POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

POET INTERVIEW – POETIC ASIDES 2012 POET LAUREATE, DE JACKSON

DE MILLER JACKSON

DE MILLER JACKSON

May 25, 2011.  The day I conducted my very first-ever interview.  It was my total delight to choose De Miller Jackson as my first interviewee.  It is with even greater delight that I once again honor De with another “first” here at Poetic Bloomings:  our first-ever follow-up interview!  I simply had to re-visit De now that she has been bestowed the coveted titled of Writer’s Digest Poetic Asides 2012 Poet Laureate.

MARIE ELENA:  So, welcome back, De!  Can you believe it has actually been over a year and a half since our initial interview?

DE:  Wow! Has it really been that long? I love that you guys have been going that long, growing so strong, and have cultivated such an awesome group of amazing poets. I don’t spend enough time in this beautiful place, that’s for sure. When I do, there’s such a sense of camaraderie and serenity. Thanks so much for having me back.

MARIE ELENA:  Thanks, De!  Yes, it is hard to believe it’s been that long.  At the time, I asked if you consider yourself a “poet.”  Here is a quote from your response:Ha. That’s a tough question. Sometimes. I do like that you can be unpublished and call yourself a poet, while you’re supposedly not an “author” until you’ve sold something. I’ve always considered myself a writer, and I’ve tried my hand at poetry since I could pick up a pen…but I think the title itself comes tough sometimes.”  Since that time, you have published an impressive body of work, and were chosen by Robert Lee Brewer as Writer’s Digest Poetic Asides 2012 co-Poet Laureate (with Brian Slusher).  WOW.  You’ve come a long way, baby!  So, NOW do you consider yourself a poet?

DE:  Do I consider myself a poet? Yes. And I think I’ve always known I was a poet at heart, no matter what else I was doing (waiting tables, writing ad copy, wrangling kids). But I’ve definitely received more outward validation of that fact this past year than ever before. I’m so grateful. My husband bought me a bracelet for my birthday that says “Poet,” and he gave it to me early, the night the Laureate news came through. Some days I wear it outward, to tell the world. But some days I still need to wear it so I can read the word, rub the letters with my fingers, remind myself it’s simply true.
poet bracelet

MARIE ELENA:  Another quote from our previous interview:  “The administrative side of writing both flummoxes and frustrates me. I just want to sit around and play with the pretty words.”  And I must say De, I don’t know anyone who “plays with pretty words” better than you.  With every interview, I choose to share a poem written by our guest that I particularly like.  With your work, I could close my eyes and point, and would feel no less than utterly satisfied with my choice.  That said, I’d like to share your “Worrier Poet.”

WORRIER POET  (by De Miller Jackson)

See, the trouble is, our workplace
is the heart and we all know what an
inhospitable environment that is. When
doubt screams and inner critic steams,
we stand tall and begin to fall and we hold
our breaths and wait for the stars to
align just right, wait for the caffeine to
kick in, wait for rain or bow or sorrow or
the scarlet scrim of sunset or the ebony
of death’s whisper, or for the moon
to glow in such a way that
the words are knocked
………………..(wooed)
loose…and then we
shed our salt to the sound of indifferent
crickets. We kill our trees and channel
breeze and hope there’s more
to this than word drops that fall as they
may, rebel phrase that wants to hear it
-self sing. We fling our skins, drink deep
our ink, starve ourselves silly and get
desperate and sell out and come
crawling back smelling like new money
and regret. We fret over period or comma,
climb stanzas in multi-syllabic slatherings
of fingerbeat and tongue. We love it well,
and it rarely loves us back, but we clack
that black because our heartbeat tells us so,
and we fight and fly and wrestle and write
……………………….…because it’s all we know.

MARIE ELENA:  *sigh*… Your poetry consistently makes me want to speak softly the biblical term Selah (pause and consider).  No wonder you were chosen Poet Laureate. And I must say, I called it.   Plus this:  do I know how to choose my poetic friends, or what?!  No less than two laureates in the house at the moment!  So tell me, De, how does it feel to be chosen for such a coveted title?

DE:  I’m still picking my jaw up off the floor. I’m thrilled, of course. I’m also still a little insecure about what article to stick in front of it, though. The other day my hubbie called me “The Poet Laureate,” and I argued with him that I am “A Poet Laureate” – since I share the title with Brian. I think I’m just gonna skip the article all together, like you did above, and go with “Poet Laureate.” And with a brilliant co-laureate like Brian, and so many talented souls at PA, I couldn’t be in better company.

