POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

WEB WEDNESDAY – JANE PENLAND HOOVER

JANE PENLAND HOOVER
Does a writer’s name get any more poetic than Jane Penland Hoover?  Jane’s professional online demeanor and poetic aptitude have impressed Walt and me since “Day 1.”  Being facebook friends with Jane affords us the pleasure of viewing her lovely nature photography, which she often effectively pairs with short poetic snippets.  A sampling is provided at the end of this interview for your enjoyment.  It is with pleasure that we feature this entirely charming “Bloomer.”

 When asked to share a poem she feels best represents her style and spirit, Jane chose “What Won’t Wait,” a poem she wrote in response to a prompt presented by Robert Lee Brewer during The Writer’s Digest November 2011 Chapbook Challenge. Jane says it embodies and reflects upon the idea of how life won’t wait, and how movement and ‘continuing on’ smooths both the exterior and interior.

What Won’t Wait

this day

the close of lunch, the

river rushing over rock

 and you

ready to move out our

door and down the stairs

 

you with

your invisible schedule

in your head

 

with its

proper time for breakfast, working

puzzles, or my coming now to bed

 and me

with your sensible timelines, such

a mismatch with my own

 

yet us

smiling back and forth, still

holding hands in spite

of what

won’t wait, like that river

rolling smooth the stone

 MARIE ELENA: Welcome, Jane.  I am glad you chose this particular poem to open with.  So much is contained in your few well-chosen words.  This particular piece also nicely adds another chapter to the poetry still to come in this interview.

 This week, our Poetic Bloomings prompt happens to include the chance to quote ourselves.  Here is a quote from you that I find intriguing:  “When I write, I find elbowroom for soul.”  Please tell us where this thought comes from, and what it means to you.

JANE:  In 1990, when I finished training to facilitate writing groups using the *Proprioceptive Writing Method, I wanted a phrase to express what I felt writing did in me. Thumbing through a magazine in the doctor’s office one day, I spied an ad for a classy automobile that boasted “elbow room.”  Identification of my felt-sense when writing was articulated in that moment, and my phrase spun.

MARIE ELENA:   Your nature photos are beautiful, but they go beyond beauty.  When you pair them with your little word gems, they become a story, or a mystery.  Marrying these talents works very well for you.  How did this come about?

JANE:  My happiest memories are of playing outdoors in the deep woods of Western Carolina along a ragged edge of lake water lapping at the shore, nothing but our rustic cabin for miles on three other sides.  When I close my eyes now (60 years later), I can hear the hum of bees, the rustle of bird-walk, and a thin drone of a motorboat on waters often hidden from my sight by dense foliage.  I can feel my feet walking softly, thinking of others who walked the land before me —  listening and listening as if I might hear them too.

 I often opened photographs posted on the internet. One morning at 3:00 a.m., I heard that whisper. Later in the day, a friend here where I live (a retirement community) showed me his photographs of bees and flowers. My eyes could not get enough.  After he offered to help me, I purchased my first digital camera, and began.

 I started writing poetry in 2007 after hearing that voice one morning, learning first from David Navarro via his poetry site on MySpace.  Later I found Robert Lee Brewer on facebook and continued with him.  Wanting a reason to visit facebook each day (and not wanting to post notes of my personal doings), I began posting pictures,  eventually adding short, sometimes Haiku-like verse. No whispers were involved – only experimentation.

 Because of my previous training in Proprioceptive Writing, I had fine-tuned my listening ear.  When I view a picture, I simply listen to what I hear in my head, and write.  Occasionally I edit before posting. I do all of this because it delights me.  When it brings pleasure to someone else, that deepens my joy.

 MARIE ELENA:  Your postings definitely enhance my facebook experience, and are a source of pleasure.  It seems you have an endless supply.  How much time do you devote to writing and photography?  If you had to choose between one and the other, which would you choose?

 JANE:  I walk about 45 minutes in the morning, and again in the afternoon.  I carry two cameras – the one I bought, and the better one my friend gave me when he traded up.  I have no concept of the time I spend deleting, cropping, filing, sorting, and saving photographs.  But I do this as I watch TV with my husband.

 If I had to choose between writing and photography, I would choose writing, because I engage myself without the use of any technology.  Me, a stick, and patch of earth would suffice, enabling me to record my thoughts for the moment; holding my ideas still long enough to reflect, hear, and see the world through my own lens.

