POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #45

Walt has not been well the last few days or so, and I have not heard from him at all today. I have decided to go ahead and post my Bloom, and I’m sure his will spring forth as soon as he is able. In the meantime, let’s send thoughts and prayers to Buffalo.

MARIE ELENA’S CHOICE:

As is always the case, there are far too many that I wish to highlight. Amazing work, all! However, the one that brings tears to my eyes with every read is Janet Martin’s “Contemplating My Fears.” The tears induced by this piece are two-fold: (1) I relate too closely to each and every area of concern expressed. (2) Tender tears of a grateful heart for this: “He takes my despair and anxiety, as He whispers, ‘dear child, I will never leave thee.’” These deep, poetic moans had a profound effect on me, Janet, as does the faith and hope so clearly expressed. BEAUTIFUL.

Contemplating my Fears…

I fear the future quiet:
I fear the quiet of a still and sterile kitchen
Where there is no sound but the refrigerators hum
Once a haven of lively discussion
Of jam spills and chatter and breakfast toast-crumbs

I fear loss:
Anticipation, as a new day is stirred
The memory of your laughter in my ear
The lure in the dance of written word
The pleasure of having you near
The sanity I once took for granted
And maybe the tear as well
Because Alzheimer’s has stolen the person
Long before death’s gentle knell

I fear for my child,
Who, without no or yes
Has received the inheritance
Of my stubbornness

There is the fear of the unknown
Or the loss of a child’s faith
As they begin to question
What once they believed
There is the fear of evil
Hidden in a guise
That is soothing and delightful
To undiscerning eyes

I fear, more than losing a child to death
Losing a child to this world.

I thought once that I feared growing old
And I guess, perhaps if the truth were told
I still do

I fear being poor…
Not seeing gold in the sun
Sapphire in the sky
A diamond in the dewdrop
Or perhaps, in your eye
The riches of wisdom
Traded for dross
The folly of temporal
Molding eternal loss
I fear not wanting what I have
As I stand at autumn’s door
Knowing I must be brave
For I cannot return to summer’s shore

But when fear overtakes me, and darkens my day
I close my eyes, talk to Jesus until my fears melt away
He takes my despair and anxiety
As He whispers, dear child, I will never leave thee.

I never think about my fear much
for fear that fear will overtake faith…

WALT’S LATE ENTRY:

As Marie has stated, I have been dealing with some issues of health. I’m making my way back slowly, but in the process I have found myself dealing with more than that. For that reason which will remain unexplained, I empathized and relate to Amy Barlow Liberatore’s THING 205, which earns my BEAUTIFUL BLOOM.

Thing 205

The Monster paid me an unannounced visit today.
It let itself in through the locked and bolted back door
on its way to another grief.

It took me in its arms as I,
limp as linguine and just as strained,
offered no resistence.

Its cowl became my heavy hood;
the weight of its robe dragged me to half-staff…
lugging laundry downstairs,
crying as I failed to muster strength to open a jar,
wracked with fear I’d be discovered here alone
with Same Old:

Telling me I’m worthless, a drag on my loved ones,
why bother with it all? Run away to a
thin spot on the icy lake…

Only my Boxing Gym of the Soul saved me.
My Trainer whispered spoke shouted in my ear,
“Slough off the robe, ooze off the couch.
Flop to the floor and exercise.
EXORCISE THE MONSTER!”

After my walk outside, the demon slunk in a corner.
Finally giving up, it didn’t bother to say goodbye,
But I make sure the door hit it in the ass
as it left to cripple someone else.

© 2012 Amy Barlow Liberatore/Sharp Little Pencil

Single Post Navigation

21 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #45

  1. Congratulations, Janet! What a beautiful poem! 🙂 I don’t envy the choice you had to make at all, Marie. And best wishes to Walt, hope you’re feeling better soon. 🙂

  2. Iris D on said:

    Many lovely poems, and you have made a good choice Marie. Janet, I teared up too. Great job!!!
    We are missing you Walt, and hope to hear from you soon. Blessings

  3. A wonderful choice Marie Elena … a beautiful poem Janet – congrats!
    Worried about Walt though … hope he’s okay … sending good thoughts his way.

  4. Thanks, gals! it could be that he is busy with family goings-on. I know his daughter has a birthday to celebrate. It just isn’t like him to not be in touch, especially on a scheduled Beautiful Blooms day. Let’s hope!

  5. Poetic Bloomings on said:

    Bloom posted Ladies, thanks for the concern. Battling the demon.

    • I’m torn, Walt, so sorry it’s rough right now. I think we all go through rough patches and especially right before breakthrough and growth. A sort of growing pain, before revelation. I’m not trying to down-play your situation at all, Walt, I am with a very sincere heart trying to be a comfort in this hard time for you.

      God’s comfort will be much sufficient.

      Blessings to you, my friend. ~Hannah

  6. There’s so much beauty amid the fear and pain so tenderly expressed, in this poem, Janet, congratulations.

    Beautiful choice, Marie!

    I’m sorry to hear that things aren’t quite as they should be, Walt and I pray that all will be right in your world so soon. You picked a very well-worded poem, nice choice.

    Amy, this poem took such courage, facing all of this “fear stuff,” does,. Great piece.

    • Henrietta Choplin on said:

      Lovely, choice, Meg, Congratulations, Janet. Congratulations, Amy, for your creatively powerful piece. Walt, I hope that you feel better soon. I send my prayers to you. I hope that you can keep writing; we love your work! Hen

  7. Congratulations, Janet and Amy!
    Walt, feel better soon.

  8. I thank all of you for your beautiful words. Thank-you Marie. I am touched by your words…and Walt, please feel our hugs and prayers.

  9. Wonderful choices, Marie and Walt… and congratulations to Janet and Amy!

  10. I’m afraid these are just awesome, awesome choices, guys!

  11. Sorry you’re doing so poorly Walt but I am really pleased with your choice for a bloom – a sometimes unsung heroine in my view, it’s nice to see the light shone on Amy’s excellent poem, from a fine poet. Congrats ABL! And congrats again to Janet,Meg’s great choice.

  12. If your reader’s choice vote had been in operation, it would have reinforced the award of blooms to Janet and Amy.

    Hang in there, Walt. I pray that life will be easier for you very very soon.

  13. Congrats to Janet and congrats to Amy. Two very different poems but it says fear all over them both – great!
    Walt, I hope spring smiles to you and gives you strength.

  14. Excellent choices, both so heartfelt and moving. Best of rest and rejuvenation to everyone at Poetic Bloomings. I hope the sunshine of spring brings you all warming comfort and a save place to grow. ❤

  15. Walt and Marie – thank you so much. Marie, you sent me the link; Walt, you posted my poem. I’m flattered beyond words, especially since the mental health aspect of the poem is something most folks don’t want to think about. It’s sort of a wilting lily of a bloom, but part of the life cycle.

    Janet, your poem is beautiful and worthy of the honor. Interesting, as I am a woman of faith, yet my mental health issues are such that prayer, yoga, meditation, etc., are not enough. I think that’s why God allowed doctors and therapists into the world, and I have two of the best.

    I’m sending prayers your way, too, Walt. I myself was born sans the “bootstraps” everyone tells me to pull myself up by… The weather is helping… Much love to all, Amy

Plant your poem or comment here!

