POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT # 11

This week’s reversal of fortune presented many varied views and poems. And again we are reaching new contributors to our fine corral of poets. You are all stars that make this a glowing place to bloom. Speaking of “Blooms”, it is time once again for our Beautiful Blooms selections.

Here is Marie’s “pick” for this week:

I want to begin by saying how thrilled Walt and I are with the new talent on display here! One VERY fine example is Dyson McIllwain, whose piece I picked for this week’s Beautiful Bloom. Yes, I invited Dyson to please check out our site and consider contributing his poetry. And now you know why.

I also must admit that I had to look up “neeps and tatties,” “dram,” and “haggis!” Learned something new. What fun!

I chose Dyson’s poem for the flawless flow, rhyme, humor, and innovation. Thank you for joining in the fun, Dyson! I hope to hear more from you here, as well as Poetic Asides.

CHANGE OF ADDRESS (with apologies to Burns) By Dyson McIllwain

Neeps and tatties, neeps and tatties,
a dram, and a dram, and a dram.
The foulest tasting haggis
’tis too much for any man. I have had
my fill and lost the thrill;
’tis certainly a waste, there is not
enough whiskey to kill this haggis taste.

To kill this haggis taste, one surely must be tested,
To not partake is no mistake, your taste buds will be bested.
As for this man, forgive me clan, my solution’s not absurd,
the golden archway beckons me, over 30 billion served.

Walt’s Bloom:

I know the pros and cons of putting her on a pedestal. The adulation is fine for a while, but has a way of stealing her smile. I found that partners are better when side-by-side and eye-to-eye. Michael Grove’s poem, Up on a Pedestal, invoked memories of two such instances and the different result of each. For that, I place Michael on the lofty perch reserved for this week’s Beautiful Bloom.

UP ON A PEDESTAL by Michael Grove

A hungry tiger without a meal.
The messenger missed the call.
A vision lost was once so real.
He places her up on a pedestal.

He places her up on a pedestal.
Her head now has his heart to steal.
The purple curtain shall tear and fall.
An ivory platform to cold to feel.

An ivory platform to cold to feel.
The juggler drops his bowling pin.
A peasant’s begging for a meal.
A joyful song can now begin.

A joyful song can now begin.
The mystic breaks her crystal ball.
The bird of paradise flies in.
He places her up on a pedestal.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “BEAUTIFUL BLOOMS – PROMPT # 11

  1. Thanks so much Walt and Marie Elena for your wonderful Poetic Bloomings site and this great honor. I enjoy writing to your prompts each and every week and find the prompts and the IN-FORM poet posts to be enlightening to me as I expand my horizon and push in new directions. Thanks Again!

  2. A great honor for a simple Scots poet trying to find a home for his poetry. As Michael states your site does inspire and enlighten. Many thank in humility and appreciation.

  3. Both beautiful selections… congratulations Mike and Dyson!

  4. Well done, Dyson and Michael. Both are brilliant pieces of work.

  5. Ooops, I posted the above poem under the wrong prompt! I'll re-post it in the proper place. Please feel free to delete it here.David W

  6. Got it, David. =)

Plant your poem or comment here!

