POETIC BLOOMINGS

POETIC BLOOMINGS is a Phoenix Rising Poetry Guild site established in May 2011 to nurture and inspire the creative spirit.

DEEP SPACE NINE – PROMPT #9


Vantage point plays an important part in firing up our muse. The view from the ground varies greatly from the treetops. We see things slightly different. Today we are exercising our imaginations and playing with our perspective. So let’s blast off!

Your tether has broken away from the command module, and you are adrift in deep space. You are Major Tom floating by your “tin can”. But, you are not in danger. Until they can reel you back in, you have nothing but time to poem; equipped with your message board and an extraordinary view of the universe.

Write your poem, remembering your vantage point and your over-active imagination. “Can you hear me, Major Tom?”

Marie Elena’s blast:


Peering down on earth
From my perch upon the moon
I see no borders.

Walt’s attempt:

The poem I had written as this prompt’s example came extremely close to what Marie Elena had submitted.

From up in deep space

It is very clear,

I can see my house from here.

I am keeping my eyes peeled for a special phrase in the poems. The first to mention it will get a copy of my chapbook, WOOD. If it shows up as the title of the poem, I will include the CD featuring the reading of the book. Good Luck.

Single Post Navigation

54 thoughts on “DEEP SPACE NINE – PROMPT #9

  1. A special phrase…I guess that makes this a triple challenge then. Hmmmm…what to write, what to write. ?Marie Elena, I like your poem. It says much with the perfection of simplicity.

  2. dangling here in spaceI have no fear of falling–God is watching me

  3. Thank you, Linda! Amen, Sal. And for the record, your poem for Week 8 is the one I had originally chosen for Beautiful Blooms pick. Absolutely love it.All: GO FOR THE TITLE! GO FOR THE TITLE! I've got Walt's Wood CD, and to actually hear his work in his own voice adds a whole new level of admiration for his talent. Wow.

  4. I posted late last night and left out one caveat. The FIRST poet to post work with the phrase will win the prize.

  5. Rocketed to the Fourth DimensionFloating in the sea of spacemy worries drift through time.Medusa lost in orbit,I prey on heaven’s climb.Dare I trust this leap of faith,release all inhibitions?Pride comes before the falland then euphoric conditions.

  6. Space OddityI float with my head full of starsNursing relational scarsMy love for astronomyMeant my friends all gave up on meAll I’ve got left now is some spiders from Mars.

  7. Lift, Off. She tries to catch her footing, breathless countdown falling on deaf ears. Aims to jump shoots for the moon and suddenly it’s clear: There’s no gravity up here. She looks down at the tiny place she’s for-now calling home, with all its fails and fears. Brilliant blues and greens and browns, all awfully hard to steer, when there’s no gravity up here. She sends lost wishes back to ground, control long lost, looseatmosphere. Holds stone breath close to waiting heart, and finds that hope floats near, for there’s no gravity up here.

  8. Everyone is off to a good start this morning. Great prompt, guys. Love it. Hope my effort will please.Up in Wood SmokeSomewhere down there was a boySeated beside his campfire.Eyes fixed on the Universe aboveHe saw himself where i am now.He questioned whether those flying hereCould see the signal fire he builtOr smell the sweetness of applewoodSmoke that drifted up to meet the stars.He dreamed big, that boy I wasAnd followed that vision to stand on air.

  9. Celestial Notes to My Sometimes Self It’s all clear from up here. So much doesn’t matter. Feelings aren’t fact. Spill your life out in ink, sweat, tears. Just love. Especially yourself. I’m writing it all in the stars. Do you read me?

  10. A quickie.More later, Captain&CaptainDrifting, lost in spaceUntil next week's episodeWho the hell buys cable from Ferengi?Ship's going in the wrong direction. Hey, y'all.Where'd I put the tricorder?I'm changing my will.

  11. Borrowed a line from "Space Oddity"From "My Tin Can Far Above the Moon"From "my tin can far above the moon"I have room to roam and bloom.Not boxed in by the gravity and hastethat fills up all the space in planet Earth.Up here I can spread my wings and search.I turn and shift and sommersault.Weightless grace at every turn.

  12. Without BordersFrom spacethere are no bordersto tracewith my finger.No color-codedcountries.My map skills are obsolete.Below me allI seeare blurs of blue and green.A harmonious scene.

  13. Hal, Please …This need tofly, free-fall, diving,submerged inink soaked stars.Eternal blackness kissingthis star filled lake. Touchnothing; there'snothing to touch. I'mswimming withstars at my back and home in my sights. Hal,open the pods doors.

  14. A great start all. Keep plugging away. No one has hit on the "phrase that pays". Continue the fabulous work!Walt

  15. Claudsy, I have to say, you touched a chord with your poem, "Up in Wood Smoke". There was a creek that ran across Wood Street where I grew up. Smokes Creek. We hung out on the "Wood Smoke" bridge. Thanks for that memory.