MARIE ELENA:  I couldn’t agree more. What has it done for your confidence as a writer?

DE:  Honestly, it’s still sinking in. I haven’t jumped right in and submitted a manuscript to a major publishing house or anything. (Yet.) 😉  But it’s a tremendous honor, and something I will always cherish. I think my confidence as a writer ebbs and flows no matter what. Not the confidence to put something down on the page, which I can’t really keep myself from doing, but the tenacity and audacity to put it all out there, and hope someone reads, understands, loves the words the way I do. That’s hard, and I have a lot of inner voices that tend to tell me it’s not worth it, that my work isn’t worth anything. But God made me a Poet, and as that I’ve really only got one job – to honor Him with it. I can’t do that if I listen to my own inner critic. So I guess right now I’m moving forward with His confidence at the helm. I’m honored by the title, but it doesn’t make me a more legitimate poet. I am who I am, and I couldn’t stop writing if I tried, and there are always bruises and badges and lumps and laurels and hinges and hiccups that go with that. I’m trying to learn to accept them all with grace, and open hands.

MARIE ELENA:  You truly do live the very essence of your chosen mantra — Psalm 61:8: I’ll be the poet who sings your glory, and live what I sing every day.”

Another question I had asked you in your original interview with us is this:  Do you have plans for a book of poetry?  And again, here is a quote from your response:  “I wouldn’t have the slightest idea where to begin, but the prospect of my own little poem book does excite me. I’m just waiting for a healthy kick of audacity, I suppose.”  As far as I know, you do not have a “little poem book” in the works as of yet.  Am I mistaken?  If so, please tell us about it.  If not, it seems at least you got somewhat of a “boot,” since you went from being unpublished to published.  Who booted you, and how hard?

DE: I guess that depends on your definition of “in the works.” I’m toying with some ideas, and I’m writing daily. But I am creative chaos personified, and I’m still intimidated by the process of pulling together even a chapbook. It’s next, though. Definitely. It’s a necessary step, and I need to take it. Someday. Soon. Seriously. You all keep booting me about the book, softly and in the kindest, friendliest, but most persistent manner. Eventually I will listen. I swear. Hopefully by the time I do, I might still have a potential buyer or two.

As far as going from unpublished to published, I suppose last May, I finally booted myself (and this is every bit as awkward and difficult to do as it sounds), with a Submission a Day challenge. Then in October, Khara House kicked me a bit more with her October Submit-O-Rama challenge ( http://www.kharahouse.com/p/submit-o-rama.html).  I highly, highly recommend the intensity of a submission challenge to any writer – taking submissions every bit as seriously as you do writing, at least for a short, intense period of time. I plan to do it at least three times each year, moving forward.

MARIE ELENA: Tell us more about “SAD.”  Was it your own idea?  It intimidated me at the time, and I did not participate.  Of course, now I wish I had.  Can you tell us how you went about choosing which poems to send to whom for possible publication?  How many acceptances did you receive that very month?

DE:  SAD stands for Submission A Day. Last May, some of us from Poetic Asides got together on Facebook and championed each other along, commiserated, and just generally hung out in a little writer’s corner, encouraging each other. When April’s Poem a Day Challenge ended, I started thinking hey, if I can write a poem a day (which I had actually done since January 1st), why can’t I submit at least one a day? I told everybody what I was up to, and lots of folks joined in, with Pearl Ketover Prilik as our head cheerleader (which she does so very well). We were “Happy to be SAD” together. It was a ton of fun, and yes, I got some acceptances that very month. To ask me to tally them would be to ask me to be both administrative and mathematical. Since I know you know my numbness (and numbskullness) for numbers, I know you wouldn’t do that. I do know that this past year in total, around 60 poems have been accepted by about 30 different print and online journals. And I got paid $1 for one, which makes me a paid poet, right?

MARIE ELENA:  60 poems in 30 different journals!  How impressive!  I’m thrilled for you, and inspired!  Advice I need to heed, indeed. 😉

It’s hard for me to fathom anyone in their right mind turning down your work.  When you received rejections, did you have a good idea of why they rejected your poems?

