POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #42

The innocence of a child, wide eyed with wonder and purity, searching for security and knowledge. But there are times we can take lessons from them. They show what real trust and love and joy are all about. It wouldn’t hurt us to switch places with them and become their students in these regards. You have all offered beautiful and inspiring pieces worthy of the recognition. We thank you for your worth and contribution to this place we all can claim as our own. The BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS for week #42 are now on stage!

Marie Elena’s Bloom:

What a fun prompt this was!  Diapers to duct tape to distractions … all struck my fancy, made me chuckle, or touched my heart.  Thank you all for taking up Walt’s challenge of writing a children’s poem.  I thought many would bow out of this one.  Instead, you rose to the challenge, and drew the most comments we have seen to date.  Awesome!

My Bloom goes to Alexandra Palmer (The Happy Amateur) for “You Are The Be(a)st!”  This piece is fun-fun-fun, imaginative, and suits the prompt to a “T.”  Tighten up the meter, and GET THEE TO A PUBLISHER!

~You Are The Be(a)st!~

It happened in a misty land,
Where beastly creatures dwell.
A yelp was heard to lend a hand
(Or was it ‘paw’? Oh, well.)

“What must I do? Where should I go?
I need to have a plan!
I have to know! I want to grow!
Please, help me if you can!”

“My little beast, you’re worried sick!
It’s going to be OK!
Sit down, have some chocolate milk,
And hear what I say:

You will find out what you’re about,
Just do your very best,
And Mother Nature will – no doubt –
Take care of the rest.

Before you know it, you’ll grow
And see what future brings.
Have fun, and go with the flow,
And try all sorts of things.

Try wiggling ears, growing claws,
Try glowing in the dark,
Try rolling eyes and clicking jaws,
Try grinning like a shark,

Try sleeping in the scariest cave,
Try howling at the moon,
And if you’re really, really brave,
Try eating with a spoon!

Try being small, but standing tall,
Try out your mighty roar!
And when you think you’ve tried it all,
Try trying even more!

Try ups and downs… never fear:
You’ll find your guiding star.
But most importantly, my dear,
Just be the beast you are.

I’m always with you, always near,
No matter how far.
And I will always love you, dear,
Just for the beast you are.”

Walt’s Selection:

A fun prompt to a point. We all loved fairy tales that offered us lessons of life and love in some way.  All wrapped up in a “Happily Ever After”  In a perfect world, all lessons should be as such. But we know better. We are imperfect people in an imperfect world. Our tales are of princesses and princes, little wooden boys and floppy eared Elephants. Reality is of people struggling to survive. Doing what is needed to secure those very lives. Part of our reality consists of such warriors. Kimiko Martinez teaches a lesson some would just as soon forget. Thank you for teaching me something I already knew, Kimiko. Here’s your beautiful bloom.

THE WARRIOR by Kimiko Martinez

Dedicated to Sgt. William Stacey, a 23-year-old Marine who died in Afghanistan a few weeks ago.
And to all the warriors we have lost and love.

William was a warrior.
So off to war he went,
as warriors often do.

He kissed his girl
and faced his fate,
in a far off place

full of warriors who
had kissed thier own
wives and mothers

faced their own fates,
fighting to protect
an idea that burned

as deep as their love
for the women who
would stare at some

far-off place as they
thought of the men
they loved, off at war,

hoping they would
come home to love
them once more.

William was a warrior.
He died for this love.
As warriors often do.

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT #42

  1. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Perfectly WONDERFUL selections!!! I LOVED them both! Congratulations, Happy-Alexandra, and Kimiko!!! Hen

  2. Congrats to both, wonderful poems 🙂

  3. Love Marie’s choice first time round, and even more now.

    Walt’s choice to me is strange: I would hardly think a poem about war, however well written, is right for a child. But that’s coming from a grandmother who hopes her descendents never have to live through the horror.

  4. Congratulations to this week’s poetic blooms! Nice work you two. 🙂

  5. What a lot of reading you had to do this week! I think you picked to wonderful poems, both I particularly remember one as a mom and one as a North American citizen,. Congratulations to both of you. Well done!

  6. Thanks for the honor, Walt.

    I suppose I’m a realist, so children’s fiction was never my forte. But as a mother, the lessons I wanted my son to learn were always about love. What it means to be a loving person, what it means to love people despite their differences, how people sometimes confuse love for other things, and the lengths we go to for the things we love.

    Death is part of life. And while this poem is probably not appropriate for very young children, it is a lesson we all learn as we grow up. Wise parents navigate these waters very carefully and provide age-appropriate counsel to their flock when the opportunities present themselves.

    Learning about Will’s death earlier this week was such a moment for me and my 15-year-old son — who, despite being a teenager, is still very much a little boy. And this poem was also, in part, written with him (or maybe a younger version of him) in mind.

    Thanks again.

    • Poetic Bloomings on said:

      Eloquent response, Kimiko. I agree that your poem would not be for the picture book set, but it is very much appropriate for older kids. Well done, indeed.

      Marie Elena

  7. Viv, in our poems we were to teach the adult a lesson. Some (revisionists) would just as soon not acknowledge the achievement of young men and women who give their lives to secure the rights and freedoms of people to protest and to choose. I already treat my family with respect and love, hold the human condition in high regard and compassion. Those are morals that are already a part of my make-up.Kimiko’s poem spoke to me and I appreciate her message as it serves as a reminder daily of the things we take for granted. I liked this poem and I stand by my choice, as unpopular.as it may seem. I thank you for your opinion and continued support and contribution.

    • Slapped wrist accepted as a token of your generosity. My lesson is that we should teach our children that fighting wars is not the only way to right wrongs. It seems to be taken for granted these days that military action is the recourse of first choice.

  8. Oh my!!! Just found this. Marie, thank you so much for picking my poem! I feel honored and very happy!

    Kimiko, congratulations! Your poem was different, and it took me a little while to switch from the prevailing fun spirit of the prompt to the solemn tone of the tribute you wrote. I believe that yours is a universal poem: for a young child, or for that child inside each one of us that tries to find answers, and understand things, and accept them. I can envision a day when my son will come to me with a question – maybe, he’ll see a photograph of a young soldier in the paper with a word ‘killed’ in the caption, or he’ll hear something at school… – and your poem may become just the answer he’ll need.

    I hope I’m making sense, I’m really tired, and it’s taking me a super long time to type this. Thank you again so very much! Thanks for all the kind words from all of you! I had so much fun reading all the poems.

    Marie, thanks for the critique, I really appreciate it – I’m off to work on that meter!
    Have a good night, everyone! ‘See’ you soon!

  9. Congratulations to both Kimiko and Alexandra-Happy – both very different poems, both worthy recipients of the blooms … well done Walt and Marie Elena!

  10. Congratulations to you both!! Very good choices, Happy and Kimiko, both!!! Smiles!

  11. Viv, I’m with you!
    And yes, congrats to Happy and Kimiko.

Plant your poem or comment here!

