POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

IN-FORM POET – NAANI

The NAANI is one of India’s most popular Telugu forms,  Naani means “expression of one and all.”  It consists of 4 lines, totalling 20 to 25 syllables. It is generally untitled, although the subject may be inferred in the first line. The poem is not bound to a particular subject, but is often about human relations. The form was introduced by one of the renowned Telugu poets, Dr. N. Gopi.

NONNA’S NAANI:

Conversation
Is not necessarily
communication.
Her eyes and smile speak fluently.

WALT’S NAANI:

We converse.
Airing our differences
in the dance of give and take;
agreement through our compromises.

Single Post Navigation

164 thoughts on “IN-FORM POET – NAANI

  1. Noona’s naani, while it is very effective, also has 5 lines. Does this mean a flexible form, or forgetfulness? Walt’s is a good recipe for marriage!

  2. The telly
    keeps telling me things about you
    all day long.
    What am I to believe?

  3. Redeemed
    without accusation.
    Unworthy becomes justified
    Set free by His love for me.

    © KED 2012

  4. You nod and smile
    with laughter and lilting voice.
    Your heart and eyes say otherwise,
    you’re transparent.

    © H.G. @ P.B. 5/16/12

  5. Some of the best conversations we’ll ever have, so touching, Marie!!

    Hey, that sounds super duper familiar, Walt!!! Also perfect for the theme required…so many can relate!

    BIGwarm Smiles to you guys…just like I promised! 😉

  6. Janet on said:

    Great responses so far…was settling in for a nice bit of writing time, but the phone just rang and someone is dropping by…later, hopefully.

  7. Janet on said:

    The ‘drop-in’ was brief…

    While I tally
    My scores of failure
    She climbs into my arms
    Hugs me and falls asleep

    ***

    The television does not
    Drown out the silence
    Yet, newspaper walls
    Can be impenetrable

    ***

    Yesterday, today, forever
    He IS, the only Way,
    The only Truth
    And Door to eternal life

    ***

    Darkness thickens stealthily
    In countless layers
    But one tiny flame
    Dispels its utter blackness

    ***

  8. Janet, your first stanza is just incredible beautiful. Thanks!

  9. when wavelengths collide
    navigate like a demure fawn,
    juggle thoughts until
    harmony rings peace

  10. Here we are seated
    at this long wooden table
    as once again I
    return home to you.

    ~ Misky

  11. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Each and every day
    My world is filled to the brim
    with words from souls
    all over the world.

  12. connielpeters on said:

    Friends gather,
    bringing bananas, nuts,
    cherries, ice cream, chocolate syrup—
    Banana split party!

  13. A Naani on Dessert

    Eat your dessert first.
    It is the only way
    to make certain
    you’ll have room for it,

    By Michael Grove

  14. Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

    Would that we could see
    beneath the surface
    of our hearts to know
    the truth living there.

  15. Poetic Bloomings on said:

    In lieu of comments at the moment, the magnificence of mastery with the NAANI form has stirred me to offer a bonus example:

    Blessed by the beauty of words
    a simple poets sits
    awed and inspired;
    wired with worded wonder.

    Walt

  16. Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

    Sunrise reveals the beauty and
    joy which one can choose
    too embrace or reject
    as the new day unfolds.

  17. Stage Fright Naani

    fawn eyes caught in stage fright
    navigating beyond fear
    juggling horror-struck and premiere
    opening night

    ~ Randy Bell ~

  18. Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

    This form – short and sweet – (and otherwise) like the Tanka invites one to just ‘keep on writing more.” MUST stop and get to work, but looking forward to reading and commenting later. Thanks for the intro to the form.

    Hearts mend and lives grow
    as seeds are planted daily
    and blooms unfold
    in this Garden of Love

  19. Rushing Dessert

    I hate when she orders
    dessert — and she knows
    it — preferring instead
    to get her home and alone.

  20. (for Abby)

    Oh, spicy girl,
    how you push my buttons.
    But if I give you wings,
    you’ll set this world on fire.