  16. Final FrontierSpun, floating sun dialReflecting light into blackTemporary star

  17. Glad to oblige with memory lane jump start. So many good poems, as there are each week here. Here's my second on this prompt. We'll see later if I can come up with more.SpacedTo float unencumbered by daily woes,To study my origins with eyes wide open,Fully engages my spirit, allowing it aNever-ending panarama of possibilities.Around yon nebula I will find new stars,Lounging within star dust and gas clouds,Laughing at those who don't stand in wonder.

  18. The final frontierVacuum that could suck me dryOr blow me to bits

  19. More excellence from Jane Shlensky. Thanks, Jane!AfloatI don’t remember my first birth,launched from my mother’s womb,a temporary tether binding us, pushedfrom a liquid life onto solitary land,but I’m dazzled by this birthing into deep space, into dry darkness, drifting toward the beauty of a blue bauble, shining there in the sky before me, haloed with horizons. Tethered to a cylinder, I am tuggedby an invisible link to this watery orbdusted and spun with clouds, this free breath, these water beings, this liquid life, longing forthis home…

  20. Looks like De and Claudsy are in a race! Maybe trying to hit on that secret phrase, eh? 😉

  21. The Stars Look Very Different Today Did you forget to check ignition,take your protein pills,put your helmet on?Planet Earth is blue and I am, toofloating in a most peculiar way.I’m feeling very still and there’s nothing I can do. Far above the moon is farther than I meant to fly. I’m past one hundred miles, I’m stepping through the door, but I’m still not at all sure why. I suppose it’s time to leave the capsule. I think my spaceship knows which way to go. Commencing countdown…May God’s love be with you…1…2…3…Look out below.

  22. Now I KNOW who is going after the phrase! =)

  23. Okay. Yep. Now I'm just fishin'. ; )

  24. Never could've guessed. 😉

  25. …with sheepish rights-usage (and no monetary compensation whatsoever) apologies to Bowie.

  26. I Concur I gaze upon the universeso overcome with awe.I’m feeling rather minisculebefore the work of God.On that blue marble hung in spacein deserts, mountains, bays,woods, oceans, rivers, canyons,I explored in many ways. But of all the things I have done,no matter where I roam,I must agree with Dorothy—There is no place like home!

  27. Keep Up with the CardassiansYou wormhole.Yes, I can hear you,but you’re no god of mine.Kim Kardashian,on the other hand,got her butt X-rayed.That might be worth travelingthe universe to see.

  28. Laugh Out Loud, Patricia! 🙂

  29. Thankful I didn't just take a sip of coffee, Patricia! De, I find it almost as funny that you felt the need to spell it out, after our other conversation. EL OH EL!

  30. Marie, I usually do spell it out, for the same reason you originally posted. ; ) I am also NEVER overheard using the word "chillaxin'"…there's colloquial, and then there's just plain silly. ; )

  31. Mushrooms and Clouds of Probability"I'm stepping throught the doorAnd I'm floating in a most peculiar way"in a tin can out in spaceI don't care to be far above the moongazing down on blue anymore"I'm feeling very stillAnd I think my spaceship knows which way to goTell my wife I love her very much ( she knows)"I'm heading home for an ocean crash landingOdds /Oddities are good cos I can swim like adolphinQuotes from Bowie.Frank Scarlatti

  32. Google EarthNever mind the UniverseI can see every house – all twenty-plusthat I have ever lived in.

  33. Outside the world of dustthere are no sunbeamsto catch and hold and turn the light.

  34. “On Being Tethered in Space”The beauty of creation staggers me.Unable to take in the enormity of space,unable to touch down,even on Mars (close enough to touch)and taste Martian soil.Or dancewith the Jovian moons.This narrow focuson human foibleson one spec of cosmic dust.There is no rising above.So I close my eyesand cut my tether.Another piece of human space junk.

  35. BEAM ME UP!gravity isnot all that greatlife down herecanbe quite a draglet me seelifefrom your view pointbeam me uptoyour tin can please2011-06-27P. WankenHere's my first go at it…I might be back for more fun! :)~Paula

  36. God's WindlassSomewhere between pubertyand the Red Robin Tavernon Lake Union, I lost Jesus.I didn't lose God;just his son.I woke up one morningand we were strangers.And so I just talked to God.I searched, I tried,I read, I cried.I couldn't fill the hole thatJesus'd left; I couldn't find him. Logic applied illogically.Logic removed emotionally.Bible enervation.And so I just talked to God.One-way conversationslike leaving messageson a friend's voicemail."Ring me back when you have time so we can chat.Kiss-kiss. Love you."I never felt alone.And so I just talked to God.Like I'm doing now; this space walkgone wrong. A slip, I spiral awaylike a leaf on rushing water.I should be scared; I'm not.I've never felt alone. I'm talking to God in the shadow of purgatory.I sure could do with a pee though.And so I just talked to God.So imagine my surprise,my life tethered in coilsto God's windlass, he and Ibungie jumping, free-falling through milky streaks of stars.I'm not alone. God and Jesushave been here all along.Jesus still listening-inwhen I just talked to God.