DE: I received dozens of rejections (and they’re still coming in), and…nope. Do we ever? I think all you can do is do the best research you can. As someone who is still quite a novice at this, I used Duotrope (I’ve read they’ve since gone to a fee basis for their services, so I’ll most likely be purchasing Poet’s Market soon.) I read through the offerings, read what they had published in the past, chose poems of my own I felt fit the bill, and then push send.  When I’m in the zone, I just send out a ton of stuff. That was what Submission A Day in May was all about – playing the odds. If you send out a ton, surely someone will accept one. Some poems that have been rejected by one publication have been enthusiastically received by another. So much comes into play: strategy, subject matter, form, timing, luck. All you can do is blow those seeds out there, and hope some stick.

MARIE ELENA:  You already know I adore your work.  I’m curious which of your own poems you would choose to share as one of your own personal favorites, and why.

DE:  This was written in Lake Tahoe, just about my favorite place on the planet, and where my soul tends to reside (sometimes I can coax her home with me, but not always). I often say I write (and breathe) best with inky fingers and salty sea-soaked toes, and it’s so true.

Cobalt Majesty (by De Miller Jackson)

Good morning,
Maker of perfect sky.
These pines and I
are pointing
to Your heart.
The jays sing praise
as our lyric limbs raise
this breeze-breathed song
before You. Below, painted flow
of indigo
poured just for me,
wandering wondering one,
restless soul
in uneasy skin
but held within Your patient gaze
adoring arms. Take this day,
whisper your waves
of love over me. Count grains
of sand, fairy dust in my hands and
set me free
to be Yours.

MARIE ELENASelah

De, we all know you are unsurpassed when it comes to “playing with the pretty words,” but do you still feelflummoxed and frustrated” with the administrative side of writing?

DE: Oh, yes. I will always feel this way. I have no idea what I’m doing, really. But here’s what I’ve learned:

  1. Persistence pays off. Big time. Get busy, and play the odds.
  2. Perspiration is every bit as important as inspiration. Show up. Get dressed (for me this is yoga pants and a tank top), and get started. The one issue I’ve never had in the submission process is running out of poems to send out. Write. Every single day, if you possibly can.
  3. Don’t be afraid to write badly. You never know what might come next.
  4. Just keep swimming…just keep swimming…It’s all so subjective. You can’t take rejection personally. I’m sure this one will serve me well, when I’m trying to shop a book of some kind around.

MARIE ELENA:  “Don’t be afraid to write badly.”  Now THERE’S a unique bit of advice. 😉  But seriously, all of it makes sense.  Thank you, De.

Your blog now has 581 “followers.”  Wow.  Did your new title boost your numbers, or had you already garnered such an impressive following?  If becoming Poet Laureate had nothing to do with it, can you share your secret to success?

DE: Ha! I both LOVE, and am baffled by, the fact that you know this. I have been trying to figure out how many followers I have for over a year now. (Did I mention I am the least tech savvy person I know?) That number seems super high, and I’m not really sure where most of them are from, or where they are on a daily basis, since I generally get somewhere between 1-6 comments per poem. I’m flattered that I might have so many followers, but I truly treasure a handful or two, who have encouraged me so much along the way, and who inspire me every day. I had a rather healthy following for awhile when I was writing for larger sites like Poets United, dVerse and some others, but when I receive a kind comment from someone, I like to head over his or her way and return the favor. For awhile there, this (reading poems and commenting) was taking several hours a day. I simply don’t have the time right now to commit to that, so I’ve circled my wagons and kept only a few sites on the roster. If life slows down a little bit, ever, I may see some of those cyber faces again. In the meantime, I’m just happy to be making the time to write every day.

MARIE ELENA:  I noticed that you are on Twitter (which I am not).  How much time and energy do you put into Twitter (your own tweets, and following others)?  Do you believe Twitter plays a role in boosting your blog following?

DE:  First of all, apologies to anyone who has been “following” me on Twitter for the past year or so. I’m the lamest Twit ever. I got a Twitter account a few years ago, so I could “follow” my husband (who I would follow anywhere.) Then last April, I did Robert Lee Brewer’s Platform Challenge (http://robertleebrewer.blogspot.com/2012/04/april-platform-challenge-day-1.html), which featured one thing to do each day to promote yourself as a writer. Joining Twitter was one. I’m nothing if not obedient, so I dutifully resurrected my account, and for awhile I even sort of kept up. However, truth be told, I.am.terrible.at.it. With two crazy kids, real life kicks my butt on a daily basis. Add in an advertising client or two (I’m a freelance copywriter), poeming every day, working out, reading, spending time with my hubbie, and occasionally spending a few minutes connecting with friends and fellow poets on Facebook, and I simply don’t have/make/find the time (or desire) to keep up with Twitter. And my goal for the new year – for myself and my family – is actually to stare at screens less often, so that’s certainly not gonna help any. I know there are writers who leverage Twitter as a huge asset, and I admire and envy that. It just doesn’t feel like me.

