POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #92

I was only a matter of time that POETIC BLOOMINGS had gone to the birds. And we have amazingly amassed nearly 600 poems/comments at this writing. We are growing by leaps and bounds and Marie and I couldn’t be more pleased. You are all the reason that this place flourishes like it does. Thank you all for your continued support, encouragement and most importantly, your talents. To the BLOOMS:

MARIE ELENA’S BLOOM

Being a bird lover, I enjoyed this prompt immensely.  So many different birds represented, and so many poetic voices!  As difficult as it was for me to choose just one, The Kingfisher by Seven Acre Sky is poetry at its best, in my humble opinion.  I’d love to close my eyes and hear this read in an easy, lulling voice, with the sound of the river bubbling in the background.  Thank you, Damon, for freely sharing your talent with us week-after-week.

The Kingfisher by Seven Acre Sky

The river slides like time away,
the button-willows’ branches sway.
My boat slides through a silence vast,
as gray-sky, whispering, overcast,
asks if I’d put my oars aside
and look
and hear
and pray
and glide.

I do.

A chattering from the brushy shore
draws mind and eyes and ears and more–
yes, draws my heart–to a flash of blue,
that flies from limb to branch. I view
a fisherman at the river’s side.
Blue crest,
black beak,
minnow
his pride.

I see.

I feel his pride, his royal content.
He’s satisfied. The dives’ intent–
the minnow that he sought to seek–
is clasped within his hungry beak.
I take my rod and reel and fly,
throw out
my line
breathe deep,
and sigh.

I fish.

UPDATE:  If anyone comes back out here, they will certainly enjoy hearing Damon recite Kingfisher here:  https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/50183408/The%20Kingfisher.mp3.

It’s as wonderful as I envisioned.  THANK YOU SO MUCH, DAMON! 

WALT’S CHOICE:

For one who writes to a blog “One Inch Tall”, this poet writes some big things and sometimes in a small amount of space. Catherine Lee has presented a rather haunting (yes, that word has been sprinkled throughout the comments on her piece) prose poem. We can all relate to the “albatross” around our necks in our daily lives, be it  job related, or health issues, family struggles or whatever else brings us down. The beauty of the angst expressed here is what had grabbed me and so, I have chosen Catherine’s poem for my BEAUTIFUL BLOOM. In her words:

“This is my halting attempt at prose poetry with nods to both Coleridge and C.S. Lewis.”

ALBATROSS by Catherine Lee

I used to pretend that I was different, that I wasn’t born with it around my neck, but the smell of death was strong as hell, stinging my eyes like sinking ships. Through a blur of salt and pain, I saw the shadow of another pair of wings stretching east to west (or maybe top to bottom?) across the blackened sky. They reached with hands that knew my name, knew the whitewashed hollow I’d become. He took away the dying things, the cages I had fashioned into shiny things, to plant something beautiful and green inside the ashes.

Single Post Navigation

18 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #92

  1. Wonderful choices for a wonderful prompt. The form of The Kingfisher was as unique and beautiful as its content. The Albatross evoked some universal and important feelings because of Catherine’s well chosen words Thanks for these beautiful blooms.

  2. It must have been very hard to choose only two, but wow, what great choices! Congratulations to both. Damon, I agree with Marie! Catherine, your words simply. stunning.

  3. Fabulous choices. So many to read – your eyes must be worn out!

  4. RJ Clarken on said:

    Two wonderful poems …two fantastic choices. And what a brilliant prompt for them (and us!)

  5. What an honor, among SO MANY wonderful poems. I loved this week probably better than any before, don’t know why–birds are so universal I suppose, throughout life and time.
    Catherine’s prose I loved and saw and felt. I know that other pair of wings as well, stretching from east to west. Beautiful.
    Thanks Walt and Marie for this work of love you do each week. What an enormous undertaking.

  6. Thank you for the honor, Walt and Marie. I wrote with De’s advice in mind (from her interview), “Don’t be afraid to write badly. You never know what might come next.” I love being a part of this community and reading the amazing work and encouragement that exists here. Damon, your beautiful poem made me “breathe deep, and sigh.” Such lovely words.

  7. Thank you, both, Marie and Walt for week after week featuring such fine poems and poets…it’s a highlight to my week!!!

    Congratulations, to Seven and Catherine!!!! :)’s!

  8. Congratulations to both. Super poetry!

  9. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Wow, Congratulations, both!!

  10. Yes, wonderful choices. Congratulations to Damon and Catherine, and I echo others’ thanks to Marie and Walt for undertaking what must be a sometimes daunting task!

  11. sheryl kay oder on said:

    Catherine, your poem slides and glides just like the river and the boat you describe. It is well done. Damon, haunting is the word which comes to mind when reading your poem.

  12. claudsy on said:

    Marvelous picks for the week, Walt and Marie. I couldn’t have chosen any over another. So glad it wasn’t my choice to make. These are terrific and ones I thoroughly enjoyed.

    Congratulations, Catherine and Damon. Well deserved.

  13. Congratulations to both wonderful poets.

  14. Marjory M thompson on said:

    Well done on the poem writing and the job os selecting the blooms.

  15. janeshlensky on said:

    Damon and Catherine, congrats on two wonderful pieces.

  16. Congratulations Damon and Catherine–two lovely pieces of poetry–Damon, I could feel the boat rocking slowly with that rhythm and Catherine, very vivid words/images-love how you ended with hope 🙂

  17. Congratulations, Damon and Catherine! What perfect picks, Marie and Walt!

Plant your poem or comment here!