  37. Space PoetA weightless poet sprawls across the galley,floating, legs crossed, pen poised, like at home,except his electronic notepad is millions of milesin space and he is waiting for his cosmic muse.His words have no gravity. They quiver and hoverinside his rambling thoughts until he pulls one down,turning it, fitting it into the poetic puzzle. Wrongmetaphor, change course. He tries another. Failure.The endless choosing and deleting wrackshis patience. He moves to the ship’s windowand sighs. The heavens surround him. Earthwaits below and the poem still eludes him. Infinitegalaxies, black holes and supernovas offer nothing.He returns to the blank page and begins to writeof verdant forests, cool lakes, lightening bugs and rain. Kim King

  38. I've shot my share holes into the final frontierBut I'm a spacer, and a little bit insane.I bent light through a can of wormsto get from somewhere else to here,hanging like horse thief above the astral planewatching some blue planet rise above its moon.

  39. Alternatively:(and my last stab at it)I've shot my share holes into the final frontierBut I'm a spacer, and a little bit insane.I bent light through a can of wormsto get from somewhere else to here,watching some blue planet rise above its moon,hanging where no kind of man has hung before.

  40. Michael Grove said:Space CadetA driftB ecauseC ircumstanceD oesE ngulfF ortitudeG ainingH oldI ntrinsicallyJ ustifyingK aleidoscopicL ightM agnifiedN otO fP erceptionQ uiteR easonablyS ustainedT hroughU niversalV isionsW ithinX tremeY earning Z ealots.By Michael Grove

  41. Short and sweet…not much of a "space odyssey" galSpace to ReflectFloating up here with the starsa new perspective of the planet Mars.Drifting, dreaming in a cosmic landamazed yet again at the Creator’s hand.~Kellyhttp://livingfourreal.blogspot.com/

  42. The lengths we'll go to to put together such marvelous offerings! Isn't it great that so many can project into this foreign environment and find soething different with each swim in the dipper?I've enjoyed all of the entries, so different, yet similar, and all with a unique voice. Fantastic job, everyone.

  43. Today I swooped and soared,A condor's canyon view each wayI craned my neck, and deep below,mountains inside out,their stippled chins,each point a Ponderosa pine,a muted palette devoid of blue,but for the cloudless sky.Up so high, I feel no biggerthan a grain of desert sand or single bloom of canyon rose.Tomorrow, both feet plantedon the ground, I'll walk down.

  44. For the curious at heart, there will be a winner named for the copy of my chapbook, WOOD. It will be announced along with Saturday's "Beautiful Blooms". It did not make the title, but was mentioned in the body of one of the poems. Great work all.

  45. What a perfect prompt this was. On Sunday, we arrived at the Grand Canyon and took a helicopter ride above it. Talk about feeling small!

  46. Great description, Nancy. But tell them about the WIND! (Yikes!)

  47. Moonwalk As if in waterMy newborn foal legsKick and Push my torso towardEndless light, liquid darkFeet cop a feel of surfaceSnails in mismatchedMarch across a Powder moonMy gloved, calloused Hands numbly graspA dimpled sphereUnused to motion not propelledBy walker or WheelchairWhen one must reach Stars to standThere are no small stepsFor man**It kind of moves from the prompt a bit. I debated posting this…**

  48. Glad you posted, Jennifer!

  49. The Buzz About Neil:  One Small Step For Man…A flubbed line.The lack of an 'a'makes all the differenceto the meaning of the quote.AC LemingLack of sleepadded to anxietyabout a small equipment failure — would that giant leapstrand them on the moon, foreverlooking down at Mother Earth, whileoxygen and water grow scarce?So one small step put Armstrong'sfootprints on the moon, one giant debate has raged everThe Buzz About Neil:  One Small Step For Man…A flubbed line.The lack of an 'a'makes all the differenceto the meaning of the quote.Lack of sleepadded to anxietyabout a small equipment failure — would that giant leapstrand them on the moon, foreverlooking down at Mother Earth, whileoxygen and water grow scarce?So one small step put Armstrong'sfootprints on the moon, one giant debate has raged ever since:  Did static wipe out an 'a'?

  50. Obviously I had problems posting, will try this again…The Buzz About Neil:  One Small Step For Man…A flubbed line.The lack of an 'a'makes all the differenceto the meaning of the quote.Lack of sleepadded to anxietyabout a small equipment failure — would that giant leapstrand them on the moon, foreverlooking down at Mother Earth, whileoxygen and water grow scarce?So one small step put Armstrong'sfootprints on the moon, one giant debate has raged ever since:  Did static wipe out an 'a'?Frelling iPhone…

  51. Frack! It's AC Leming…sigh.

  52. AC Leming again….red shirts diedefending Captain Kirk's libidoSpock, please, intervene!

  53. Kim King, your poem is EXCELLENT and grows more on me with each reading. I'm lovin' this bloomin' place!!

Plant your poem or comment here!