 MARIE ELENA:  You have been known to do an open mic or two.  Do you get nervous?  Or perhaps you got used to performing in front of people back in your twirler days at Florida State University!  (I just couldn’t resist throwing that in. Very impressive! 😉 )

 JANE:  I’m more nervous having to carry on a conversation at a dinner table than I am reading my poetry.  That doesn’t mean I don’t feel a bit anxious – I’m a very new poet.  But the anxiety is the kind that reminds me how much I care about what I am about to speak into the room. Still, I believe that we all have stories. Voicing them into life’s spaces is an offering both to ourselves, and to those choosing to listen.  A bit like the story of bread and fishes, how each meager offering may be multiplied to become nourishment for everyone.

 MARIE ELENA:  That’s a great way of looking at it, Jane. I also like your phrase, “Voicing them into life’s spaces.” That brings image to voice.   How do you choose which poems to share vocally?

 I choose poems based on time allotted and how they fit together, creating an arch of story if possible.  I’ve read for as little as 5, and as long as 45 minutes.  When I do longer readings, I plot the entire program as a conversation of sorts, considering always the audience above all else.

 MARIE ELENA:  Your blog (JPENSTROKE’S Blog) is simply and beautifully designed, and filled with the various aspects of your interests. What drove you to begin blogging, and what satisfaction does it bring you?

 JANE:  Thank you.  I smile every time I open my own blog page. Something in the image and pages appeals to my love of surprise, mystery, and order.   My blog evolved as a continuation of a desire, even after retirement, to keep up with the technology and activity of the times.  After writing poetry for a year on MySpace, and reading other blogs from time to time, I grew certain I did not want to write about my day, or swimming, or even writing.  As with most of my life’s new pursuits, the idea of posting my own poetry and photography came to me in my room in the dark.

 When my second child was an infant, she awoke at 3:15 a.m., cooing and talking in her crib.  I listened from my bed to the joy flowing down the hall.  Long after I became “Oma” to her children, I still awoke every day at that time.  Occasionally some new idea delivered itself to me before returning to sleep ‘till daylight.  A whisper would repeat and repeat in my ear: I think I’ll explore social media.  I think I’ll teach myself to write poetry.  I think I’ll start a blog of my own. I think I’ll buy a digital camera, and take pictures when I walk.     

 As for my blog, with the help of a digital friend in Arizona whose blog fascinated me, I found WordPress. I learned how to design pages and tabs, and to organize and post. I let the computer teach me.  More, I realized I could use the blog to store and organize the latest versions of my poems, the ones published, the ones submitted and waiting, the quotes I enjoyed, the open mic readings, what I read, and on and on.  So my blog now serves me and my readers.

 MARIE ELENA:  Does your blog title have anything to do with the poetic Penland name?

 JANE:  After I retired from years of operating a not-for-profit company, helping my husband, raising our girls, and serving the community, I formed my own company to offer writing groups. I named it Penstrokes. The name incorporated two formative influences in my life: First, my childhood experiences with the strong, generous, paternal Penland family. Second, my adult experiences as one whose spouse survived the new open-heart, heart-value surgery in his early 30’s, but then endured a stroke which left him with some paralysis and major expressive and receptive aphasia.  In addition, my Penland grandparents lived without eyesight, while raising seven children (all college graduates). My own engaging family now lived in a space of diminished understanding and limited language.

 MARIE ELENA:  Oh, Jane … we never know what the people in our lives are dealing with. I will never look at your blog title in the same way again. You seem an impressively strong woman, Jane.  Where do you draw your strength?

 JANE:  Sometimes the critiques of childhood are only a glimpse of future strengths. For me, that was that I was too slow, too thoughtful, certainly stubborn, too old, too sullen, too much a loner, and far too serious.  In the face of mystery, I draw from what I came into this world already possessing, and what a loving family offered each day.

 MARIE ELENA:  My goodness … such an excellent and hopefully contagious attitude.

 Normally I choose just one poem to share in these interviews.  However, I feel like the exquisite poems below tell a love story that begs sharing, and so share I shall.

In the Shadow of Stroke…In the Aftermath of Aphasia

 More than a list of nouns

Language transfers meaning

From one heart to another,

Informing, questioning,

Encouraging.

Last week

At our four-party dinner table

Our friend said, “We ate

At the best Thai restaurant

AtMainand Greene.”

“I know the spot! Next door

Is a barbecue shack

I can’t name…

Sometimes our daughter

Rhonda meets us there.”

Then he uttered

His single words,

Added gestures.

Name…SameThing…Ugh…

Charleston…Holly…Jim…Ahw…

Aw…SameThing…Four…More.

When he tries to speak

I no longer want to guess.

