POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

IN-FORM POET: TRI-COUPLED SESTET

This week’s In-Form Poet features our own MIKE GROVE‘s TRI-COUPLED SESTET.

Per Mike, the TRI-COUPLED SESTET has stanzas consisting of six lines. There may be one or more stanza(s) in the poem. Three rhyming couplets are contained within each stanza. There are end rhymes in lines 3 and 6, and both mid AND end rhymes in lines 1, 2, 4 and 5. The rhyming sequence is: ab,ab,c,ab,ab,c. Or you may choose an alternate rhyming sequence, such as: ab,ab,c,de,de,c.

Lines 1, 2, 4 and 5 may contain 6 to 9 syllables, while lines 3 and 6 are slightly longer containing 9 to 12 syllables.

Mike’s sample below, “Carry That One,” uses: ab,ab,c,ab,ab,c; de,de,f,de,de,f as his rhyme sequence. Lines 1 ,2, 4 and 5 contain exactly 8 syllables with rhymes on the 4th and 8th syllable, while lines 3 and 6 contain exactly 10 syllables with end rhymes.

Mike, you must have thought we all need a challenge! This is a tough, but creative form. Bravo, Mike!

Carry That One
By Michael Grove

Go make a turn and have your way.
Then feel the burn another day.
Now pass it on and hear the moody blue.
An inner churn while you’re at play.
So, did you learn and will you stay?
Carry that one around deep inside you.

A ten ton weight is on your chest.
Outside the gate, so go the rest.
Whatever squeaks the loudest gets the grease.
While your big plate is full of zest,
One there is great. One is the best.
Carry that One forever for your peace

Marie’s attempt:

CALAMARI CROQUET

In a lab far away, lived a squid
Who longed to play like a kid
(Which the researchers never allowed).
When they left for the day, out he slid
For a game of croquet, yes he did!
(He played well, as he’s so well endowed). 😉

Note: Walt will rejoin us when he is able. Rest easy, Sir Walter Woj!

Single Post Navigation

20 thoughts on “IN-FORM POET: TRI-COUPLED SESTET

  1. Great poems, Mike and Marie. Your rhymes seem effortless and flow…but this form is tough, so here is a poem for fun.

    This Form is Hard

    I struggle to write it.
    Words juggled, don’t fight it.
    (This poem has gone completely awry.)
    I smuggle rhymes, can’t quit.
    Words snuggle but don’t fit.
    But I write, it’s always best to try.

    • nice job Shannon. I have tried to match syllable count in my 1,2, 4 and 5th lines. and then again match 3 and 6. It gets tougher but is fun to try. Thanks for attempting my form.

  2. This form is just a rhyme too far.
    I will conform, but place the bar
    nearer the ground, therefore will succeed.
    I’ll not deform the rules of rhyme,
    transform nonsense to verse sublime,
    astound you with my wondrous words. Agreed?

  3. it is the middle rhyme that makes this form difficult and interesting. Good luck to all who attempt it. Here is another:

    Judgment Abolished

    Winding roads will always lead you there.
    Binding codes of honor you shall wear,
    so proudly on your coat of armor polished.
    Grinding loads to heavy once to bear.
    Finding odes of love for you to share,
    so judgment in this land may be abolished.

    By Michael Grove

  4. You are free to experiment with the syllable count in the lines. I am free as well…

    Because I’m Free

    Because I’m free to roll and rock,
    I am the key to my own lock.
    I’ll never let myself fall down again.
    Yes I will be mostly ad hoc.
    No I won’t see the ticking clock.
    I’ll still go fishing every now and then.

    Because I’m free to take a chance,
    to what degree I make a stance,
    determines how the deck of cards will fall.
    Sing let it be. My feet will dance,
    A figgy tree may bring romance.
    I’ll be happy in the wake of it all.

    By Michael Grove

  5. Poetic Bloomings on said:

    Mike, you make it look so easy! Will Shannon and Viv be our only brave souls? 😉 It IS a tough one!

    meg

  6. Here is another effort which expands on the form. Instead of lines 1,2,4 and 5 being a bit shorter, I have made all 6 lines exactly 11 syllables.

    Tingle

    His sunny disposition made her tingle.
    The money in their pockets didn’t jingle.
    Yet their golden hearts were filled with so much grace.
    Her funny quips got looks as she would mingle.
    Those runny days he cried had kept them single.
    They’ll forever wear a smile upon their face.

    By Michael Grove

  7. Wow, that was tough!

    Different Ending (Tri-Coupled Sestet Attempt)

    See if I care, walk away.
    You never share; you’ve nothing to say.
    After all these years, I still don’t know you.
    You wear your rage upon your face
    I must turn the page, change the place,
    I need an escape from this wicked brew.

  8. Tough form! I’m game-here’s my attempt from a photo prompt over at Poets United
    http://poetryblogroll.blogspot.com/2011/10/think-tank-thursday.html

    Chains

    This empty shell she called her home
    She roams her hell after the gloam
    Imprisoned within as a lover’s possesion
    “I am not free; my heart is chained
    By jealousy, my love constrained.”
    By his hand she died after making confession.

  9. Don’t be Chicken

    I bet I could jingle your bell
    If you would only let me quell
    All your misgivings about sex at work.
    If you close the blind, no one can see
    Let me touch and find that golden key
    to loose those passions from where they lurk.

  10. Ugh, it is another very difficult form. I made an attempt and observed the rules, but the poem is meaningless 😀
    *
    Believe you me, I’m not afraid
    I simply need to get well-paid
    In trance expecting chance will fly away from me.
    It’s really sad to trust in numbers
    But not so bad to live in glamour
    While life runs by and gives no reason to believe.
    *

  11. Waiting for Inspiration

    Have you ever dreamt of Mars,
    Sent a clever wish to stars,
    then bottled up your aspirations?
    Scared, you never traveled far
    and you never earned your scars,
    still waiting for your inspirations.

  12. Beneath the Moon

    Beneath the moon, two lovers kiss,
    and as they spoon, they say they’ll miss
    each other while the girl’s away in France.
    He takes her arm, he says, “Like this,”
    and in his charm, she twirls in bliss.
    “While you’re away, just close your eyes and dance.”

    And while away, she met a man
    who held her sway, as French men can.
    She closed her eyes and saw her lover’s face.
    She couldn’t stay, in foreign land.
    That very day, she turned and ran.
    And now they dwell in that sweet moonlit place.

Plant your poem or comment here!