MARIE ELENA:  Since our first interview together, you’ve done others.  In fact, it seems you are smeared all over the internet!  In a good way, of course.  How many interviews have you done, and where?

DE:  Aaaaaaaaaah. **goes off to try to round up the interviews in the disorganized mass that is her creative chaos brain/computer files**

Okay, here we go…
First, I got to do a guest blogger spot for Heather Day Gilbert:
http://bookinamonthmom.blogspot.com/2012/02/guest-blogger-de-jackson-scribbling-in.html

Then Meena Rose asked me (and who can say no to sweet Meena?):

http://meenarose.com/2012/05/26/spotlight-saturdays-de-miller-jackson/

Then I spent some time with the awesome Sherry Blue Sky over at Poets United:

http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2012/06/life-of-poet-de-jackson.html

Then Izy from Imaginary Garden With Real Toads asked me to hop by:

http://withrealtoads.blogspot.com/2012/12/better-off-without-this-ink-stained.html

I think that’s all of them.

MARIE ELENA:  Have you become more comfortable with the process?  What do you like about it, and what would you rather avoid if you could?

DE:  I actually do enjoy the process, since “interview” these days just means answering questions in writing. It’s a bit surreal, though, someone wanting to know things about you. I’m still very “Who, me? Why?” in my heart. It’s flattering, but so weird. It’s much harder being the interviewer, in my opinion. Marie, you are simply amazing at it, and I was so blessed by all who have interviewed me so far, too. One of Robert’s Platform Challenge days was to interview someone, and I chose Khara House (http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/2012/05/21/khara-house-interview/).  I enjoyed it immensely, and Khara was such a good sport about it, but asking the questions is much more stressful for me than answering them.

MARIE ELENA:  In our first interview together, I had not yet begun asking all our guests this all-important final question:  If we could know only one thing about you, what would you tell us?

DE: I still ache to know myself. Every day.  Someday, I’m gonna fall into the page just right, see the way a certain spill of words dances together, and finally think, “Ohhhhh. There she is.”

MARIE ELENASelah

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You may find more of De at http://whimsygizmo.wordpress.com/.  I highly recommend “following” her blog.  She posts almost daily, and I don’t want to miss one poem.

De’s original interview may be viewed at: http://poeticbloomings.com/2011/05/25/web-wednesday-de-miller-jackson-part-i/.

Single Post Navigation

99 thoughts on “POET INTERVIEW – POETIC ASIDES 2012 POET LAUREATE, DE JACKSON

  1. De, I am such a fan of you and your work. Your last remarks are perhaps the most beautiful, profound, and honest words I’ve ever read from you. Marie, great interview!

  2. I recently became aware of and subscribed to your blog De, and I feel the same way as Marie does. I don’t want to miss a single post! I’m in awe of your work. I’m pretty new to blogging (started blogging a few months ago) and your interview is inspiring to me. Love those four ‘tips’ from what you’ve learned. I have yet to submit my work for publication but it is so cool to have the opportunity to learn from poets like you and Brian and others within the online poet communities. Thanks for this great interview Marie!

    • Well thank you, ma’am. That’s so sweet of you. I’ve loved seeing you around in my poetic worlds lately. 🙂 I’ll have to stop over when I can and say hi and read more. And YES, get your beautiful work out there! 🙂

  3. Thank you for sharing, De! As I have had the same poems rejected twice this week, all your advice was so timely and encouraging. Thank you! ❤

  4. What a lovely interview of such a humble but deserving Poet Laureate; thanks for this Marie Elena and De … You would most definitely have been my pick as well for this honour and I’m so happy to read more of your work – I hope you know I think you’re brilliant too! Now I learn you have an awesome work ethic in addition to being talented. All good. And encouraging to boot. I am in awe. Thanks again Marie Elena – your interviewing skills are as honed as ever!

    • Sharon! You’re so awesome. Thank you so much for your generous words. I enjoy your work so much, and I’m just so thankful to be in the midst of such amazing writers.

      Isn’t Marie the BEST? It truly is its own skill, and the girl has got it – in spades!

  5. De, Marie, what a fabulous interview. I do empathise with De’s disorganized admin brain – I used to be such a good administrator, but nowadays I get scattier and scattier!