Thirty-four years since that stroke,

Yet again, I am trying to

Fit together the puzzle

Of his thought.

Aha, I’ve got it! Sticky Fingers,

The barbecue place inCharleston

Where we ate three years ago

With our other daughter Holly,

Her husband Jim.

I say, “Sticky Fingers”.

He pushes his notepad toward me.

I write “Sticky Fingers,”

He smiles.

In his aphasia group

On Monday, he may say:

Charleston…Holly…EatIt…

Ahw…Longtime…ThisOne…

SameThing…uh…eat…

Then press his fingers together,

Hold as if they will not come apart,

Hoping they will say Sticky Fingers…

Maybe not.

For one small second

I imagined

He would tell our friends tonight

About another time and place

When he and I shared a table

Candlelight and music witnessing

Our soft voices and bright eyes

Focused solely on each other.

Tonight he pockets pad and pen

Then scans the room,

Flashing his cheery smile

To all who look his way.

I feel alone.

He lifts his glass,

Sips tonight’s sweet tea.

I paint a smile across my face

Straining to remember

To be grateful

For our efforts.

 Published in Stroke Connect Magainxe of The American Heart Association March/April 2008

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

What I Learned after His Stroke

Aphasia: Often without speech due to the partial or total

loss of the ability to use or comprehend spoken or

written language.

So much I may never know

but this I’ve learned:

 

He is happier in our smaller world,

happier with being left alone

to do what he can do.

 

He did not lose his love of puzzles,

or his spatial skills

when aphasia stole his words,

stroke broke his fluid motion.

 

He did not lose his smile

or his way of following,

listening close enough

to assure his memory.

 

I didn’t lose his staying power

though I often let-go my own,

find patience wearing thin,

filing sharp my too-loud words.

 

What I know is that we do not miss as much

what we imagine gone, as we delight

in what we manage to convey

within the sounds of silence.

  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Love

 Some say

love blooms. Not I.

Love is no staged display

but two lives grafted, scars hidden

between

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ode to Celebration in Retirement Home

Our new year’s eve

ended at nine ~ unamused

by cheers, or lifting up

another glass of sparking juice~

so the others thought, while

 

we caught and held

the gleam of eye to eye

and time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

JANE AND RON

MARIE ELENA:  The above poetry is beautiful and telling.   It reveals the long-term test of resolve that you and your husband have experienced, and the love that thrives in the face of adversity.

 JANE:  Even the resolve has evolved over the years.  I had begun to write short fragments, thinking of memoir as my vehicle for the story. But I soon felt that something sparse, and more condensed –  like poetic form –  might be more apropos for telling of life lived with few words, lost meanings, and more mystery than was helpful, even in the face of love.

 Poetry and writing remind me to smile as I reveal how intertwined uniqueness and sameness are, and how courage lives only in the face of moving through fear.  We all live lives that require more of us than we imagine we have to give. Still, we keep on…

 MARIE ELENA:  “We all live lives that require more of us than we imagine we have to give.”  This sentiment speaks to me richly.

 The aphasia left behind from the stroke seems frightening and frustrating for both of you.  As one who works and plays with words, do you feel you are better equipped to understand Ron and help him communicate?

 JANE:  No.  I have always depended heavily on what I hear to learn, decide, or act.  So listening is my high-level skill.  I learned early, because of our blind grandparents, to speak so they would know where we were and what we were doing, and to listen so I knew when anyone was moving about.

 When I watch other couples interact, and realize how difficult understanding is, even with words and revision of words to clarify meaning. I am even more astonished that my husband and I ever understand even the simple things we try to communicate.   I haven’t found anyone who believes that he doesn’t talk more than he hears. It is simply unimaginable.

 We do best by having routines and following them.  It took me years to let go my love of spontaneity and constant change.  Maybe I had to actually get to this quieter time of life – for I needed that energy and excitement for my work, and for working with him.  Who knows how any of us do what it is we must?  Refection on all these years makes me smile in wonder and gratitude for each thing, person, and idea that came to support our efforts.

 MARIE ELENA:  Jane, please accept our sincere appreciation for opening your heart and life to our poetic community.  You have managed to increase our already strong admiration for you.

 Now,  if we could know only one thing about you, what would you want us to know?

