw or macaroni/
potato salad.
The true Polish way.
“Two to go!”
Yum!

© Copyright Walter J. Wojtanik – 2013

Single Post Navigation

153 thoughts on “IN-FORM POET WEDNESDAY – EPULAERYU

  1. Oh Marie! You’re making my mouth water! Stop! 😉

    Walt, that sounds like a splendid meal!

  2. This prompt came in the nick of time. I’ve been making fruit bars lately for my snacks…or breakfast or whatever. They are so good and simple! But they don’t last long around here cause my dad and older sister love them! 😉

    DELICIOUS

    Dates and walnuts, dried cherries,
    Mix em together,
    Form in bars, refrigerate;
    Tangy and sticky,
    Healthy and yummy;
    I must have
    One!

    © Copyright Erin Kay Hope – 2013

    (My dad always has me put coconut on his. That’s really good too!)

  3. Marjory M Thompson on said:

    What a tasty set of examples you all provide – Marie, Walt and Erin.

  4. Marjory M Thompson on said:

    Mom’s holiday mincemeat pie,
    golden, flaky crust,
    spicy scents waffling through air
    sensual attack
    on helpless mortals as the
    effusive ice cream
    invites the lips to
    caress bliss.
    Woo!

  5. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Oh, yummy subject!!

    • Henrietta Choplin on said:

      Thanks, Meg and Walt… all of this sweetness had me running to the store for brown sugar to bake some cookies for my Grandkids!! 🙂 !!

  6. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Sunday Drive Snack

    Sunflower butter smoothed on
    Granny Smith slices,
    sprinkled with little raisins
    Delicately set
    on a peach napkin…
    With a kiss
    Bliss!!

  7. GREEN HEAVEN

    She stirs warm green pashminas
    of sun-drenched basil,
    into misty verde days,
    snowy Parmesan
    drifts into pasta.
    Heaven can’t
    wait!

  8. FOOD FOR ALL

    “Bring me your famished, bellies
    bloated, growling from
    deep empty pits: ‘Please feed us!’
    Bring them! I am wheat,
    rice, corn in the fields.
    food for
    all.”

    #

  9. DebiSwim on said:

    Soup Bean

    Nothing can beat pinto beans,
    With chow chow on top.
    A side of fried tators, please
    And green cabbage slaw.
    Cornbread and butter.
    Southern folks
    Fare!

    • Wow! Pinto beans are amazing, and that sounds sooo good! Especially with the green cabbage slaw. Yummy! Very well written, Debi. You definitely make me want some! 🙂

    • Henrietta Choplin on said:

      Yum… this sounds very warm and filling… !

    • claudsy on said:

      This takes me home, Debi. Are you sure you didn’t know my mom? Chow Chow is good, but I always preferred pickled stuffed bell peppers. I thoroughly enjoyed this poem. Thank you for giving me a taste of home.

      • DebiSwim on said:

        Claudsy, I made supper one time for a couple I’d just met who lived in “upper state” NY (that’s how they always said it). He had never heard of pinto beans and was a little skeptical of my meal. But, afterwards he said it was delicious (and he ate like he meant it). They are a staple in this house.

        • claudsy on said:

          I grew up in Indiana and Kentucky, so we always had beans on the table, of one kind or another. When I read your poem, I could see it on Mom’s table and us all around. Thanks for the memory. It was very welcome today.

    • Debi, sounds fantastic! I am so hungry now!

    • In your great poem, Debi, you’ve given me several more reasons to love the South, especially pinto beans and cornbread!

    • Marjory M Thompson on said:

      Yes, go for the pintos!

  10. BABY CARROTS

    baby carrots dressed in orange
    sweeter than candy
    orangier than Halloween.
    Peeled, cut and steamed,
    slicked light with honey
    and gleaming
    bright!

  11. CHEESECAKE (Epulaeryu)

    Cheesecake topped with strawberries
    and some sweet whipped cream
    is lusciously decadent
    but quite healthy too
    due to all the fruit.
    (Keep thinking
    that!)