    That poem Cobalt knocked my socks off. Just gorgeous.

    • Thanks so much, Viv. I’m so glad I’m in such good scatty company. 😉 And thank you for your comment about my poem. Lake Tahoe is my happy place, and all the colors of blue tend to flow so easily there. Thank you.

  6. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    “…But God made me a poet…” Lovely interview… Wonderful work, always!!

  7. Wonderful, wonderful, brilliant! Our girl, Miss D, reigns over ink!

  8. Beautiful! De, you are an inspiration. Keep writing badly – I’ll enedavour to be half as good 🙂

  9. De! De!

    Marie: now this is HOW one welcomes the start of the day. Thanks for giving us some Vitamin De!

    What De’s “pretty inky words” have taught me personally is that life needs to have you on constant simmer otherwise “pretty inky words” do not flow it. Life may be in rapid boil and the words stop flowing. The key is to back off and return things to a gentle simmer.

    It this those reminders that keep me going and lurching ahead as far as the written word goes.

    • Meena, now my hubbie is teasing me about “Vitamin De.” You are so funny. 😉

      I LOVE that: “a gentle simmer.” Simmer on, my talented friend. There’s such a strange balance, isn’t there, when you’re a poet and a mama and all of the other crazy roles life calls us to be? I feel like I just get the hang of it, maybe, and something changes. Your words are beautiful, and I’m so glad you keep putting them out there in the world.

  10. Woohoo!! Way to go, De!!

  11. De, you are de best! Great interview.

  12. Great interview and thanks for sharing your advice De. I will have to check out your blog. I cracked up when I read that you are the “lamest Twit” ever. I am afraid that I beat you out for that title for sure. I rarely even check in!

    • Thank you so much, Linda. It’s ON! I never, ever check in. When someone specifically tweets something to or about me, I have to re-log in every time. And then I vow to stay connected. For like a day. And then I forget all about it for another month. So tragic. It just doesn’t fit yet. 😉

  13. Loving the re-De. And correction. I AM THE LAMEST TWIT. It’s been confirmed by all three of my follower who have jumped ship! 😉 Walt.

    • Walt, I have “followers” I don’t even know. I’m pretty sure there are Tweeters (Twitters? Twitter-ers? Twits? Tweets? Tweeps?) who just click “follow” for anybody at all in their related field. I’m lucky if I have time to connect with the friends I do have. 😉

      Thanks for your kind words, Sir. Your presence in my poetic world is a blessing.

  14. Judy Roney on said:

    Wow! I have to reread this. What an amazing and modest poet De is. I love the whole idea of SAD. Have to get our work out there. Thanks Maria and De for this valuable, inspiring interview.

    • Thank you so much, Judy. YES, set yourself aside some intense time, and just dig in and do it. You’ll find a groove. It’s such a different muscle (at least for me) than writing. I have to fall into it, and then stay there for awhile. That’s what works for me, at least. I might be ready for another one around March…maybe we could all go along for the ride together. 🙂

  15. Wow. So much love already this morning. Thank you all, so much. And thank you, Marie. You’re a wonderful interviewer. 🙂
    I’ve got a meeting this morning, but hope to spend the afternoon back here in the garden.

  16. “the lamest Twit ever”…that made me laugh. And I loved your advice “just keep swimming”

    Great interview.

  17. Wow! Love, love this interview. De you are an amazing poet. Please accept this virtual kick in the pants to create/self-publish/publish your work! I would be first in line! I love the way you play with all the pretty words and you inspire me to want to play half as well as you do!

  18. Love and am blessed by every word from the mouth
    (and pen)
    of my dear sister and friend, De-
    the Poet.Pirate.Princess.
    Miss 2:42 with you… grateful to grab a cup and enjoy your words wherever my suitcase has landed. Always feels like home. I think I’ll hang in the garden more with you this year!

    Thank you for the great interview!

    • Awww, thanks so much for dropping by, Jen. I miss you, too! And YES, stay in the garden awhile! It’s such an amazing place, with some of the most astounding writers you’ll ever meet.

  19. De’s answer to Marie’s last question delights me to no end. Selah, indeed.

  20. De, Wonderful interview! I can’t wait until you put together that chapbook, so I can buy it! xox

  21. Another excellent interview (nobody does it better, Marie!) with a very favorite poet! Some excellent advice in here — thank you both. And I know there are many of us still waiting (im)patiently for that Delightfull book of poems. 🙂

  22. You two!!! You gals make my heart ache, (in a good way), I feel so lucky and blessed to know each of you. ♥

    De!! Those toes and your smiling face make my day!!! You’re an amazing Poet…your closing words brought me to tears.