 JANE:  That I am entirely too opportunistic, too determined, and too self-absorbed to write much without using the I of we.  That I could use much more humor in my incessant thought patterns, and that I love more people and things than can be contained in my computer, or than I ever let on.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Between earth and sky, this place pleases all who come ~ in their way know home

scent of presence here ~ color brushed by dew ~ fragrant in the lift of air

hanging on such sure habit now ~ still there is the fall

swimming in the pond, ripples flowing out and back ~ eyes watch each other

soon the monarch will hear his call beyond this day ~ his wings sufficient

just the place to be for three prancing through the woods ~ for me a clear view

another day and nothing more to do than love this world and my place in it

A list of Jane’s published poetry may be found at http://jpenstroke.wordpress.com/published-poems/. Some is still available for purchase.

*Proprioceptive Writing is a method by which one learns to use writing to awaken the auditory imagination by capturing moment-to-moment thoughts and entering them in a nonjudgemental way.  As one writes, one learns to overhear thought as if it is spoken.  If inteested in learning more, see http://www.pwriting.org/ .

Single Post Navigation

48 thoughts on “WEB WEDNESDAY – JANE PENLAND HOOVER

  1. Thank you for this interview, Marie.
    Jane, thank you so much for sharing. Your words, your visions, your life are so beautiful. I read about you first thing in the morning, and I’ll try to live my day, and every day, with more appreciation for what I have, Thank you.
    Sasha

  2. Amazing presentation!

    Marie Elena, thank you for your sensitive and insightful interview.

    What a beautiful job of capturing some of my experiences with writing and poetry and photography! I must admit I’m sending links to this page to my family and friends who enjoy poetry but rarely write or exchange on face book and blogs. Hope they find some delight between your questions and my responses.

  3. Andrew Kreider on said:

    Jane, you’re an inspiration! I love the image of you carrying TWO cameras as you walk, and appreciate your example as a lifelong learner – taking on new skills and putting them out there for the rest of us to enjoy. Loved this interview.

    • Andrew, so glad you enjoyed this.

      In addition to two cameras now, I carry a kindlefire that my girls gave me at
      Christmas – much to my surprise. Now I listen to books or music as I walk and the creatures seem less distrubed than when I was so quiet. Smiles and thanks.

  4. Henrietta Choplin on said:

    Oh my goodnes, heartbreakingly, lovingly BEAUTIFUL (and you know, I think that I already just “knew” that), Jane! Thank you for who you are! Hen

  5. Michelle Hed on said:

    Jane, you have a beautiful soul. So, enjoyed hearing your story and learning that we are kindred spirits. I too go everywhere with my camera – walking, hiking, kayaking, driving, cross-country skiing, snowshoeing etc…and I’ve maintained a blog for over a year where I write poetry to my pictures just like you do! 🙂 Keep on snapping and writing! – Michelle

    • I love reading and seeing your picture so much – such a joy having this place for supporting each other’s passions. 🙂 Thank you for reading/viewing all of this.

  6. Chuck Eilber on said:

    An hour ago I sat down to my computer to continue working on a large, ongoing project, but first I decided to take a quick look at your website. Jane. Now an hour later, I have just finished reading the interview with Maria-Elana and I learned more about you and Ron than I have in the five years that we have been neighbors — and my admiration deepens.
    Thanks for giving us so much.

    • So glad you had time to read – your own project so inviting these days. I had not been interviewed for any reason previously so found this a fascinating experience. All of us with our amazing stories inspire one another again and agin.

  7. Beautiful job — Marie & Jane! Loved this interview! I took down some notes to pursue further, later. So very true, Jane’s statement about “…how intertwined uniqueness and sameness are” — so simply & succinctly stated — like most of her work. Still looking forward to a book that combines Jane’s writings & photography into a single work. And Marie, you are an excellent interviewer. The two of you — together here — poetry! 🙂

    • Someday maybe I’ll make it to the end of a project. But there is so much to read here and write and such amazing pictures – yours high on my list of what I pause to enjoy. Thank you 🙂

  8. Barb Griffiths on said:

    It was a great interview and you did a wonderful job expressing yourself, Jane. Kudos, kudos, kudos! Keep up the good work. Tell Ron hi for me and thanks for sharing your poetry and your pictures to the world.

    • love that we have kept connected and my poetry here gives me encouragement to keep participating with all of you there – So glad you have been able to keep the printing and collection on track each year – Ron smiles back – be well

  9. Poetic Bloomings on said:

    Jane, every sentiment expressed is echoed here. I leave the interviews to Marie Elena for reasons you have obviously experienced. She is learned, prepared, sensitive and has a certain flair that comes across to calm and comfort. You are an incredibly interesting talent and a compassionate soul. Thank you for allowing us to grace our pages with your excellence. It is indeed our honor. Walt.