  21. Pingback: Rushing Dessert – a Naani | Awakened Words

  22. Poet Naani

    If we weave our words
    just right, can we can stitch
    these miles, share a cup of coffee
    over spilled words, quiet smiles?

  23. Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

    I keep thinking back to Hannah’s first naami
    of the day …..your….eyes say otherwise…
    I have a deaf (adult) son, if I become inattentive
    when he is ‘talking’, his reminder is…

    —-Mom, look at me
    —-when I talk to you, don’t turn away,
    —-you must see my hands, face, body,
    —-I must see your eyes.

    • Oh, *surge and goosebumps* Marjory, this is such a beautiful reflection. Such importance in the communication of the eyes. Thank you, for sharing your amazing words, your wisdom filled life. Such beauty!

      • Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

        Thank you Hannah – it really does tie in with what you said earlier. There are times I simple close my eyes and re-do the picture before I reopen them. 🙂

    • Henrietta Choplin on said:

      Profoundly lovely…

  24. Marie Elena on said:

    I had five lines? 5?! Ruh roh …

    One would think I had a missing finger, lol! 😀 !

    Thanks for chipping in with the correction, Walt! 😉

  25. A Birthday Question

    If birthdays are mandatory,
    Can we at least
    Remove the calories
    From birthday cake?

    • Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

      Shoot – here I have been under the impression for years that there are no calories in Birthday cake and Ice cream – please don’t break my bubble now! 😉

    • Henrietta Choplin on said:

      You make me smile, MM! Thank you!

  26. Iris D on said:

    Image

    Your reflection
    echoes mine
    Years separate us
    Mirror knows not time

  27. Saying goodbye
    is not any easier
    when you have had time
    to prepare yourself.

  28. Pingback: the NAANI form « echoes from the silence

  29. Jess

    I thought of her as butterfly,
    my niece,
    who flitted, flower to flower,
    and now wears nurse’s cap.

  30. Do we really listen
    to what others have to say
    or are we simply waiting
    for our chance to speak?

  31. Loving back
    After being rejected;
    a kind of black magic to overcome
    your own ego.

  32. I’m making up in quantity what I’m lacking in quality. This form is surprisingly difficult, but so many of you all have pulled it off really well! Here are my too-numerous attempts:

    I wish
    You would talk about something else,
    And you wish I wanted to hear it.
    We sit in silence.

    ****

    My eyes are cast down
    Because you are, too
    And I want to help
    But there’s nothing to do.

    ****

    It’s delicious
    When you smile.
    Your joy always tops mine off
    Like strawberries on ice cream.

    ****

    Will I see you again?
    Answer me no,
    And you will remain forever young
    And forever missed.

    ****

    I wish I could hear the beat
    You march to.
    Then I could come,
    If you didn’t want to go alone.

    ****

    She sits alone
    Because they said she doesn’t need a him.
    He sits alone
    Because she followed their whim.

  33. Marjory M Thompson (MMT) on said:

    Oh WOW – your QUALITY surpasses your quanity!!!

    I really love these – they each tell such truths.
    Thank you for each of them.

  34. I have to say, this form is not as easy as appears! :-O

    My first thought… was this partially purloined variation of Marie’s Naani:

    Conversation
    Is not necessarily
    communication.
    You speak, yet I fail to listen

    * * * * * * *

    But,… I think I like this one better:

    Early bird and night owl
    mingle at midday
    making for
    a harmonious marriage.

    * * * * * * *
    😉

  35. drying in a crystal vase
    of time–our wild peace,
    our tender pinches, saved
    between pages of love.

  36. After finally getting around to reading these, the thought struck me that most would make beautiful greeting cards. Just need an artist.

    • These would indeed make lovely cards, and yours especially jlynn! It’s beautiful!

      Here’s mine:

      Woolworth lunch counter 1960
      School lunch room 2012
      Black and White separate
      What progress?

  37. Pingback: Beauty | Scarring Words

Plant your poem or comment here!