    I love this:

    “channel
    breeze and hope there’s more
    to this than word drops that fall as they
    may, rebel phrase that wants to hear it
    -self sing. We fling our skins, drink deep
    our ink,”

    From the poem you chose, Marie and yes, selah…describes so well the response to De’s poetry. ♥

    The poem you chose to share, De!! I remember that one so well…I read it the day you wrote it and I just remember feeling as if I were right there with you…you do that to your readers. You’re so authentic.

    Thank you both so much for doing this interview…Marie, you’re so good at this and De, thank you SO much for sharing more of your life with us. I really do feel blessed to know you and call you my friend. ♥ one for you and ♥ one for you Marie.

  23. claudsy on said:

    It was good to see this interview, complete with the previous answers to the questions. We each change through time lived, and De, you seem to have taken charge of the changes you’re making. Being called out as Poet Laureate would tend to force some of those changes, I’m sure, but De, I’ve watched you moving forward with your confidence building and your exuberance. You’ve made so many strides this past year. And I’m so happy for you.

    I’m also proud to call you a “poet friend,” and Marie, I’m thrilled that you are still at the top of my friends’ list. You’re both such wonderfully creative and generous ladies.

  24. janeshlensky on said:

    Marie and De, what a wonderful interview, full of wisdom. You are both such fine poets and models for writing by heart. This made my day.

  25. What a great interview, Marie.
    Thanks for sharing your passion and heart, De. Your words are wonderful.

  26. My goodness! I came home after a long day to find FIFTY COMMENTS on this interview! What wonderful dialogue, Bloomers! Thanks for all the kind comments. But truly … how could I go wrong? It’s DE!! 😉

    Thanks so much for taking the time to do this, De. You really, sincerely, totally ROCK.

    Marie Elena

  27. OH! And I meant to say that if you haven’t seen De’s interview with Khara House, you’re missing out. Here’s the good news: It’s not too late! 😉

    http://www.kharahouse.com/p/submit-o-rama.html

    Marie Elena

  28. When I saw in my inbox this morning the interview was De, I decided to wait and savor it when I could read it on a screen bigger than a business card.

    And…exactly as I expected…

    A fabulous interview, Marie. And De…I now love you even more.

  29. Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

    Beautifully done both in the asking and in the anwering.
    Good to get to know you – the person behind the wonderful poetry. Congred. on the well deserved Poet Lauteate Honor.

  30. A magnificent interview with a magnificent poet. Well done Marie & De

  31. Marie, what a great interview with one of the finest poets I have followed and enjoyed. De, your talent amazes me.

  32. jasmine calyx on said:

    “I’m the lamest Twit ever.” That was hilarious!!!

  33. De and Marie, Thank-you. You are both such an inspiration to me and I greatly appreciate and admire you both. De, many of your responses brought tears, your humility is touching. These words esp. tugged at my heart and I am sure to each poet who understands the ‘struggle’…”I think my confidence as a writer ebbs and flows no matter what. Not the confidence to put something down on the page, which I can’t really keep myself from doing, but the tenacity and audacity to put it all out there, and hope someone reads, understands, loves the words the way I do. That’s hard, and I have a lot of inner voices that tend to tell me it’s not worth it, that my work isn’t worth anything. But God made me a Poet, and as that I’ve really only got one job – to honor Him with it. I can’t do that if I listen to my own inner critic. ” Thank-you for your openness. Even the interview read like poetry. thank-you both again.

    • Thank you so much, Janet. Isn’t it such a blessing to know that while your struggle is your own, you are not alone? That’s been such a gift to me, since connecting with all of you. Thank you for your kind words.

  34. Andrea on said:

    De, you’re the poet with the fresh voice who leaves me with lasting impressions of visions, images and simply just words, word constructions, to be precise.
    Marie Elena, thank you for yet another great interview.

  35. De and Marie, I hope you’ll check the thread and find my comment: I’m so late with reading and commenting. De, I just want to wish you best of luck, you’ve got everything else. It’s a pleasure to see someone pursuing her dream not matter what. Stay happy and keep swimming.
    Sasha

  36. “no matter what” 🙂
    Thank you for the interview!

  37. Pingback: IN-FORM POET WEDNESDAY – CHASTUSHKA « POETIC BLOOMINGS

Plant your poem or comment here!