  10. Just a lovely interview and even lovelier “interviewee”. I so enjoy getting to “know” the lives behind the poetry! Thank you Marie and Jane!

  11. Jane, I’ve missed our connection the past couple of years when we haven’t interwoven our paths. Getting to share your journey here is such a pleasure! May you continue to relish the life you are continually creating, recreating, and embracing. Mazel Tov my friend!

    • following on facebook is not the same as in person but certainly keeps me thinking of you and I’ll take that too – live always delivering us into other spaces and new times – be well J

  12. This interveiw has been such a gift!! I have been so taken with Jane’s eye for wild and her words stringing simplicity and beauty of nature so elegantly. I always look forward to your posts, Jane! Your life story behind the beauty deepens my admiration all the more! So inspired, thank you!

    Some ideas that really struck me from this interveiw are:

    “But the anxiety is the kind that reminds me how much I care about what I am about to speak into the room.”

    I love this… I feel that not enough people place the worthiness on their words that they deserve and as a result, often times don’t express fully from their hearts.

    “…courage lives only in the face of moving through fear.”

    This part of a paragraph really spoke to me…I’ve recently wondered and had fear try to tease me about my “so good,” life, making me fearful of loss and sickness. This makes me want to move through and obtain courage.

    And Marie said this so well and so genuinely… ❤

    "Jane, please accept our sincere appreciation for opening your heart and life to our poetic community. You have managed to increase our already strong admiration for you."

    Thank you so much, Jane! Smiles

  13. Jane, I loved the beginning poem which set the tone for your beautiful and insightful interview with Marie. Being someone who is sometimes on my own schedule I could identify with this. You and your husband have been able to live a full life even with his handicap. Your poems tell the love story of your life.

    Thank you, Marie for this deep and authentic fexperiencw with Jane! She is a true inspiration for all of us.

  14. LOVE Jane. Her gorgeous photos and amazing phrases on Facebook always make my day. Can’t wait to dig in to this when I have time to savor.

  15. Jane, the comment below was misplaced (added to our “welcome” page), and I didn’t want you to miss it.

    From Carol Roycroft
    February 1st, 2012 at 2:53 pm | edit

    Marie and Jane, Thank you for the beautiful and insightful glimpse into Jane’s world. I feel blessed to know her and benefit daily from her gifts in word and images and from sharing brief encounters with this special couple.

  16. WOW! Jane, I agree. You are an inspiration! Readers can always feel your compassionate soul and optimistic viewpoint. Luv to read your work. 🙂

    • Jane – wow! What an inspiration you and your “whisperings” are … not to mention the challenges you’ve faced in your life and the grace with which you’ve dealt and continue to deal with them. As some of the others have said before me, I too found myself feeling grateful for my own life’s blessings more than a few times throughout the reading of your interview. As always Marie, you are proving yourself to be an exquisite interviewer – and Jane, you have to be one of the most intriguing, inspiring poets we’ve yet to meet. Thank you both.

    • love this response – so amazing how our stories engage and allow us to move closer and more gratefully into our own. Thank you

  17. Pingback: Prompts Scrimmage: Friday Freeforall « Margo Roby: Wordgathering

  18. As always, Marie has done a masterful job in conducting and presenting a superb interview. Jane’s inspirational words shine!!

  19. You are all so kind! Thank you for the comments.

  20. Marie, a stunning job of bringing the inner person into focus.
    Jane, I so enjoyed reading this interview and discovering what an exceptional person you are. Also, I did not know about your photography, and consider that a bonus to the beautiful poems you write. Keep on.

  21. I just couldn’t go away your website before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the standard information an individual provide for your guests?
    Is going to be again ceaselessly to check up on new posts

  22. Hello mates, nice post and good urging commented at
    this place, I am actually enjoying by these.

  23. You’ve made some good points there. I looked on the internet for more information about the issue and found most individuals will go along with
    your views on this web site.

  24. wonderful publish, very informative. I wonder why the opposite specialists of this sector
    don’t notice this. You must proceed your writing.
    I’m sure, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  25. It’s going to be end of mine day, but before end I am reading this enormous piece of writing to improve my
    experience.

  26. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s equally educative and entertaining, and let me tell you,
    you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem
    is an issue that too few people are speaking intelligently about.
    I am very happy I came across this during my hunt for something relating
    to this.

  27. Жаль, что сейчас не могу высказаться –
    нет свободного времени. Вернусь
    – обязательно выскажу своё мнение.

  28. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?

    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice blog like
    this one today.

Plant your poem or comment here!

