POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #69

The Beatles hit the right notes in this song of the same name as our prompt: With a Little Help From My Friends. It is clearly our belief in life that we are never alone. In good times and bad, the influence of a good friend will surface to bouiy our lives, and for that we are thankful.

 

MARIE ELENA’S PICK

Whenever I have several poems that speak to me and are well written, I need different criteria to help one piece step to the front of the line.  Today, it was Mary Mansfield’s unique take on the prompt and way of looking at life that grabbed my attention, and earned her a Bloom.  Interesting, complete, and well written (of course – it’s from Mary 😉 ). “Unintended Influences” explores the fact that those who influence us greatly are not necessarily of our choosing.  Well done, Mary, and a good lesson for all of us.

Unintended Influences (by Mary Mansfield)

Those bullying girls skilled
In the art of middle school torture,
The dishonest men who received affection
But only returned derision and betrayal,
The non-believers seeking to inject
Their doubts into my resolve…
They’ve taken their shots,
Scarring my ego,
Almost destroyed me,
But they fueled my defiance,
Made me push past my limitations,
And they continue to drive me
To build a legacy worth leaving behind.

 

WALT’S BLOOM SELECTION:

In any definition of friend you’ll find qualities such as loyal, supportive, understanding and caring. The poem selected depicts all those qualities is a very nurturing way. Not only do you spend time with that friend, you truly WANT to be around that person. And through thick and thin you are both there for each other. There were a lot of such poems (all of them) but this one touched a certain chord. To Linda Swenski… my BEAUTIFUL BLOOM!

PROPPED UP by Linda Sewnski

I met her shortly after I got married.
She knows all my secrets,
and still loves me.

She was there when I was pregnant,
and all my single friends fell away.
She understood my loneliness.

She threw a baby shower for my second child,
something I never had for my first,
and gave me such joy.

My children cherish her,
my husband likes her,
I can’t be happy without her.

She has been my analyst,
my companion, my sounding board,
my entertainment, and my friend.

Together we have solved the world’s problems,
and our own.
She gives me hope.

Our lives have all been richer
because she is with us.
I hope she always will be.

 

Congratulations to Mary and Linda, as our BLOOM recipients this week.

 

And to our poets, there is no other group assembled that can match your talent and resolve. Great work all!

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #69

  1. What a fantastic poem, Linda! We all need friends like that in our lives!

    And wow, Marie, thanks so much for the bloom! Quite unexpected for sure, with the different take on the prompt that I ended up using.

    I’d also like to add a huge “Thank you” to everyone here in this little patch of poetic paradise…the encouragement and support that blossoms here is amazing!

  2. Yay! Congrats! Good ones both

  3. Thank you so much Walt, for your consideration. Poetic Bloomings is such a wonderfully fertile field in which to grow our words. I am so grateful for all the work that you and Marie do to give us this wonderful creative outlet, as well as the inspiration of your beautiful poems.

    And thanks, Mary for the lovely comments. I was touched by your poem as well. It totally strikes that chord in each of us and guides us to make those daunting experiences into something positive. Dealing with those negative people in our lives prepares us to deal with life itself. You stated it so beautifully and succinctly. Congratulations to you!

  4. Congratulations to both Linda and Mary – and special kudos Marie Elena for choosing Mary’s poem that, as she says herself, goes against the typical for this prompt … when I read it I thought it a brave write but an honest one and of course, some of our best friends that propel us through life are those horrific challenges earlier on so I’m glad it was recognized with a bloom.

    And Walt, Linda’s simple homage to the friend we would all love to have is the perfect choice for your bloom … well done as always.

  5. Two super blooms from a lovely prompt. We can’t have too many friends
    and everyone here in the garden feels like a very good friend.

  6. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Oh! Great picks!! Congratulations, Mary and Linda!!

  7. Congratulations! 🙂

  8. Marvelous poems, both of them. Congratulations Blooms and Bloom givers!

  9. Most excellent picks!!! Yay, Mary and Linda!! 🙂

  10. Beautiful Blooms for beautiful people who speak their heart.

  11. Wonderful works, Mary & Linda! Opposite perspectives — but both beautifully done! Nice picks, Marie & Walt! 🙂

  12. claudsy on said:

    Lovely blooms, indeed. Congratulations, Linda and Mary. Terrific poems and sentiments.

    Mary, I especially like that you found strength from the adversity thrown at you from all sides. That’s not easy at the best of times. Kudos to you.

    Linda, I especially like that you found someone who could mesh with your life in such a profound way. We all deserve someone like that in our lives and you were fortunate enough to find such a person.

Plant your poem or comment here!