    ###

  12. “Cotton Candy”

    Oh, bold, balloon`ed creature
    upon a pink stick.
    Too thick, too thick to swallow
    the swell of circus
    imagination
    the sweetest
    taste!

    (Epulaeryu;7/5/7/5/5/3/1)

  13. claudsy on said:

    You know, don’t you, that there will be recipes flying through wires everywhere because of this prompt. All good, I say. Thanks, Walt and Marie for this fun challenge. I have to remember this one.

    Belgian Chocolate/Coconut Cheesecake (Epulaeryu)

    Carried on a china plate,
    Creamed Belgian delight,
    Coconut hints woven through,
    To texture smooth bites
    Of luscious cheesecake.
    Fanfare please—
    Yay!

  14. BUTTER TARTS–EPULAERYU POEM

    Butter tarts Canadian
    Delight to devour
    Melt-in-your mouth syrupy
    Baked pastry, filled shells
    Sunday night dessert
    Delicious
    Treat!

    © 2013 Patricia Anne McGoldrick

  15. Pingback: Poetry’s Wednesday Delights | Two Voices, One Song

  16. The humble, boiled potato
    Deemed the beggars fare
    Seems ordinary, simple
    Until sprinkled with
    Rich, hearty laughter
    And chatter.
    Love!

    Yes, we’re having potatoes for supper:)

  17. Gobs

    Chocolate cake sandwiches
    Icing filled middles
    Western Pennsylvanians “Gobs”
    Eastern “Whoopie pies”
    Pumpkin flavored, too
    Gobs of gobs
    Mmmm!

  18. Marie, you made my mouth water!

    Always In Season

    That smell of frying eggplant
    seasoned and breaded,
    pot of sauce bubbling on stove,
    grated parmesan,
    fresh mozzarella.
    Layer bake;
    Feast!

  19. Love from Mom

    By David De Jong

    After school everyday
    Fresh pot loose leaf tea
    Slices warm homemade white bread
    Butter churned today
    Maybe slice of cheese
    Love from Mom
    Home!

  20. Before Starbucks

    By David De Jong

    Sunday mornings after church
    Strong, hot, Dutch coffee
    Mom’s fresh homemade pastry puffs
    Stuffed full fresh whipped cream
    Dollop in coffee
    Mother knew
    Best!

    So many great memories are accompanied by great food.
    You can tell how much you are loved by how wonderful the food tastes/tasted – even when its a simple slice of bread.

  21. DebiSwim on said:

    Lovely, David, though I think I’ve gained five pounds just from savoring all these delectable poems. Maybe we shouldn’t do this form for awhile after this. ; )

  22. ejparsons on said:

    Thanksgiving

    Waking up Thanksgiving morn
    To familiar scents
    Only present once each year
    Messing with my head
    Waiting is torture
    But I must
    Wait

  23. ejparsons on said:

    The Copy

    My favorite dish from Grandma
    Macaroni stew
    I had eaten it for years
    I could duplicate
    It can’t be that hard
    Just one taste
    Yuck!!

  24. Chip Addict (Epulaeryu)

    Potato chips I do love,
    Taste that I so crave.
    Crunchy, salty, flavorful,
    Plain or with some dip,
    Morning, noon or night.
    Anytime,
    Now!

    © Kelly E. Donadio – March 2013

  25. MAPLE LEAF FOREVER

    I love Canadian bacon
    Fried up on a bun
    Crispy edged, dipped in ketchup
    Maple-flavoured too
    I can smell it now
    Yum!

  26. I had to stop reading – after travelling all day, they were making me too hungry! I did write a couple on the plane:

    Lobster is food of the rich
    glorious flavour
    eaten five times in my life.
    I wish to eat it
    just once more before
    my time runs
    out!

    *

    A seriously sinful
    chocolate orange cake
    topped with Grand Marnier Ganache
    woos gallant strong men
    to deeds of glory
    and derring
    do!

    (ie moving my piano!)

Plant your poem or comment here!

