POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT # 34

The last minute rush which blends into the hustle and bustle we seem to get involved in gets the spotlight this week in our march toward Dec. 25th. Tradition to preparation to the rush, we’re finally here. And so are our Blooms:

Marie Elena’s Bloom:

Janet Martin’s untitled piece receives my second Beautiful Bloom in as many weeks. Tender and touching; thoughtfully crafted … a “wish I’d written this” and offered as a gift to all of you.

Untitled
It’s difficult sometimes to spell in words
The heart of all those thoughts we deeply feel
But I must try, for you have kindly stirred
My soul with honesty and thoughts surreal
Once I assumed a friend is one we meet
Then learn to cherish, love and trust with time
But I have known a friendship, rich and sweet
Nurtured by the magic of a rhyme

A poet’s heart is more than flesh and blood
It sees beyond perimeters of sight
It races at the mention of a word
Defining it within the dead of night
I’ve held you close to me within a pen
Yet felt you tear the longing from my chest
By words that you have woven in a poem
To strike the chord of grief and tenderness

You, my friend, have taught me how to fly
To scoff at fear wielding its scornful threat
You, my friend, have taught me how to cry
And how to dance and twirl and pirouette
Anticipation wakes with me at dawn
It trembles in each moment’s soft embrace
For who can know the poem your whispers spawn
Beneath the touch of lips in cyber-space

It’s difficult sometimes, to spell in words
Thoughts too profound for letters formed in ink
But in night’s deepest quiet I have heard
A tiny glimpse of what you feel and think
So in this Christmas season I extend
A prayer to you for happiness and cheer
Merry Christmas, my dear poet-friends
God bless you now and through the coming year

Walt’s Choice:

They say Christmas is for children. But I just think it has a fun aspect to it that appeals to young and old alike. That mirth is infused into this piece by Mary Mansfield. The rhyme is playful and the pace is akin to the urgency that the Christmas rush espouses. And don’t tell me all houses aren’t as hectic on this last day before Christmas…

The Christmas Rush by Mary Mansfield

Wrap the presents. Trim the tree.
Run to the store for batteries.
Time to hang the stockings up.
Pour fresh eggnog in my cup.
Bake the cookies, it’s getting late.
Try to save one for Santa’s plate.
Out of coffee, need some more,
Go back to that blasted store
To pick up everything I missed.
Now where did I put that stupid list?
Check the broken Christmas lights.
Wish I could have a Silent Night.
Learned my lesson, next year I’ll begin it
Before the absolute very last minute.

Congratulations to Janet and Mary for their selections and to all our poets for the wonderful gift of your poetry. All given from the heart and accepted in loving embrace in return.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT # 34

  1. What can I say but a sincere thank-you and wish to all for a blessed Christmas Season.

    I just penned my thoughts of the moment so I will share them first here…with a heart-felt greeting of love, joy and peace to all.

    A Christmas Song

    Hail the fruit of Mary’s womb
    In joyous celebration
    Hail the Victor of death’s tomb
    With hope’s grand exaltation
    For this is He who sent His Son
    And gave to us a Christmas song

    Hail, the hand that held the nails
    So we may be forgiven
    Hail this love that never fails
    And seals our hope in Heaven
    Come gather ‘round and bend your knee
    Hail, hail the One who sets men free

    Hail, the Seed of mystery
    The God who put on flesh
    To walk among humanity
    And suffer unto death
    Lift up your heart and lift your voice
    Mankind has reason to rejoice

    Hail the King on Heaven’s throne
    The Babe whom angels heralded
    The Son who passed through Caesar’s stone
    Where roman soldiers guarded
    Hail Jesus Christ, God’s precious Son
    Who gave to us a Christmas song

  2. Congratulations to Janet and Mary!

    I just want to add my words of gratitude to all of you. One of the great things that happened to me in 2011 was discovering this online writing community. Thank you for the inspiration and support. I look forward to reading you, learning from you, and sharing with you in 2012. Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays!

    Warm wishes,
    Alexandra

  3. not much time this week except to play and sing –
    like both of these poems a lot – so happy for you.

  4. Henreitta Katie Choplin on said:

    Beautiful selections!!!

  5. congrats to Janet and Mary. Wonderful poems. Happy Holidays to all!

  6. Wow, thank you so much! There were so many great poems from this prompt. Merry Christmas to all of you!

  7. PSC in CT on said:

    Both sweet and both ring so true. Nicely done, poets — and lovely job, as always, Walt & Marie in finding the treasures. Happy holidays to all. 🙂

  8. Thank-you all for being such beautiful encouragement and inspiration!

    Hope your day is merry and bright!

  9. Wonderful selections – didn’t get around to doing this prompt but am thrilled with the poems that did get written and the choices for blooms … great work as always Walt and Marie E

Plant your poem or comment here!

